We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home - you need a car - don't use the onsite shop!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rocha Brava Village Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Home from home - you need a car - don't use the onsite shop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

A truly lovely - if a little rough around the edges - home from home. The Rocha Brava resort seems to be a mixture of privately owned/let and holiday accommodation all rolled together. One lovely big communal pool (really nice) with at least one other smaller pool.

The apartments - we had a two bedroom apartment on the ground floor. Kitchen was the most equipped I've ever stayed in abroad - washing machine, microwave, more utensils than you know what to do with - even a coffee machine. It's all quite old / but spotlessly clean!

The living rooms must have recently had a make over - the sofa was freshly covered with trendy cushions. Likewise the curtains looked brand new. There's even an open fireplace - although don't imagine there's many months of the year you'd need that. The cherry on the cake is the flat screen tv mounted on the wall. A nice touch is that there are a few British channels like E4 - great if you can't cope without your Hollyoaks omnibus fix.

Bedrooms are tired looking but nothing wrong with them - spotlessly clean with nice good quality wooden furniture - again all tired but clean as a whistle. The bedroom windows both have shutters on the outside - so you can really block out the daylight (especially great if like us, you travelled with kids that normally wake up the moment the sun rises!).

The staff at reception were helpful and pleasant.

One hint - avoid using the on site shop. It's nice enough and sure if it's an emergency, great - but expect to pay 30-50% more than you will at shops down near the square.

I believe there's a bus service that runs 3 x daily to the centre - but it run at 1000, 1400, 1700 - and those times didn't really suit us. It's only say 5€ in a taxi - so just get reception to call you one.

I do recommend you head down to the square - just to walk around during the day, on an evening - it's what Carvoeiro is all about.

You'll have a lovely relaxing feel good time at these apartments. No complaints at all!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ste_Jay2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    200
    64
    27
    16
See reviews for
270
144
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this complex. It is in a beautiful setting with views over the sea and three swimming pools. It doesn't feel like a large place. We had a two bed two bath villa with a small garden and views over the sea in a very quiet location. The villa was beautifully furnished and we had maid service every day.
Unfortunately since our last stay the small cafe has changed hands and I have to admit that it is not for the better. However, there are a number of very good restaurants within walking distance which service lovely Portuguese food
The staff at reception could be a bit hit or miss, sometimes very good, sometimes rather rude. This also applied to the staff (one in particular) at the small supermarket, which is very well stocked
Although you need to get a taxi or the bus into the main centre, it is worth the effort as Carvoeiro is a lovely place.
Also worth the trip is a visit to the fishing village of Ferraguda

Room Tip: We prefer to be a little away from the entrance and although it is a bit of a trek to get to the sup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crawley1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington West Sussex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Although this is a large complex it really does not appear that way. It is spotlessly clean and very peaceful. The pools are lovely. Amenities are excellent a good small supermarket, lovely cafe and a restaurant. There are a few restaurants within walking distance and they are all excellent. No high rises in sight and a courtesy bus into Carveiro is very useful.

Room Tip: We were just beyond the tennis courts in the gardens and were very happy With our apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had a two bed house on this resort. Whilst it was a 10 minute walk from the main area it was great accommodation, had everything we needed including a roof terrace and views of the sea and coastline. The staff were really helpful and friendly. Would definitely return!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaFlynn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
201 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Had a superior 2 bed villa. - nothing superior about it at - complained and moved to a 3 bed house which was very good

Clean - good size rooms an comfortable beds

Had a BBQ in garden as well

Bit of a track to the swimming pool, but the pool was good

Again, need a taxi to get into town

Local beach is wonderful

Room Tip: We visited the week after the school holidays finished, no overcrowding as other reviews have experi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Fantastic week with six friends. will defanatly return to this resort next year. Our apartments were very spacious, well maintained and very clean. The kitchen was in good condition which was a bonus as we went self catering. The pool was a good size, always clean and maintained to high standards. some of the loungers were broke which was a bit disappointing. The onsite restaurant and mini supermarket were ok a little pricey though. The staff were lovely. Everything about the resort was superb.

Room Tip: New A/C units are great but don't leave them on over night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was surprisingly a great holiday. I have a young family and my older daughter is at that age she wants to play with other children her age and not enjoy the wisdom and time her loving devouted parents can offer!
We had a self catering apartment - which was spacious and worked. Consistently cleaned.
Multiple pools meant choice was great - didn't have a load of older children. baby pools for my younger girls.
Location was great and the set up gave you loads of space - I am finding it very difficult not to book for next year.

Room Tip: We had two bed apartment which meant comfort for all
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narinder K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
3.2 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
12.8 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de...
#1 of 10 in Armacao de Pera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#5 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocha Brava Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocha Brava Village Resort

Property: Rocha Brava Village Resort
Address: Urb. Rocha Brava | Apartado 1047, Carvoeiro 8400-553, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocha Brava Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, and only 3 km from the enchanting old fishing village which is Praia do Carvoeiro, we invite you to come and experience the beauty and tranquillity of the 4 Star ‘Rocha Brava Village Resort’. From apartments to townhouses, to individual villas with their own gardens and swimming pools. Come and discover what the heart of the Algarve has to offer, including the numerous silver beaches that are close to us here at the Rocha Brava Village Resort, as well as some of the best golf courses in the Algarve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rocha Brava Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocha Brava Apartments Hotel Carvoeiro
Rocha Brava Portugal
Rocha Brava Village Resort Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing