We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ticks all the boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rocha Brava Village Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I picked this resort based on reviews on this 'site for some late summer sun last year. While it was quiet (which was what I wanted) and not that hot (sunny/overcast low 20s/high teens) the charm of the place really appealed to me.

Due to the location I'd decided to hire a car, something which I don't usually do, but in this instance I'd have to say it's the best solution. The resort was fairly easy to find, the large entrance and the fact that's it's on the only road heading east from the town help a lot. The first floor single bedroom apartment was pleasantly roomy and located near the entrance with the terrace overlooking the restaurant and the lighthouse. The latter became more of an issue on the first night when I was unable to close the window shutter and keep the somewhat annoying light from intruding on my attempts to sleep. That was easily fixed by a trip to reception the next morning and a visit from a maintenance man who showed me how to operate the catch that stops the shutters banging when it's windy. He came back later in the week to reset a circuit breaker that had tripped out robbing us of lights for a while.

While I hadn't booked breakfast we did eat there every morning, the good choice, pleasant seating overlooking the pool and the opportunity to feed the friendly sparrows all helping to make the choice for us. We didn't eat there in the evening as it's quite pricey, but we did have a couple of meals in the bar which could best be described as cheap and cheerful. The bar itself was the busiest area in the evenings, with karaoke on a couple of nights. Having said that there weren't many people staying there when I visited and noise was never a problem.

The resort itself is quite large with a large variety of different kinds of accommodation available. While I only used the main pool, which was never very busy, there are two others there. I also used the courtesy bus a couple of times when I was planning on spending a day in town.

So overall I was very pleased with my time at Rocha Brava and would certainly stay there again if I wanted to go to the Algarve late Summer/early Autumn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    200
    64
    27
    16
See reviews for
270
144
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paddock Wood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This resort have self catering appartments, apart from the noisy of the neighbours above you, you also have the late night revelers making so much noisy you want to shake them.

We have stayed here for three years in a row, but last year was the last visit and we will not be returning. The facilities are great though and if you can put up with other inconsiderate guests then I would recomment it. Best time to go is October before half term as you then get late summer and a quieter period.

Room Tip: Keep away from communial area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaHarrild1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

First time to this resort and we will be going back this year i would highly recommend this resort but can be very hilly we went self catering ( the best we have experienced ) but it also offers an half board option .It is approx 30 minute walk or 10 minute via car to carvoerio centre it will cost approx 4 - 5 euros via taxi but the resort does also offer a free bus service . you will finds some nice resturants / cafes and bars in the town i would highly recommend Rascals but it is based on a hill . Great facilities onsite and very sociable staff .

Room Tip: most aprtment are two storey blocks i would recommend the top floors we stayed in apartment 501b whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank liz t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Overheard "Rocha Brava" in the staff canteen whilst bemoaning the UK spring - booked it that afternoon. Most unlike me to commit with zero research and no recommendation! Put the weather in its box - it's been bad everywhere and Easter came 3 weeks early! Self catering 3 bed villa was EXCELLENT value. Cleaned daily, beds made, sheets changed, logs supplied for wood burning stove etc. 3 lovely pools on the site (one heated in winter) and at least 3 secluded beaches within 15m walk. Highly family-friendly, felt-safe and every encounter with members of staff was a pleasure. The single "could do better" is the children's play area - size fine, position within site of the pool side restaurant/bar perfect but a small investment in play equipment would make a world of difference. Would I go to the Algarve again? No. Would I go to a Roche Brava style site again 100% Yes!!

Room Tip: Take time to consider your special requests. The staff were very obliging and offered a second choi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chalmem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent a week here in March in a 1 bed apartment. It was just great. The whole complex was very clean and the apartment was cleaned and fresh towels provided every day. It is a good 20 minute walk to the village but there is 2 shops, 4 or 5 restaurants and a bar on the site and the taxi ride to the village is only €5 or €6. There is a lovely beach and restaurant about a 10 minute walk away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Icecreamhaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We rented a three bedroom villa for a week through his holiday property bond, for my 79 year old father to have some winter sun, and Rocha Brava was his find. The holiday village, as I suppose you would call it is immaculately maintained and easy to walk about on pedestrianised paths and quiet roads. There are several restaurants and a couple of small shops on site for basic needs such as bread milk etc. Off season the site is very quiet, though be warned this is when maintenance is carried out. The location is great for exploring the algarve, though I would strongly recommend hiring a car. Carvoeiro is a pretty wee town about ten minutes away and there is a supermarket just outside the town. There are lovely beaches very close as well. There are several pools on site, all very clean and inviting, though a bit cold in November! There is one small children's play area, though in general this is probably not particularly a destination for families with young children as there is not a lot for kids on site. Our villa was adequate and clean, though a little dated inside. All restaurant, shop and other staff all speak good English.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Rod C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We've been to Carvoeiro 5 times now with our 5 year old son and have finally found the best place to stay. A real gem. It is a way out from the town (around 3km) but there are 3 courtesy buses a day and the it isn't an issue. Two beautiful beaches within walking distance, some good local small supermarkets and lots of bars and restaurants. And heated pools which is very rare! And friendly staff. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
3.2 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
12.8 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de...
#2 of 10 in Armacao de Pera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#5 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocha Brava Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocha Brava Village Resort

Property: Rocha Brava Village Resort
Address: Urb. Rocha Brava | Apartado 1047, Carvoeiro 8400-553, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocha Brava Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, and only 3 km from the enchanting old fishing village which is Praia do Carvoeiro, we invite you to come and experience the beauty and tranquillity of the 4 Star ‘Rocha Brava Village Resort’. From apartments to townhouses, to individual villas with their own gardens and swimming pools. Come and discover what the heart of the Algarve has to offer, including the numerous silver beaches that are close to us here at the Rocha Brava Village Resort, as well as some of the best golf courses in the Algarve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rocha Brava Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocha Brava Apartments Hotel Carvoeiro
Rocha Brava Portugal
Rocha Brava Village Resort Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing