We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (587)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveler rating
142
232
139
47
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
232
139
47
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view the cliff minute walk stayed bed and breakfast indoor pool courtesy bus friendly hotel cleaned daily the ground floor the hotel offers cooked breakfast mobility problems wi fi games room every evening buffet style breakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 587 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Had 3 nights 4 days here, got a fourth floor room with balcony and sea view which turned out the best position to be for stunning sunrises and sunsets, I would advise going half board, very good value huge selection of food all buffet, chef is constantly bringing out fresh stuff. eat as much as you wish and go back round several times, on reflection go round once just looking then sit with a drink and work out your courses :-) Staff are helpful and friendly relaxed atmosphere 5 euro for taxi into town if you don't want to bother with the courtesy bus. All in all a very enjoyable time. Treat yourself to a massage, Vera is a real professional fully trained I went twice :-)

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NelsonPascoal, Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review and we are delighted to hear how much you enjoy your stay at Hotel Baia Cristal.

Your comments are much appreciated and it is always very rewarding to see that most of our guests enjoy to come to Carvoeiro, where they can find a nice athmosphere and to relax in the Hotel Baía Cristal.

We all look forward to welcome you back.

Nelson Pascoal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic week at this hotel. Had read some of the reviews so was a bit wary when we got there but we had a great time. The room was good and cleaned daily and the staff in reception,bar and restaurant were very pleasant and helpful. The food was good and the snacks were good value for money as were the cost of drinks. The hotel was very quiet and has a great location with good views of the sea and coast. You can walk to the village either by road or along the cliff top. We ate out at one of the restaurants in the village for my husband's birthday but used the hotel restaurant for all our other meals. We hadn't told the staff about his birthday but on our return on his special day, we fund a birthday cake in the room and this happened for another guest as well. A very nice touch and a lovely cake. We would return to this hotel.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NelsonPascoal, Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very nice review. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and reccomended the Hotel Baía Cristal to other potential guests.

Your comments about our service are also much appreciated, it is our aim to provide the best service for a relaxing holiday.

Our intention is to continue to provide to all our guests the best conditions and the best service for an memorable experience, while they are in our hotel at Carvoeiro.

We all look forward to welcome you back

Nelson Pascoal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We chose this hotel after looking at its reviews on TA as it was one of the options offered by our tour operator and we are more than satisfied with our choice. All the staff were friendly, helpful and all those we had to converse with spoke good English. The room larger than expected, cmfortable and clean as was the rest of the hotel. We were on half board and the food wasn't exciting and most times could have done with being hotter but it was adaquate and we never left the table feeling hungry. I didn't use the wifi as I object to paying for access (Go and have a beer at a bar in the town and get it free). I wasn't too happy at having to pay 14 euros for the use of the room safe for the week, couldn't this be a returnable (20 euro) deposit instead?

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hermes1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NelsonPascoal, Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your nice review, and we are glad to hear that you found the standards at Hotel Baia Cristal as you expected.
Glad to see that in general you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We are working trying to find the best solutions (and prices) for the use of wifi.
Looking forward to welcome you back.
Nelson Pascoal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We went there expecting the worst as we only booked the day before so didn't have much time for checking it out beforehand. All we managed to see were the reviews on TA.

The hotel was lovely and much better than we anticipated. The rooms were very clean and so was the rest of the hotel... apart from the pools, the indoor pool especially.
Room was cleaned daily and new towels daily. And it is very peaceful there.

The hotel staff were very, very nice. The whole week we were there, we went to them about a thousand times with questions and they never, not once was like, 'you're annoying, go away'..... they always helped us and was more than happy to. Not just the front desk staff, the bar and restaurant staff are so pleasant too.

I ate at the restaurant once, had the piri piri chicken, and it was okay. Never had breakfast but was told by my partner that it was okay too. I personally will recommend that you do not go all inclusive (depending on your budget) and eat at so many different places that you literally end up trying everywhere at least once; that is what we did. We brought a few drinks at the bar but it was much cheaper to buy a big bottle of Vodka with mixers and enjoy them in our room without having to go back and fourth.
Always missed happy hour.. caught it once with 2 minutes left and must say it was worth it.

Overall, the room was big and lovely, good facilities, wonderful staff, okay food... what more could you ask for considering that you will spend most of your time out and about, exploring.

I am very glad that I stayed here. When I go back, this is the hotel I will stay at.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaineee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NelsonPascoal, Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your much appreciated review.
We are very pleased to hear how much you have enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Baía Cristal and that you found our staff very helpfull and wonderful, they are a really asset to the hotel, and your comments will be shared with all of them.
Hope to see you soon.
Nelson Pascoal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I went for a city break with my girlfriend and we were both blown away by th is hotel. I wasnt expecting much given that the price was so reasonable but was pleasantly surprised when i checked in.

the room was massive, with a separate lounge type area, big bathrooms and bath tub, plus a decent sized balcony for beers in the sun. The leasure facilities were also amazing, with a great indoor pool, jacuzzi and a big outdoor pool as well with great views to the sea below. The staff were helpful although we didnt have any meals there apart from breakfast one day, which was good.

The location is the only minor downside to this place - there are a number of great restaurants around although you would need to drive - the place is still only about 10-15 min walk from the main restaurants etc. There is a huge parking lot so no prpoblem drving - which is recommended to get around beach hopping anyway. The hotel is about a 20min walk to the beach but we also drove there so no problem.

The beach in carvoeiro is also very quiet and absolutely stunning with a great cafe/restaurant by the seaside serving fresh fish and amazing piri piri chicken. We ate there every day of our trip!

overall amazing hotel, dont think we could have got any better deal for this budget!

Room tip: not worth paying more for a room with a pool view. we faced the entrance/parking lot and still got loads of sun
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thiago F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NelsonPascoal, Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your illustrative review.
Your comments are appreciated and really tells all potencial visitors a lot about Hotel Baía Cristal and Carvoeiro and the enviroment that can be found.
We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with the services and quality of the hotel in general, and delighted with the service provided by our staff.
WeI would like to take this oportunity to thank you for choosing Hotel Baía Cristal for your city break and we hope to welcome you back in the near future, maybe, for a long period.
Nelson Pascoal
Diretor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews