We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic family holiday”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Carvoeiro, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elise A
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic family holiday”
Reviewed December 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We booked Le Roque for my mothers 60th Birthday celebrations.

Finding somewhere for 11 adults and 3 children (under 4 ) for 2 weeks to all stay in one place is difficult but the pictures and reviews stood out so much.

My previous experiences are that the pictures show the absolute best of a property and when you arrive it can be a slight disappointment as its not as large as you thought or its a little tired around the edges etc.

This is NOT the case with Le Roque!

From the second the huge, and incredibly impressive, front gates start to open you realise you've arrived at a truly special property which is everything we thought and hoped it would be.

We are a very close family so spent most of the time together either around the pool, spread between sunbeds, playing in the pool or enjoying a cold drink in the outdoor cabana.

As previous reviews stated if you wanted to spend time as a couple there are numerous little places to hide away and enjoy some time together aswell.

Absolutely no expense has been spared anywhere and every bathroom and bedroom is beautifully finished and has its own special features. The outdoor bath on our balcony was a particular highlight for my wife and I to relax in once the children had gone to bed.

The property manager (Mario) couldn't do enough for us and was helpful if we had a question about anything and would lay on private cars to collect us and take us for dinner etc. the cleaners where really lovely aswell and were very good (& patient) with the children who wanted to help!

The location is excellent aswell with a well stocked shop and very nice coffee shop a short walk up the hill. Down the hill you are 5 mins walk from a charming cove and beach aswell as snack bar and small restaurant.

In complete honesty Le Roque was so beautiful we found ourselves a few times going back early from excursions because we missed the place!

In summary, we are a well travelled family who has stayed at some exclusive resorts all over the world but I can honestly say that Le Roque was truly a special place and made the holiday as special as we'd hoped. I cannot fault it even slightly and recommend it wholeheartedly to anyone looking for a holiday with the 'wow' factor.

To top this all off the owners stopped by on my mothers birthday to deliver a Birthday Cake and make sure everything was to our taste. What a lovely, down to earth, couple they are and Le Roque is a real credit to them.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we truly appreciate every one we receive and the time you have taken to write it, we are so glad you enjoyed Le Roque and hope you return one day !xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lk123Dubl...
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply Stunning Villa”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This villa is simply stunning. We have stayed in many villas throughout the years and Le Roque is by far the nicest property that we have stayed in. Our family stayed for a total of 10 nights, 11 adults and 4 children, and we had a really fantastic holiday. The villa is out of this world and contains all mod cons within, including a games room, a beautiful pool, barbecue, coffee machine and a wonderful outdoor Moroccan themed seating area for kicking back and enjoying a glass of wine in the evenings. The tall wooden electric gates add to the splendor of the property. We also really appreciated the outdoor piped music whilst lazing around the pool during the day. Another lovely feature of Le Roque is the beautiful outdoor pergola bed perfect for taking an afternoon nap or for reading a book. Centianes beach is literally a 5 minute walk outside the villa and all of the shops, restaurants etc are within walking distance. I would recommend this villa to anyone looking for a truly magical holiday in a luxurious setting. We hope to return to Le Roque again in the future.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, hope to see you all again x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto B
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW what a villa!!!”
Reviewed May 21, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wow what a villa!
Magnifico!
My family and I just spent the most amazing week at Le Roque.
Everything about it was wonderful.
The pool, the rooms, the roof terrace and break out areas are just to die for.
Our host Sam couldn't have been more accommodating with all our requests met with no fuss.
She was also very helpful with sharing local knowledge about the area.
(Please note the 'white sangria' at the beach at end of the road is the perfect place to watch the sun go down)
Our stay at Le Roque was probably the best holiday we've ever had.
Definitely worth a visit.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, we hope to see you here in Le Roque soon x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
150terry
Douglas, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Total perfection”
Reviewed October 15, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

BE PREPARED TO BE IMPRESSED
We Had our family holiday in Le Roque this year although only four of stayed for the full 2 weeks we had family and friends join us at different intervals so the very grand proportions were well appreciated and even when there was 14 of us we all found our own private areas when required ,but most of the time we all got together and enjoyed the fantastic barbecue area and beautiful garden lounge.From the moment you arrive at those impressive castle gates you expect something special but believe me once you get inside it gets better and better . The gardens and pool are amazing so so private and bursting with character ,but it's not until you get inside that you appreciate the the effort that has gone into making this a very very special place .Inside is a perfect mix of tradition and state of the art. My partner and I are very well traveled and have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world but I can honestly say that Le Roque gave us the perfect mix of privacy and splendour. Sam the owner very kindly organised a Yoga teacher and beautician , she also was very helpful suggesting the best places to dine although to be honest it is really hard to leave the grounds .There is a Golf course out the rear gate and a lovely beach 5 mins walk out the front gate, there are half a dozen restaurants and a mini market within walking distance and the town is only a 5 min taxi ride .Carvoeiro has everything you could want for the perfect holiday and I am sure we will return.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sheer luxury & opulence.
Liked least: absolutely nothing!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2015
Thank you all for staying at Le Roque it was a pleasure meeting you, and look forward to your return next year
sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison265...
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“absolutely fantastic villa near golf sea and shops”
Reviewed October 13, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Everything about this villa is first class and it all works the bedrooms are all fantastic and the terraces outside each bedroom mean that you never feel on top of each other there is a friendly golf course just down the road and a few bars and restaurants - don't bother with the "sunday roast lamb " over the road.
Carvoiero is good for eating and the Wolf restaurant has great steaks. beaches are beaut if you can drag yourself out of the heated pool but so easy just to stay put.
Fab

Date of stay: October 2014
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2014
Thank you once again, it was a pleasure, hope to see you again I. The not to distant future,
BR
Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick S
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do everything you can to stay here!”
Reviewed September 9, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Le Roque is by far the best villa we have ever stayed in!

Our family of 8 adults and 2 kids spent a wonderful week there in May. Not only is the location perfect for visiting the stunning Algarve, the villa is perfect in itself.

Sam was extremely helpful in organising everything, helping to book a yoga instructor and offering to help with car hire. Mario did a fantastic job of showing us round the wonderfully massive villa, where we encountered another room at every turn.

The standard at Le Roque is LUXURIOUS. Everything is finished to the highest standard imaginable, and if any room doesn't have an ensuite, it has it's private bathroom immediately next to it. The kitchen was large, and the coffee machine and icemakers were in constant use.

The size can not be over-emphasised - with 10 of us staying there we never felt on top of one another. Although we had hired cars to get about, but mostly wanted to stay in the villa, lounging around the pool, reading on the rooftop, relaxing on the outdoor bed or simply sitting in the Moroccan den with the sun going down, finishing off the last of the evenings barbeque with another bottle of wine.

There are literally dozens of restaurants to choose from within a small area, and you can walk to several in just a few minutes. The beach is only 5 or minutes away, and a short car journey will let you go kayaking, scuba diving or buggy driving in the hills.

I can honestly state that Le Roque exceeded our expectations in every way and when we return to the Algarve we will be doing everything we can to stay there again.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The luxury
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, hope to see you again x
BR
Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBrownie1...
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning!”
Reviewed August 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Our family stayed at Villa Le Roque for two weeks at the beginning of July, there were 15 of us in total which comprised of 13 adults & 2 small children aged 2 & 4. After a lot of searching for a villa to meets all of our needs, from the moment we arrived we knew we had made the right choice and had found the perfect villa.
As we were staying here to celebrate my 50th Wedding Anniversary with my family, Sam made the occasion extra special for us by welcoming us with an beautiful hamper, special cake from a local delicatessen and an anniversary banner. Even before making the booking Sam was extremely helpful in answering my many questions & making helpful suggestions/restaurant reservations throughout our stay.
The villa itself is unique in so many ways. With many of us staying there we didn’t feel on top of one another as it is very spacious and we loved having the many different seating areas. Getting together in the evenings under the BBQ seating area was simply superb; candles lit, Michael Buble playing through the music system and delicious food from the local supermarket on the BBQ it was everything I had pictured.
All the rooms are well equipped & beautifully decorated, having en-suite bathrooms with the rooms was an added bonus. The kitchen is well equipped and there was nothing we couldn’t find that we felt we needed. The location is perfectly positioned with all amenities within close proximity, we did hire three vehicles for all of us which we found came in handy especially for making supermarket trips and days out. We particularly liked having the additional outdoor changing area with pool towels included, as this saved us valuable space in our luggage allowance.
Visiting Portugal to us would only mean visiting ‘Le Roque’ again, as once you have stayed here you will not want to go anywhere else.
A special thanks to Sam and her team for making our stay so special.”

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2014
Thank you! You were fabulous guests it was a great pleasure having you all , hope to see you all again soon x
BR
Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing