We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very peaceful in February” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Praia da Marinha

Praia da Marinha
Book In Advance
$53.88*
and up
Algarve Coastline Tour from Portimao
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Suffolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very peaceful in February”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have just returned from a visit to the area. We visited the beach in the afternoon and had it to ourselves. Cafe was closed but not a problem. The beach and landforms are stunning. It's well worth exploring the paths nearby - wild freesias smelled lovely. The walk (hike really) back towards Carvoeiro takes a few hours but is one of the best I've ever done in terms of fantastic coastal scenery.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,034
    321
    57
    13
    9
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
390 reviews
292 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“top beach on rugged steep coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

praia marinha is one of the nicest beaches in the algarve area. the scenery is extraordinary and we had a lot of fun there. sometimes the waves are high and it is necessary to take attention because of the currents, which could be very strong. there is no vegetation on the beach which spends shadow and a parasol and sun protection is necessary. it is better to stay away from the steep coast, because big rocks fall down sometimes. the beach and also the ocean was very clean but a little bit cold at the first moment. the nicest time to go there is the morning and the later afternoon, because the sun is not so hot anymore and the majority of the tourists are far from this during daytime high frequentated beach section. we can recomment praia marinha very much.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank chocdikrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Best beach we found in Algarve”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed in Carvoeiro, and tried various beaches but this was the best for sure.
Amazing scenery, plentiful parking, lovely sand.
Highly recommended !

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank ukDesiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“quiet & sunny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

I just passed by but it's very nice, not too small, not too big, nice sand, calm waters, a little spoliled by some nearby "party-boats" with noisy music

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jose g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing coast, cliffs and beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Wonderful spectacular coastline. Amazing coast, cliffs and beach. Sea very powerful, huge waves. Cliffs are dangerous, paths not fenced, so be careful. Caves and erosion.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Praia da Marinha also viewed

Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
 
Praia da Rocha, Portimao
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to Praia da Marinha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing