We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (575)
Filter reviews
575 results
Traveler rating
140
224
137
47
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
224
137
47
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewminute walkthe cliffstayed bed and breakfastindoor poolrooms were cleaned every daycentianes beachcourtesy busthe ground floorcleaned dailyturkish bathrooms were very cleanthe hotel offerswi figames roommobility problemsevery evening
Filter
Updating list...
245 - 250 of 575 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I went for a city break with my girlfriend and we were both blown away by th is hotel. I wasnt expecting much given that the price was so reasonable but was pleasantly surprised when i checked in.

the room was massive, with a separate lounge type area, big bathrooms and bath tub, plus a decent sized balcony for beers in the sun. The leasure facilities were also amazing, with a great indoor pool, jacuzzi and a big outdoor pool as well with great views to the sea below. The staff were helpful although we didnt have any meals there apart from breakfast one day, which was good.

The location is the only minor downside to this place - there are a number of great restaurants around although you would need to drive - the place is still only about 10-15 min walk from the main restaurants etc. There is a huge parking lot so no prpoblem drving - which is recommended to get around beach hopping anyway. The hotel is about a 20min walk to the beach but we also drove there so no problem.

The beach in carvoeiro is also very quiet and absolutely stunning with a great cafe/restaurant by the seaside serving fresh fish and amazing piri piri chicken. We ate there every day of our trip!

overall amazing hotel, dont think we could have got any better deal for this budget!

Room Tip: not worth paying more for a room with a pool view. we faced the entrance/parking lot and still got loads of sun
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thiago F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NelsonPascoal, Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your illustrative review.
Your comments are appreciated and really tells all potencial visitors a lot about Hotel Baía Cristal and Carvoeiro and the enviroment that can be found.
We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with the services and quality of the hotel in general, and delighted with the service provided by our staff.
WeI would like to take this oportunity to thank you for choosing Hotel Baía Cristal for your city break and we hope to welcome you back in the near future, maybe, for a long period.
Nelson Pascoal
Diretor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The star rating probably relates to the facilities there - the hotel is a decent 3 star otherwise. Would have liked to hang out there more but wifi 10 euro per 2 hours which doesn't go far. Breakfast terrible and the evening menu smelled terrible so didn't try it. Snack and room service menu (and food when I tried it) poor. Great location and beautiful scenery from garden. Staff seemed a bit down. I had a car so it worked well for me

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
Thank Lou L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NelsonPascoal, Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review.
We regret that the Hotel and our service has not exceeded your expectations. We believe that if you had told us your dissatisfaction during your stay, we would have tried to improve the aspects that were less well.
We are studying the best option for complete coverage of Wi-Fi in the hotel which should happen soon.
Thank you,
Nelson Pascoal
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel is near the sea, you could see it from some rooms and teh restaurants, in a more quiet area, not the centre, but easy to reach and walk to/from the centre. There are some nice cliffs around. The room was clean, large and the two sofas with a table in between was an extra comfort, while the balcony was nice to read a book on.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SorinBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NelsonPascoal, Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice comments.
We are glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found in our hotel the confort and relaxing athmosphere that you have deserved.
All the best and see you soon at Carvoeiro and Baía Cristal
Nelson Pascoal
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stumbled on to this little gem, rooms are clean and quiet. Do not expect anything fancy. Staff is great. Expect to pay for every option such as safe for the room, internet, telephone...but but...great place! the grounds are very well manicured and it is a stone throw to the little village. Would highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Closest to the ocean...you will pay a few extra dollars...but worth it!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 0rbis25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NelsonPascoal, Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your nice review, that we much appreciated.
We are very pleased to know how much you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt our staff great. Your comments will be shared with all of them.
Thank you for recommend the Hotel Baía Cristal.
Hope to see you soon at Carvoeiro and Baía Cristal.
Nelson Pascoal
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Beautiful location, close to beautiful town of Carvoeiro which has superb nightlife.
However, the hotel itself is NOT a 4 star. Food was good but buffet was very small and with only a few items to choose from, not approrpiate at all for a 4 star hotel. We booked a room with seaview but we the only view we had was that of the dirty roof of front row buildings. We repeatedly asked reception for a room change but they were not helpful. The room was spacious and comfortable though. The swimming pool was quite small and old. We will certainly visit again but won't stay in the same hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank xavier d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NelsonPascoal, Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for your review and for your constructive feedback.

Our aim is to improve our facilities and conditions of the hotel in general and the comments of our guests are very importantes to help us recognise areas for improvement.

We hope to welcome you back at Hotel Baía Cristal in the near future.

Nelson Pascoal
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews