We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, cosy atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of O Castelo Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
O Castelo Guest House
Ranked #1 of 9 Carvoeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location, cosy atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The guest house is located up the hill just a 2 minute walk from the beach / "downtown", offering a great view. The owner and the staff are super nice. Good value for money.
Rooms are equipped with a fridge, but you can also use the one in the kitchen.

Room Tip: If you don't want to afford a room with terrace / sea view - don't worry. You can access a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ullilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casteloguesthouse, Owner at O Castelo Guest House, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
HI Ullilo,
I'm really happy to read your nice comment about O CASTELO, specially the room tip you provided. The terrace is definitely a great place to chill out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    30
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
123
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Ate at this Restaurante a couple of times when we were on holiday and all I will say is try it you won t be disapointed.Everything we ordered was first class and the staff were really on the ball.
The menu have good seafood dishes . The service was friendly and helpful,All in all, one of the better restaurants in Alvor and worth a visit if staying in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tomork f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent three nights in room 6 in mid December. On our first night we drove several hours from Spain. What a pleasant surprise when the owner called on our mobile phone to confirm our arrival time. This is low season so the guest house isn't very full. J. met us and got us all settled. The room was large and nice, but the view from the balcony was something out of a movie. Upstairs three rooms share a very nice and complete kitchen. Our bathroom was quite small with the shower wedged into a corner. A very large person may not be able to make that work. Also there was a motion controlled light in the entryway of our room which was handy when coming back to the room in the dark, but not so much when someone wants to go to the bathroom in the night and a bright light shines automatically onto the bed through the glass door. There was probably a way to turn it off, I couldn't find it.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. If you crave a lot of activity winter may not be the time to go, if you want peace and quiet it is perfect. The price was 40 euros per night plus tax. I believe we will be back for future visits.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

simply perfect, new renovated rooms, breathtaking terrace with sea view, kind guest house owner, two beaches within 2 minutes walking, many restaurants and bars in the same village, with a holiday car the best place to discover beautiful algarve. this was not our last time staying there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank seljos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

I chosen O Castelo after seeing it's website and other travelers opinions posted online and I was not disapointed. What I received there was absolutely what I saw on pictures and read in the internet. Whole pension is very cosy and very nice decorated and furnished with old Portugese handcraft and antics. The big table in the common area and the kitchen next to it make us felt as in a private house rather than in a pension. We had room nbr. 3 first and later once we extended our stay we received room nbr. 2. both were facing street. Rooms and bathrooms were very clean, sheets and towels were clean and fresh, room was cleaned every day and we were reciving fresh towels daily. There are two kitchens for common use on basement and first floor well equiped with kitchen utensils, owen, microwave and even washing machine. Every room has his own shelf in the kitchen where food can be stored. Fridge is large enough for everybody to have place for food and wine. The common terrase that we were allowed to use was facing ocean with breathtaking view. There were few tables, chairs and unbrellas to use. In the morning it was just perfect for breakfast, in the afternoon we were drying our towels there and in the evening this terrace was simply divine to have a glass of green wine on it. Staff was on place every day from about 10 a.m. Nice lady was cleaning all pension every day, She even washed our private beach towells in the middle of the stay :) nice gesture :) Owner (speaking spanish, french and english) was there till late afternoon always smiling, nice, friendly and ready to help, to propose restaurant or to advise good way to get to interesting places arround. Location is perfect with two steps from local restaurants, shops, and bars but far enough from town's noises. We had our own keys so, there was no problem with getting back in the middle of the night. Now few minuses - in the room nbr.2: bathroom is very small, and shower curtain is dark so you see not much during your shower. There is no bars in the window so the shutters must be closed all the time (if you want to have windows open), cause it's easy to get to the room from the outside. Street facing rooms are very noisy in the morning, so I strongly recomend having ocean facing ones. But late at night even in the street facing rooms we were sleeping by the sound of ocean waves. WiFi is not working somethimes. We had to pay for all the stay at cheking in. And that's all the minuses I found. We had splendid vacation in O Castelo. I can recommend this place to everybody. I'm looking very forward to coming back there. Excellent!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

We have to reserve the room(chamber) n°2, because there was not more than that, this, having witnessed marriage in the North of Portugal, we had the bad idea to reserve a room(chamber) in Guest house of Carvoeiro, upon our arrival, the problem was immediate, room(chamber) looking onto the street and onto the cars in car park, so much that to open shutters(sectors) it was necessary to us to damage ' cars, at this moment of the year, and seen the heat it was necessary to us to open the window, however the intimacy was shared with all crossing(spending) them, in our 8m2, the cupboard was without shelf and by way of door internal coat, there was a rod with curtain still containing the passers-by. Incredible, all the service(performance) was of the same kind(genre), no air conditioning, no place(square), the suitcase on the ground, no chair for lack of place(square), a squat as a matter of fact, when we spoke about it to the boss Eunice, he(it) was of such a bad faith, as when we cancelled the second week, He asked us to leave the guest house while we had paid a complete week, is it at night in a shanty in 350 euro without any other formality. Believe or not there is only little quality room(chamber), comments are posted by them even. It is enough to look at the following photos. Especially let us not speak about the WiFi which does not work.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JAMESJAMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

O Castelo is the nicest place to stay in Carvoeiro, fantastic views lovely quirky interior. The Portuguese owners are very friendly and make everyone welcome. Everything is spotless and I have never seen a harder working maid We always have a balcony but there is plenty of room on the communal balcony with a few tables and chairs. From the balconies you have great views of the beach.
There is a mix of nationalities which adds to the charm of this place and I would recommend it to everyone,

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Qwerty58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carvoeiro hotels
0.9 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#5 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monte Dourado Resort
Monte Dourado Resort
#7 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Baia Cristal
Hotel Baia Cristal
#8 of 19 in Carvoeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O Castelo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O Castelo Guest House

Property: O Castelo Guest House
Address: Rua do Casino 59-63, Carvoeiro 8400-515, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "O Castelo" Guest House is an historic property, with an ideal location, close to the center of Carvoeiro town and Carvoeiro beach. It offers 12 en-suite bedrooms, the majority with terraces or balconies with breathtaking sea views. Although an ancient building, "O Castelo" Guest House includes modern amenities such as Free WiFi, air conditioning, cable TV and hairdryer. This Guest House is located in a quiet area, but Carvoeiro's restaurants, bars and shops are within walking distance. Moreover, if you are in the mood to discover the Algarve's pleasures, you will find it easy to get to the nearest Golf Courses, to the beautiful Marinha Beach or to the awarded Benagil Cove. For our Guests convenience, buffet breakfast is not included in the room rate; we keep it optional, so our guests can decide if they want to prepare their own breakfast, or just ask, and we will prepare a great breakfast for you. "O Castelo" Guest House is the perfect place to relax and enjoy magnificent Atlantic Ocean views, at the same time as feeling at home, away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your O Castelo Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao o Castelo Hotel Carvoeiro
O Castelo Guest House Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing