We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with a great view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
O Castelo Guest House
Ranked #1 of 9 Carvoeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a room with balcony overlooking Carvoeiro beach. It was such an amazing view. The room was nice and very spacious and clean. There is a kitchenette where you can make breakfast if you want but we were too lazy and ate out all the time.
The owner was very friendly and helpful.
We didn't have an issue with noise but we had the windows shut as we paid for the aircon.
The shower was a bit small.
We enjoyed our stay and would stay again if back in Carvoeiro. The owner recommended to take a boat trip to the grottos. We loved it. So beautiful and the highlight of our stay in the Algarve.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cpaineau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casteloguesthouse, Owner at O Castelo Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind words about our guest house. We are very pleased to read, that you liked our service and staff. It is a great pleasure having you with us. We are looking forward for your next stay. Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for O Castelo Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 202 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

This guesthouse is perfectly located in the town of Carvoeiro, 2 beaches within 5 min walking distance. Carvoeiro itself is a touristic place, but with a nice and friendly atmosphere.
The owner welcomed us heartily and explained us everything we needed to know. The room was great, with a nice view on the bay. There was a nice balcony to have breakfast or enjoy the sun chairs.
The bathroom is tiny and could profit from a renovation, however it's clean and functional. The beds are squeaking, which might trouble your neighbors and yourself. The one or other mosquito finds its way into the room if you leave the doors open (which is nice since you hear the waves). A mosquito door would help..
Castelo is a good place to spend 3-5 days. After some nights, you might find it troublesome that there is a music event at the beach every day until midnight, entertaining people in the nearby restaurants and the complete village on top. (after midnight its quiet however)
There is no breakfast included, but since there is a kitchen on every floor, you can manage by yourself, not a problem for us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tomgrammar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casteloguesthouse, Owner at O Castelo Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Hi Tom!
Many thanks for your comment about CASTELO Guest House.
Concerning the mosquito door, it's a great tip and we have included it in our plans to install them in a near future.
Once again, thanks for dedicating your time to write this review. Reviews like this are very important to us so we can improve our service for our guests.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Room:
Let's start with the room. It is totally small and definitely not big enough for a couple to stay in. That's the room number 2, by the way. That's the one they don't show in their pictures. It faces the street and anyone walking by can totally see into your room, because you need to have your window open all day and night since there is absolutely no air circulation. There is not even a fan. Just an air conditioner, which costs 5 Euros per night (!) to be turned on. That is in my opinion a quite cheap policy and does not make any sense. The bathroom is also tiny, making it quite hard to take a relaxing shower. There is no noise isolation from the bathroom neither, so it feels that the bathroom door is open all the time. There is also a freaking pipe going through the bathroom, which I believe to be the flush from the room upstairs. Everytime someone flushes you can hear a stream of water going through, even with the door closed. It is terrible. The bed is also definitely too short, so my feet were hanging out (another couple also complained about this) and it is not one big mattress bed, but with two single size mattresses. I have never seen a double room with two single mattresses... They were probably cheaper than one decent double size mattress. If you want to stay here, avoid this room at all costs. You will be totally disappointed by it, even at a relatively cheap price, it will annoy you so much that you will come back from your holydays quite stressed...

Kitchen:
The shared kitchen, which according to some reviews is supposed to be fully furnished (I doubt that the person who wrote these reviews actually exists). There is no decent knife in there, only two cheap fruit knives, which make it impossible to cook any decent meal. There is only one tiny pan, two tiny pots, no sugar, no coffee or any other basics like cooking oil. In my world, a fully equipped kitchen has at least some oil for cooking. If you need some oil, you will have to go to the super overpriced stores in Carvoeiro (only three mini-markets), which charge airport prices for everything. It is disgusting. The existing dish washer is supposedly "out of order" the whole time. I think it's just turned off. It was also very common that the kitchen was overcrowded, since it is shared with other 4 rooms. Taking into consideration the limited amount of kitchen materials, you can see that it makes cooking there an even worse experience. The place is so cheap that even the detergent is mixed with a lot of water (as well as the hand soap in our room). If you really want to stay here, try to avoid cooking...

Common area:
It's not possible to feel at home during daytime there. The owner is there ALL THE TIME! he has no special office for the reception, so there are always people in the common area. There is a big table, but he is always there with his papers, so you can't really use it as a dining table. If you are in the small room, you have no room to eat, there is no table. The ones in the common balcony are way too small and low for you to eat there comfortably. There is also an AC in the common area, but it's always turned off. I wonder why it is there... (Cheap!) The view is nice from the balcony, but that's pretty much it.

The village:
There is quite annoying and terribly bad music all freaking night. I would say it's ok if it went until 10 PM or something, but it keeps on going until 1 AM or later every night. It's impossible to sleep with the window open. Everything in the village is overpriced and it's almost impossible to find reasonably good dishes at reasonably good prices. I won't be coming back to Carvoeiro, that's for sure. It's a tourist trap, so avoid it if you can.

Others:
Besides of being there all day long, the owner is kinda annoying. We had the feeling that he was watching what we were doing all day. The information he had was not very helpful either. This definetly does not give you any feeling of comfort. We did not feel at home at all! The internet was not working most of the time. As I read in some reviews, this was also the case already in 2011, so it's very possible that it will stay like this... His policy of cash on arrival, not accepting credit cards is also exceptional because we could pay with card everywhere else we stayed and there were even cheaper places. This is quite annoying. Who wants to walk around with so much money while travelling? I speak portuguese and I also noticed how the owner treats his staff, it was not nice at all...

Conclusion:
If you want to come to Carvoeiro, avoid this room and this place at all costs. It will otherwise ruin your entire holidays.

Room Tip: Don't get room number 2! Ask them which room you booked, otherwise they won't tell you!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Notinthisroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casteloguesthouse, Owner at O Castelo Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

We take all feedback seriously and we thank you for giving us the opportunity to set the record straight:

Room:

The room that you stayed in is a twin room for 2 persons; there is no fan in the room because the room has air conditioning; our records show that another room option was given but declined by yourself, however if the chosen room was not up to your expectations we sincerely regret.

Kitchen:

Castelo Guest House provides kitchen facilities where guests can prepare breakfast or other meals. In fact we offer 2 kitchens with the basic equipments and appliances. However our guests sometimes move the kitchenware from one kitchen to another so you may have been unfortunate and found a kitchen that lacked some kitchenware at the moment and therefore we apologize for the inconvenience.

Common area:

The owner does the check-ins and check-outs. So he is in much of the time. That is a Guest House standard.

The village:

During August there is musical entertainment in the square/beach but it stops at midnight; nevertheless all rooms have double glazed windows which, when closed, prove to be very effective in diminishing outside noise.

Others:

We were surprised to read your comments regarding the way the owner treats the staff because within our team there is mutual respect and consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at the end of july and were delighted we picked this place to stay. We arrived very late and the owner greeted us showed us to our room and said it was fine to check in the following morning. The owner and staff were very helpful and obliging and offered us advice on things to do, places to see and restaurants to visit. The room was basic but had everything required including air con and a fridge. The best part was the sun terrace which was a great place to soak up the sun and enjoy the great view down on the the beach.

Room Tip: Request a room with a sea view and loungers.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casteloguesthouse, Owner at O Castelo Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Hi James! Thank you so much for your kind words. We are very pleased to read that you liked your stay. Please come again soon. Regards, - Eunice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

we stayed in the castelo guest house for abou 5 nights.Unfortunalty it was not the relaxing holiday as expected.The room was just next to the reception so we must hear all the time the guest and owner talking.Also the public terrasse was not quite nice,as all the people could see our bed... If you want a relaxing holiday with some privacy chose some others. Also mind carvoeiro as there is an all night animation in town with horrible music.Also the restaurants in the whole town are not to recommend

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casteloguesthouse, Owner at O Castelo Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Hi!
I'm very sorry to hear that your experience at O CASTELO was not up to the expectations. I would to take this opportunity to comment in detail your concerns:
- Room noise: Your room was indeed next to the reception and there was normal noise during the day but it was all quite at the end of the day. I'm aware that you asked to change room but unfortunately all the other rooms were occupied at the time.
- Terrace: I understand your concern since your room was with direct access to the shared terrace. In your case, I would have suggested for you to made use of the "gate flap". Perhaps this wasn't explained to you well during your stay, which I apologize.
- Carvoeiro: During summertime the town has some of night animation which is great if you are into it. This kind of atmosphere is something our guests usually like. Also, I'm not sure what kind of restaurant you fancy, but there are many restaurants in the area and some just a few minutes drive from town centre. Most of the restaurants have Mediterranean dishes and received great reviews here in TripAdvisor. I'm sorry that didn't found one that suits your taste.

I would like to end this reply by saying thank you for your comment. It's really important to us to receive our guest reviews as there is always something we can learn from them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

O castelo is not just another hotel or similar. It's a guest house, where we have felt welcome from the moment we came. The owners are present throughout the day and after a little accident with some waves at the beach, the owner helped me with pain relief and guidance.

The room (number 3) was more than we have expected, the wiev from the large furnished balcony were stunning and made us not leave the room for more than going to the beach, restaurant and shops. Further through our 5 night stay we were visited every night after 10 PM by a cute little white lizzard at the balcony :) What an experience and whenever we come to Carvoeiro again, we are definately coming back to o Castelo!!

A warm and big thank you to the wonderful owners :)

Room Tip: Room number 3!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MajaDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casteloguesthouse, Owner at O Castelo Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Hi!
Many thanks for your kind review. I'm really happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. I think I'll employ the little lizard as the new concierge :-)
Please come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The guest house is located up the hill just a 2 minute walk from the beach / "downtown", offering a great view. The owner and the staff are super nice. Good value for money.
Rooms are equipped with a fridge, but you can also use the one in the kitchen.

Room Tip: If you don't want to afford a room with terrace / sea view - don't worry. You can access a c...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ullilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casteloguesthouse, Owner at O Castelo Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

HI Ullilo,
I'm really happy to read your nice comment about O CASTELO, specially the room tip you provided. The terrace is definitely a great place to chill out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carvoeiro hotels
0.7 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#5 of 18 in Carvoeiro
3,478 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
653 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
#6 of 18 in Carvoeiro
614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carvoeiro Sol
Hotel Carvoeiro Sol
#12 of 18 in Carvoeiro
286 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Baia Cristal
Hotel Baia Cristal
#7 of 18 in Carvoeiro
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O Castelo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O Castelo Guest House

Address: Rua do Casino 59-63, Carvoeiro 8400-515, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Carvoeiro
Price Range: $47 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "O Castelo" Guest House is an historic property, with an ideal location, close to the center of Carvoeiro town and Carvoeiro beach. It offers 12 en-suite bedrooms, the majority with terraces or balconies with breathtaking sea views. Although an ancient building, "O Castelo" Guest House includes modern amenities such as Free WiFi, air conditioning, cable TV and hairdryer. This Guest House is located in a quiet area, but Carvoeiro's restaurants, bars and shops are within walking distance. Moreover, if you are in the mood to discover the Algarve's pleasures, you will find it easy to get to the nearest Golf Courses, to the beautiful Marinha Beach or to the awarded Benagil Cove. For our Guests convenience, buffet breakfast is not included in the room rate; we keep it optional, so our guests can decide if they want to prepare their own breakfast, or just ask, and we will prepare a great breakfast for you. "O Castelo" Guest House is the perfect place to relax and enjoy magnificent Atlantic Ocean views, at the same time as feeling at home, away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your O Castelo Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao o Castelo Hotel Carvoeiro
O Castelo Guest House Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing