We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Carvoeiro
Post
Inbox
Search

“A little gem not to be missed.”
Review of Mama Mia

Mama Mia
Ranked #67 of 180 Restaurants in Carvoeiro
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful pizza and pasta restaurant with only 28 covers at this time of year. Started with Carpaccio which was probably the best I have ever had, amazing. Then had the house pizza which was thin and full of meat with an egg on top, really good. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank polly1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 168 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2019 via mobile

We came here for our last meal before heading back to the UK.

Well what a good meal we had. I started off with a cold starter of bruschetta tomato and garlic, this was followed by sirloin steak cooked medium rare vegetables with gratin potatoes. The surprise on the pate was the wine poached pear which added a element of sweetness. The meat was beautifully cooked. To finish I had strawberry cheesecake with raspberry sorbet.

My wife had the spinach and goats cheese salad followed by black pig with plum source, vegetables and gratin potatoes and lemon tart and lemon sorbet.

Both of us finished the meal with coffee and ruby port. With the meal I ordered a bottle of full bodied red wine from the region which was excellent. For what we had the service and the excellent food the bill of €90 was very good and worth it

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank colinsT1437MJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2019

Very small restaurant with limited number of tables. The menu was limited but all cooked to order. The seafood pizza was very good and my husband had the penne pasta, though the garlic bread was very ordinary - a bit dry. If you're staying at the resort you definitely need to book to ensure a table. Service was ok but the pizza chef was the star of the show.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Service
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2019

A small restaurant within the Monte Carvoeiro resort, Mama Mia is open to the public & well worth a visit even if you are not staying at the resort. The menu is strongly Italian influenced, with a Portuguese seasoning. Service is informal & Italian-style & prices reasonable for superb cooking. The fish is, of course, excellent, & the vegetarian options tasty & well-cooked. Pizza is perfect!
The drawback is that it is a very small space - which gives it a wonderful international buzz - but it also means that booking is essential & you won’t be disappointed

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank A8769YYkevina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2019

Really enjoyed our meal here , I had a fab pizza ,good thin crust and tasty toppings, my husband had the black pig which was delicious, they also make fab cocktails, eating in the courtyard with a good glass of red wine and you couldn’t ask for anything better. Prices are also good.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank FifiD_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Mia also viewed

Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to Mama Mia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing