We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, great food!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pestana Palm Gardens
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2010

The complex is small and 'intimate'. The villas. or townhouses are great for families of up to 5 persons. Comfortable, spacious, full air con in all rooms, lovely kitchen with microwave, cooker and oven, washer and fridge/freezer. The rooms are spacious and the lounge has a TV with Sky so there are some English progs. We were lucky enough to have a townhouse next to the pool so we just had to walk out of the patio doors and we were there! I have to rate the rooms 9/10.. Only losing points because you couldn't use the upstairs and downstairs showers at the same time because if you did one would be either scalded or frozen!!! The central swimming pool is a good size and very clean. Plenty of sun beds and umbrellas too. The pool bar is excellent, with very attentive and friendly staff. Just off this bar area is the restaurant which I am reviewing separately, but I will say that the food is excellent, service second to none, and staff superb! In fact all the staff at Pestana were extremely friendly and helpful.
The location is just a couple of minutes drive to Carvoiero, taking you down 'restaurant hill' where there are many family restaurants. We ate at several restaurants during our stay but favoured the 'O Patio' in the square (very lively and live singing most nights) and ONZE on the hill overlooking the square and next to the police station (shiver)!!!. The food at both was excellent and I will be reviewing these separately. The town of Carvoeiro is buzzing at night and shops don't shut till 12 midnight!! (a bonus for Mrs. deeferdavid and rugrats!!! There is a GREAT ice cream and crepe shop next to the square.. well worth a visiit around midnight! If you make it about 11.45 you could just make it back to Prestana for a drink at the bar where alcohol measures don't exist! All in all a lovely stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeeferDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

532 - 538 of 663 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2010

Stayed here in July-August 2010 with three teenagers. Had an excellent holiday. Staff were friendly and helpful, resort was clean, apartments were ideal with all mod cons available. Has an execllent restaurant on site with superb service. Nice quiet bar which tends to close at 12.00 so if you want something more you need to go into village where there are loads of restaurants of all kinds and late bars. Only downside is you have to walk 15 mins down a busy bendy road or get a taxi. Hotel could do with a flexi minbus service like the hotel next door. Also local beaches are small and crowded and down loads of steps. Resort is peaceful with friendly local people and we saw absolutely no aggro, so excellent for all ages. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LARRY03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

3* not 4*
Townhouse was well equipped and comfortable
Pools were cold
Nowhere to buy basic foodstuffs on the doorstep..... there are small minimarkets about a 20 min.walk away otherwise it is a car journey to supermarket
Room for children to run around.... in attractive and well cared for grounds
Cliff walks are pleasant and 2 nearby beaches clean
Had an enjoyable week but wouldn't go back

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nijari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2010

We stayed 2 nites at this resort, staff were very friendly, accommodations were great. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath with a loft and roof terrace and it was very comfortable & very reasonable.
If you stay here, you HAVE to try the Pimenta Preta Restaurant! While upscale, it's absolutely worth every centimo. There were 4 of us travelling and staying together. We were treated first to an amuse bouche, then we had 3 starters, all great. Then we had 4 entrees, 2 lamb and 2 fish, followed by 1 decadent dessert, 2 ports, 2 cafe solo, 1 tea and our bill was 148 Euros. Which really wasn't that bad for the quality and quantity of the food. The service is very attentive but not hovering - e.g., 2 servers brought our plates and 2 servers collected plates so everything was served and collected in one visit. Just superb! The owner is extremely conscientious and his staff is well trained, knowledgable and courteous.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

This place is actually a 3 star not a 4 star, however if you want a relaxing, quiet holiday in a superb location then this is the place for you.
We found this place by accident as we were stuck in Portugal due to the Ash Crisis and what a find it was, I will certainly be returning.
The rooms were spacious, clean, and fully equipped with everything you would need for a self catering holiday. We had a small garden area which looked onto the pool area which was perfect for keeping an eye on the kids. The pool area is small but perfectly adequate and the water was warm enough to swim in.
There aren't a huge amount of facilities at this complex, however that is not what we go on holiday for and there is plenty to do in the local area and it's a great place for exploring. There is however a small gym and massage treatment area, a table tennis table, very good tennis court, small reception area, bar and restaurant. The restaurant is a separate company from the hotel and it is quite pricey but is great for a fantastic meal. The staff are friendly and they offered a 20% discount for stranded tourists which was much appreciated.
Carvoeiro is a beautiful resort a short walk from the hotel, which is less purpose built than some of the others. It has plenty of restaurants and shops. The coast here is stunning! Lot's of beautiful coves, cliff walks, caves and beaches and Palm Gardens is itself set right up on top of the cliff with the most amazing views.
I would recommend this hotel if you want to do your own thing, have freedom, like to explore, like beaches and it's great base to do those things. If you want lively entertainment and noise then this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CovCampaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Pestana Palm Gardens was an excellent location for our family holiday, townhouses were roomy, comfortable and clean. Excellent restaurant and very helpful friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stokestown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2009

The hotel is a generally attractive and pleasant facility. The staff are generally helpful and responsive to questions. We stayed Feb 2-16, 2009 an unusally cold period.
However, we had several problems which were not dealt with in a manner expected of a 4 star facility.
a) The apartment was unavailable to us until 1300 hr on the day of our arrival. This hotel was part of a package (provided by JM Vacations from Toronto Ontario Canada), and our scheduled flight arrived at Faro at 0700 hr (about a one hour drive away). We spent part of the time to buy groceries and drive to the hotel, arriving at 1100 hr. After some discussion we were allowed to place food (meat, milk, etc) in refrigerator and unpack after 1200 hr.
b) the refrigerator in the unit did not work properly. After three phone calls by us and visits by resort staff over an 8 hour period, they reluctantly agreed it was not cooling adequately despite the freezer part working well. They agreed after we insisted, to place the food items in a refrigerator of an unoccupied unit overnight and another refrigerator was brought in the next day. It seemed difficult to convince them of our concern about food storage.
c) the apartment's heating capacity could not match the unseaonably cold temperature. The living/dining room area never got comfortably warm in the evening or early morning despite choosing a heater setting of 28-30 deg C. This setting would warm the upstairs bedroom if the door was closed and the heater turned on for at least 1 hour. This experience was found to be markedly different than that of guests in another unit where it was comfortable with a setting of 18 deg C. Unfortunately we did not learn of this contrasting experience until the last day of our visit. We were later told ithe heater was working correctly and the coolness was because the unit had a different North/South orientation. The heaters are located near the ceiling and in the corner of the rooms, not ideal for heating a room, in my opinion.
The grounds are well maintained. The restaurant had a superb Valentine's evening dinner. The massage pedicure service was excellent.

We (a friend and myself) booked a trip with Megatur tours (three day bus trip to Spain, Gibraltar, Morroco). On the first day, the bus driver slept in and the bus arrived almost two hours late. The oudoor waiting period was cold (even for Canadians dressed in spring clothing). I could not make the trip because my passport was stolen the previous day. I received a less than 25% refund (trip cost 311 euro) of the payment. I would not recommend this travel tour company. There are many interesting and charming places to visit in the area

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KevinNolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carvoeiro hotels
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
3,608 reviews
2.7 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia Cristal
Hotel Baia Cristal
#8 of 18 in Carvoeiro
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monte Dourado Resort
Monte Dourado Resort
#7 of 18 in Carvoeiro
198 reviews
1.5 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 18 in Carvoeiro
765 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quinta do Paraiso
Quinta do Paraiso
#11 of 18 in Carvoeiro
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palm Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palm Gardens

Address: Praia Do Carvoeiro | Vale de Centeanes, Carvoeiro 8400-525, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carvoeiro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
#3 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range: $36 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Palm Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Palm Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palm Gardens Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing