We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal and very reasonable price.”

California Pizzeria
Ranked #123 of 149 Restaurants in Carvoeiro
Restaurant details
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice meal and very reasonable price.”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was by far the cheapest meal of our holiday, but even so it was very tasty. We were the only guests there so there was no problem in getting served! We had gratinated mushrooms, gratinated mussels and vegetable soup as starters. Our main courses were Penne Boscaiola, Penne Amatriciana and Spinach Tortellini.
The total for this, with a large bottle of water and a beer was €42.65
This was a 'cheap and cheerful' price but the food was of better quality than that implies.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BEV_T2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    32
    18
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb Pizza”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

we did have to wait a little while for the food after we had ordered but i have to say it was well worth the wait. The pizza's are delicious and our 3 young kids loved it. And the price was very good value. In future when we fancy pizza when in Carvoeiro this is where we'll go. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food and service, but no one else there”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We has really good thin and crispy pizza (€8) with reasonably priced wine (€14) recommended by the waitress. Attentive service without it being pushy and uncomfortable. But either because it was end of season or something else, we were one of only two full tables. I would happily go again though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel223London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ok at best”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Visited late August 2012. My wife was feeling a wee bit delicate so fancied something familiar (i.e. Italian). I orderd the soup and main course Lasagne my wife had a creamy Pasta dish. My soup took almost an hour to come and was fine. Had to wait nearly another hour for the main courses which were pleasant. No apology for the excessive waiting time even though the restaurant was hardly getting rammed. Checked the bill and they had charged for two soups. Pointed this out and new bill appeared immediately.
Certainly better places for eating out in Carvoeiro.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank briangmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best pizza in carvoeiro.”
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Excellent food. Unfortunately we were there in the middle of august and it was very busy. We had to wait a long time between courses which took away from the lovely food. We returned a week later and the waiting was worse but the food was great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank butterbeanbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Pizzeria also viewed

Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to California Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing