We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monte Dourado Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Mirachoro Praia(Carvoeiro)(Great Value!)
$239
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pestana Palm Gardens(Carvoeiro)(Great Value!)
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$238
$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tivoli Carvoeiro(Carvoeiro)
$228
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA(Carvoeiro)(Great Value!)
$141
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$151
$146
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$104
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$110
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Quinta dos Oliveiras(Carvoeiro)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveler rating
123
63
12
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
63
12
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep hillwashing machinesea viewbed superior apartmenttown centreadult poolwell maintained and cleanlarge tvfitted wardrobesreception staff were very helpfullovely apartmentplenty of wardrobe spacetennis courtsdaily maid servicesitting roomapartments are spaciouson arrival
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 202 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2008

We were surprised at how well the apartment was equipped. It is a two bedroom and two bathroom apartment and so it is good for couples or families. It was very comfortable and well furnished, complete with microwave, dishwasher, washing machine, DVD player and videos. We were close to one of the big pools but in a very quiet area with a lovely little garden and nice patio. The apartment had some sea view and air conditioning, which was really nice on very hot days or at night. Not all of the apartments are the same, since they are owned by different people. This one (74A) is better inside than two others that we visited, so we would recommend it highly. The staff at Monte Dourado are very nice and helpful, and we had a wonderful holiday there. We had maid service included with towels and sheets being laundered for us. Carvoeiro is a busy town in the summer but there are lots of restaurants to chose from, our favourite was Casa Algarvia.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank theresaAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2007

We rented an apartment in monte dourado privately, not from the complex itself, having seen it on the Carvcoeiro website. On arrival, we weren't impressed: a broken toilet; sticking patio doors, smelly washing machine, glass on the patio and a broken shutter. But- the bedrooms were clean, and the owner had provided a range of DVD's and some parasols. Cut to the chase-if you rent an apartment near the town centre in Carvoeiro-photograph everything that you are unhappy with. Telephone the "management company" and report even the slightest fault. Phone the owner back in England. If you don't; if you assume that its just a low rent apartment with a few faults and decide to ignore them for the sake of your family's holiday, you may find that the unscrupulous owner will not return your deposit claiming that YOU broke the shutter and YOU broke the patio doors!!! You may find that you have to resort to a county court claim in an effort to get back your deposit! So the message is clear-be cynical and record everything that might be put down to you-before somebody else does.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank neilcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2007

I stayed here with my boyfriend and we found it briliant, the reception staff are really helpful and happy to help with any questions. We had two bathrooms, two bedrooms, lounge, Kitchen and Balcony - all good sizes, cleaners came with fresh linen and towels, most days. We paid less about £320 each for the flights and accommodation, which is a bargin. Self Catering, but thats what i think you should do as the restaurants are so good. We went on 15th September and the accommodation was quiet, so we often had the place to ourselves. The pool is medium sized, perfect for the time we went, but it maybe a tad small in peak season! The resort is lively, but not chavy, full of nice families and couples. Plus so many restaurants to choose from. The food was the best ive ever had.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaieBarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2006

I stayed here from 2nd - 9th September and it was one of the best holidays I have had. The rooms were spacious and clean, the maid service was great, she even did our washing up one day. Although the pool was small it was quiet, although I my holiday overlapped with a group of young girls who thought nothing of taking up a lot of space by the pool and talking loudly, nor did they think anything of coming home early in the morning singing their favourites song and keeping us awake with their noisy lovemaking (they even thought nothing of partaking in this in the pool) However, I did make a complaint to the management who quickly sorted this out, something that they must be congratulated on. Carvoeiro is a lovely place with lots of well priced bars and restaurants and the beach is lovely too. The only downside was that our hotel was situated at the top of a hill but you soon get used to it. I went here with my partner and young children and everyone enjoyed it. I would definitely visit here again, although hopefully without the young girls!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Holidaymaker60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2006

We booked the appartment directly with the owner and were very impressed with the standard of accommodation. The rooms were large and well-presented, we had direct access to a pool and the complex was very clean and well-maintained.
It was a short walk down hill into Carvoeiro which is a pleasant enough village but I did think it could do with a bit of a face-lift alot of buildings have peeling paint and there were several boarded up. The walk back however was not for the faint-hearted, or those with any mobility difficulties. It was up a very steep hill and the pavements are all tiled with quite slippery and often uneven tiles.
The square in carvoeiro is the centre of the village but again it could do with a face lift and the smell from the drains or sewers was often quite unpleasant. To be fair there was a heatwave during this summer so this may not always be a problem.
All in all we had a nice relaxing holiday with plenty of exercise walking up hills!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank debs87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews