We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best on the Algarve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rocha Brava Village Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2013

If you want excellent accommodation in a beautiful and peaceful environment then Rocha Brava is for you. We also had excellent weather which was a bonus. On a cliff top but plenty of good beaches nearby

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Billyboy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 597 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just returned from 5 days at Rocha Brava, after booking a late deal with BA. We were impressed by the general standard of our accommodation, a first floor 2 bed apartment with a double aspect lounge, 2 balconies, a well equipped kitchen, and a bathroom with an over bath shower which had good pressure. Both bedrooms and lounge had aircon units, and there was a 26" LCD TV in the lounge with the main UK channels. The apartment was cleaned daily, and the linen changed once during our stay.
We arrived late, but were able to get toasties and drinks in the resort cafe, which was quite busy in the evening. Breakfast in the main restaurant was buffet style and perfectly adequate. A choice of fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts, breads, scrambled egg and bacon, tea and coffee, which could be taken on the open terrace overlooking the pool, was a very pleasant way to start the day. We didn't eat at the pool side snack bar, or in the main restaurant in the evening, so can't really comment. There are a number of good local restaurants just outside the resort, and in Carvoeiro ( we were surprised to find, only 5 minutes away by car ), our favourite was literally 10 seconds from Rocha Brava, a small family run restaurant called Jardim O Farol, but we did find you had to book in advance as it is so popular.
I have to say we found the staff at reception very helpful, once when we closed the apartment door with the keys inside ( a man had to go up a ladder and get in through the window ), and again when I wanted to do the online check-in for our return flight, and they cheerfully did the whole process on their laptop and printed the boarding cards for us, at no charge!
There are tennis courts, and a good size swimming pool, and a kids playground, so enough for the energetic, and therapeutic treatments for the less energetic.
Rocha Brava is one of the older resorts in Carvoeiro, but it has character, and is well worth considering.
Finally, if you fancy a sardine lunch, grilled over a barbecue, in a waterside setting, go to Ferragudo and find Sueste, next to the fishing boats - fantastic!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Last day of holiday & what a perfect resort. Clean, well looked after , great people, villas are a great base and local beaches are a delight. Marinha beach in particular spectacular. The main pool area is never crowded and the greenery adds to a lovely ambience. Staff are very helpful - special mention for Ana on reception - she really demonstrates what great customer service is. She brought us in a washing tablet from her home! Only needed 1 & didn't really want to buy a box of soap powder. Will be back again for sure - it just gets better. Don't forget to go to the restaurant Farol just outside entrance to resort on right - super fresh fish and great service.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewburySkyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I and my wife have just had our 10th holiday at Rocha Brava. I always contact Anabela and Luis in the resorts reservation dept. and book a one bedroom apartment overlooking the 4 tennis courts. As a keen tennis player the apartment could not be more convenient and Christian in the tennis club organises excellent mix-ins. The apartment is cleaned six days a week and has a/c and is spacious and good value. All the staff at RB are helpful and friendly and the estate is beautifully landscaped and maintained. You certainly do not feel that you are living 'cheek by jowl' The restaurants, pools and facilities certainly suit us. The only caveat for us is that we go outside of school holidays when the resort is a less busy. We appreciated the bottle of fizz and flowers in the apartment acknowledging our 10th visit

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I picked this resort based on reviews on this 'site for some late summer sun last year. While it was quiet (which was what I wanted) and not that hot (sunny/overcast low 20s/high teens) the charm of the place really appealed to me.

Due to the location I'd decided to hire a car, something which I don't usually do, but in this instance I'd have to say it's the best solution. The resort was fairly easy to find, the large entrance and the fact that's it's on the only road heading east from the town help a lot. The first floor single bedroom apartment was pleasantly roomy and located near the entrance with the terrace overlooking the restaurant and the lighthouse. The latter became more of an issue on the first night when I was unable to close the window shutter and keep the somewhat annoying light from intruding on my attempts to sleep. That was easily fixed by a trip to reception the next morning and a visit from a maintenance man who showed me how to operate the catch that stops the shutters banging when it's windy. He came back later in the week to reset a circuit breaker that had tripped out robbing us of lights for a while.

While I hadn't booked breakfast we did eat there every morning, the good choice, pleasant seating overlooking the pool and the opportunity to feed the friendly sparrows all helping to make the choice for us. We didn't eat there in the evening as it's quite pricey, but we did have a couple of meals in the bar which could best be described as cheap and cheerful. The bar itself was the busiest area in the evenings, with karaoke on a couple of nights. Having said that there weren't many people staying there when I visited and noise was never a problem.

The resort itself is quite large with a large variety of different kinds of accommodation available. While I only used the main pool, which was never very busy, there are two others there. I also used the courtesy bus a couple of times when I was planning on spending a day in town.

So overall I was very pleased with my time at Rocha Brava and would certainly stay there again if I wanted to go to the Algarve late Summer/early Autumn.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This resort have self catering appartments, apart from the noisy of the neighbours above you, you also have the late night revelers making so much noisy you want to shake them.

We have stayed here for three years in a row, but last year was the last visit and we will not be returning. The facilities are great though and if you can put up with other inconsiderate guests then I would recomment it. Best time to go is October before half term as you then get late summer and a quieter period.

Room Tip: Keep away from communial area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaHarrild1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

First time to this resort and we will be going back this year i would highly recommend this resort but can be very hilly we went self catering ( the best we have experienced ) but it also offers an half board option .It is approx 30 minute walk or 10 minute via car to carvoerio centre it will cost approx 4 - 5 euros via taxi but the resort does also offer a free bus service . you will finds some nice resturants / cafes and bars in the town i would highly recommend Rascals but it is based on a hill . Great facilities onsite and very sociable staff .

Room Tip: most aprtment are two storey blocks i would recommend the top floors we stayed in apartment 501b whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank liz t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carvoeiro hotels
0.6 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#4 of 18 in Carvoeiro
663 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
3,608 reviews
3.2 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Monte Dourado Resort
Monte Dourado Resort
#7 of 18 in Carvoeiro
198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baia Cristal
Hotel Baia Cristal
#8 of 18 in Carvoeiro
522 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quinta do Paraiso
Quinta do Paraiso
#11 of 18 in Carvoeiro
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocha Brava Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocha Brava Village Resort

Address: Urb. Rocha Brava | Apartado 1047, Carvoeiro 8400-553, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Carvoeiro
Price Range: $34 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocha Brava Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, and only 3 km from the enchanting old fishing village which is Praia do Carvoeiro, we invite you to come and experience the beauty and tranquillity of the 4 Star ‘Rocha Brava Village Resort’. From apartments to townhouses, to individual villas with their own gardens and swimming pools. Come and discover what the heart of the Algarve has to offer, including the numerous silver beaches that are close to us here at the Rocha Brava Village Resort, as well as some of the best golf courses in the Algarve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Rocha Brava Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocha Brava Apartments Hotel Carvoeiro
Rocha Brava Portugal
Rocha Brava Village Resort Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing