We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxing spot in a beautiful area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rocha Brava Village Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Sitting on some of the most beatiful views in the Algarve this well managed resort has everything. Well maintained properties, fantastic gardens around the site and good eating in and around the area. The staff are polite and helpful, always happy to go that extra mile.

Room Tip: Top tip wold be to go for a property with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 165David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 595 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

Rocha Brava apartments are located in a great position, near to the local fishing town Carvoeiro. We went at the beginning of September and the weather was perfect. On arrival we were given a free up-grade to a 2 bed apartment with a garden view which was a lovely surprise. The apartment was spacious, clean and well equipped. The resort was very quiet and peaceful; there were always plenty of sun beds around the pools to choose from. The site is very well kept, with beautiful flowers and palm trees which line the paths. The only slight downfall was the beds were quite hard, but this was solved by placing the thick bed cover under the bottom sheet!!
We loved wondering around Carvoeiro in the evening and walking up to the cliff tops to watch the sun sets. The views were stunning. We would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked the holiday at the last minute for some sun. The accommodation booked was for one bedroom apartment with breakfast. We arrived at 21.30 and the receptionist was very welcoming she arranged for the mini bus to take us to the appartment which turned out to be 2 bedroom with lounge and kitchen which had evrything you needed.There was also a roof terrace with sunbeds for us to us + a balcony to sit out on. The furniture and fittings were a bit dated but they were clean and fuctional. One tip if you have a bed that creaks when you turn over pull it away from the wall as the head board is attached to the wall not the bed and this stopped the creaking . We did get clean towels and bed changed twice in the week.
Breakfast was the same each day but there was plenty of choice. they have a free shuttle 3 times a day into Cavorioura from reception.
We tended to go to the pool at the bottom of the resort which was about five minutes walks this was quite with only us being there on most days. There was a bar area but this wasnt open so do take drinks and snacks with you.
The grounds were well maintained and clean the supermarket was a little expensive but i expected. I would not hasitate to book again.
The things i would change is the sunbeds as they were a little worn so where not the best to lay on. Secondly there was no safe in the accomodation although they did have safe boxes in reception so wasn't to bad.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank linda187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We ve just returned from Rocha Brava after taking our four month old son there on his first holiday.
We found it an excellent choice with very friendly and helpful staff..nothing was too much trouble for anyone.
The main swimming pool is great although a little chilly...and around it was very clean with nice gardens.
The bars and restaurants are good there ...we went bed and breakfast.
The on site supermarket is a tad expensive.
The apartments are clean with all your necessary facilities...
To be honest our only gripe was the ants...other than that we recommend it to anyone really wether it be a couple or a family holiday..
Thanks for having us and making Freddies first holiday a memorable one.
Thanks for having us we had a great time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charlie N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband, my 5 year old son and I stayed in Rocha Brava for a week. I booked the holidays through travelrepublic as they had a good deal including car and flights. I checked tripadvisor before going, took all the reviews on board and wasn't disappointed. The resort is large with well maintained gardens. There are 3 pools, the main by the bar is the best. The other 2 were far from our apartment so we used only the main one. Note, however, that except one small paddling pool, none of them are suitable for very small kids to mess around in as they are all 1.20m+ deep. some tripadvisors were complaining about the lack of sun loungers around the main pool in the main season. That might be true as the resort is massive but we traveled first week of Sept, so we had plenty of sun loungers to choose from and the pool to ourselves. There is a tennis club with hard courts and one complaint about that is the expensive court hire. at 13EUR per hour, which is way more than in London.
The apartments housed in lovely white houses are spacious with lots of equipment like washing machine, dishwasher, kettle, fridge, microwave and patio with grill and laundry drier. I must agree with some of the reviews regarding the decor, it is a bit tired and bathroom was shabby- the shower head and the toilet flush broken. The whole resort has problems with ants, we had them in the apartment, I think they mop the floor with anti ant liquid and still it didn't help.
Food- There is a main resort restaurant where they also serve breakfast and dinners which was alright. Breakfast sufficient and good. Then there is RB cafe, which I didn't like much, nice staff but very unsightly chairs and tables and decor generally. There is also a small shop, a bit more expensive than prices in other shops outside the resort. The nearest town is Carvoeiro, which is lovely, with great beach. I must recommend Julio's restaurant, which is on the way to Carvoeiro and Tapas restaurant by the town's beach. The best beaches nearby are Benagil, Carvalho, Carvoeiro and Centeanes. If you travel around, lovely beach is by Cape St Vincent - Beliche (and we had the best chicken piri piri there:-). Avoid Armacao de Pera beach, it is awful and full of people and watch sellers.
Service- everybody is very polite and nice. Only negative thing was no cleaning room service over the weekend.
Generally we had a good time in Rocha Brava, perhaps it is not 4 star as such but it was good value for money at the time we went.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AliceG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the resort for one week and this is our fourth time back. The resort has a relaxed atmosphere with some good ammenities. I would recommend RB's cafe which has lovely food and cheap prices and the Tropical Bar. We hired a car to get around, although it is only a short walk to beach and the resort is only a short drive away from the local supermarkets and water park.

For an evening meal I would recommend going into Carvoeiro town (4.50 euros for a taxi form reception) as there are so many great restaurants - Onze, Ela and Ela, A Gale and A Rede to name but a few. We will be returning again as we had such a good time here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank EJPWales1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just back from 2 weeks in a 2 bed superior sea view 2 story Accomodation . 02 sept. family of 5 consisting of 3 teens. We were very impressed with our house. No 622. Two stories with 2 ensuites, fully equipped kitchen, inc washing machine and dish washer, microwave etc. we eat out every evening however there would be no need.
My teens, 15,16,18 were bored the first few days until they made friends, as their is no real entertainment in the resort. The pool bar staff were lovely and friendly and chatted to my us every day. A car is definitely needed as it is away from everything ,

carveoeiro is approx 3klms and always a large taxi queue every evening going home.
There are 3 pools, one main pool with bar and snacks the other 2 are very small and scattered around the resort. It's a huge resort of over 900 properties.

Reception staff are ok except for the lady with glasses who really want to help. One day I asked her where did the little train go to that drives into the resort every day, she said no where, and then we saw it in the town, I asked her about shopping markets and she said she had no information on them even though I found it myself in reception.

Over all we enjoyed ourselves, very clean and well maintained, due to the large area a long walk to the pool everyday. The bar charges 4.50 euro a pint, and tiny sandwich 5euro, and the shop on site also very expensive. 24 weetabix 6.99euro ! There is a spar nearby which is much cheaper.

Not much else around with out a car. Great restaurant across the rd, rocha mar, well worth a visit. Tropical helders is next to spar and a great place for evening drinks with free wifi.

Would I go again ? , yes , however no, as I feel there is a big world out there.

Very safe resort, once our teens made friends , we had no issue with them coming home late. Lovely walk to the amazing cliffs at the back of our house.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeriCoClareIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carvoeiro hotels
0.6 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#4 of 18 in Carvoeiro
661 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
3,586 reviews
3.2 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baia Cristal
Hotel Baia Cristal
#8 of 18 in Carvoeiro
520 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monte Dourado Resort
Monte Dourado Resort
#7 of 18 in Carvoeiro
198 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quinta do Paraiso
Quinta do Paraiso
#11 of 18 in Carvoeiro
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocha Brava Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocha Brava Village Resort

Address: Urb. Rocha Brava | Apartado 1047, Carvoeiro 8400-553, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Carvoeiro
Price Range: $35 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocha Brava Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, and only 3 km from the enchanting old fishing village which is Praia do Carvoeiro, we invite you to come and experience the beauty and tranquillity of the 4 Star ‘Rocha Brava Village Resort’. From apartments to townhouses, to individual villas with their own gardens and swimming pools. Come and discover what the heart of the Algarve has to offer, including the numerous silver beaches that are close to us here at the Rocha Brava Village Resort, as well as some of the best golf courses in the Algarve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rocha Brava Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocha Brava Apartments Hotel Carvoeiro
Rocha Brava Portugal
Rocha Brava Village Resort Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing