We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveler rating
179
43
7
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
43
7
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small kitchenette room number communal terrace overlooking the main looked wonderful place to stay perfect location amazing balcony rooms are extremely one way system view from the balcony following morning every morning stayed nights carvoeiro beach short stay algarve region
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 238 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2018

I stayed there last night, It is such a quaint Portuguese hotel/guest house. The staff were so friendly and helpful. the breakfast balcony looked over the sea and beach: a good selection of things to have, including homemade marmalade, jams and cakes. The hotel/guest house is set just away from the loud night life but not too far to walk to beaches, bars and restaurants. I liked my stay there and will go back when I'm in the Algrave. The room had aircon which is a must in the summer .Kettle, mugs and a bottle of water in the room ,also a hair dryer in the shower room. Parking spaces near the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view you will not be disappointed with the view.
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kimduncan2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2018

Rute Trinidad is a wonderful host. She and her team have amazing customer service beyond anything in this great country. The view is spectacular. They always have a smile and will do anything for their guests.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank kerryjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2018

The first words we said as we opened our doors to the view overlooking the beach and out to sea, the room was spotless clean and in excellent condition, large bed looking straight out to sea as we lay in bed in the morning and an additional sofa/bed. Bathroom was very modern with a large walk in shower. Balcony made it for us with the perfect view and large enough for small table and two chairs plus a sun lounger.
Ladies that ran the establishment were a joy with smiling faces and always a happy wave and chat.
Position was perfect for short walk to beach, town centre, wonderful restaurants and to take in the great views Carvoeiro has to offer from the majestic cliffs on either side.
Will we be back? 100%

Room Tip: Go for balcony or terrace, you won't regret it.
Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2018

What a treasure! This guest house is intimate, the PERFECT location for enjoying the village of Carvoeiro and day trips along the coast. The view from our terrace was breathtaking at every hour of the day. Our room was compact but very functional and the bed very comfortable. It was immaculately kept and included a refrigerator and hot pot for coffee and tea. Each morning the breakfast buffet is generous, and eggs are cooked to your specifications. The staff is so gracious and upbeat and attentive! Rute the owner is a gem!!! O Castelo has been in her family for several generations, and it contains lovely antiques and vintage touches throughout the property. She was a fountain of information about the region, recommended excursions--visiting the caves by boat is a MUST! And she made reservations for us at restaurants and wineries throughout the Algarve. I celebrated my birthday while there, and they baked me an amazing cake--yum! Truly we will return soon and often, and I highly recommend this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsJTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2018

We stayed 5 nights at O Castelo in early April and really enjoyed our time there and in Carvoeiro, a beautiful little beach town. Rute is justifiably proud of her guest house and we would stay there again in a heartbeat. The location is fantastic, very near Carvoiero's beach and just a minute's walk away from all kinds of great restaurants. Breakfast was great, with lots of options and eggs cooked to order. Unfortunately the weather was chilly and rainy while we were there, otherwise we would have spent more time on the communal terrace with beautiful sea views. We had one of the 2 rooms that don't have sea views and a private terrace, and I think it would be worth spending more for the larger, better located rooms. Our room was scrupulously clean, but it was a bit small and damp in the rainy weather. The other rooms looked wonderful. I also wanted to give a special thank you to Carla especially for being so helpful and kind during our stay.

Room Tip: The larger rooms with sea views and private balconies are worth it
  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews