We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Baia Cristal
Nearby Hotels
$77
$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$108
$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pestana Palm Gardens(Carvoeiro)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tivoli Carvoeiro(Carvoeiro)
$176
$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$158
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pestana Golf Resort Gramacho(Carvoeiro)(Great Value!)
$116
$112
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Mirachoro Praia(Carvoeiro)(Great Value!)
$94
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA(Carvoeiro)(Great Value!)
$110
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Quinta dos Oliveiras(Carvoeiro)(Great Value!)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Monte Carvoeiro(Carvoeiro)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (531)
Filter reviews
531 results
Traveler rating
133
205
125
42
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
205
125
42
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewminute walkthe cliffindoor poolstayed bed and breakfastrooms were cleaned every daycourtesy buscentianes beachthe ground floorthe hotel offersturkish bathrooms were very cleangames roommobility problemscooked breakfastevery eveningwi fi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 531 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Fantastic value, excellent location, the staff were very friendly, double room was very large. Our room was on ground floor with view of a hedge, with sunbed outside on grass. The village was only a 10 minute walk, plenty of choices when it came to eating, bars were good value.
Would have no hesitation in re-booking. Either just the 2 of us or with the kids.

Room Tip: Not sure what to say re room only that ground floor with entrance from car park was great, so I can imagine what the rooms with a sea view must be fantastic.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NelsonPascoal, Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Mr Gary W,

Thank you very much for sharing your enjoyable experience at Hotel Baía Cristal.

We are all very pleased to know how much you like to stay with us, that makes we feel really proud of our team.

We look forward to see you back at Baía Cristal Hotel in the future.

Nelson Pascoal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Let me start out by saying again that, as I have already observed, the resort is well kept, the service was great, the people are phenomenal, as they try to solve any guests requests and needs.

Actually the hotel is not worn out at all, as some guests write, just, in some items, needs renewal or more careful maintenance.

I would say the best part of the resort it is people working there. My special recognition is also expressed to Patricia, Margarida, Varela, Pedro, people who took vivid and active part in my accommodation needs and personal trips arranging. They are very cordial, very educated, very helpful and very accommodating to my needs, including everyday ones. They made my second stay more paradiselike than before…
The hotel itself, its location and environments create very safe, peaceful and relaxing atmosphere. As for the board I took BB again that was the same, no-frills, but decent for me, because “man cannot live by bread alone”…Thank God that it is not some Turkish all inclusive slops.
Having been so busy with my wide travel program I rarely notice some disadvantages because my room 106 was fabulous indeed (just fixed a little bit water drain). Anyway it is not big deal, and all can be solved perfectly if you are cheerful, sensible, well-mannered. Get ready for the better.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first line are fabulous
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NelsonPascoal, Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your review, much appreciated.
We are pleased to know how much you have enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Baía Cristal and that you found our staff very helpfull and wonderful, they are a really asset to the Hotel, and your comments will be shared with all of them.
We passed your comments on what was less well to our Quality Department to avoid future situations
We all look forward to welcome you back.
Nelson Pascoal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had a lovely break in Carvoeiro from 4th to 10th October. The weather was great: no rain and 28C temperatures. Vale Centianes beach, which is just below the hotel, was fantastic. Our air conditioned room was large with a balcony and sea view. The hotel is spacious with a good sized outdoor pool. There's a tennis court and indoor games room, where we played table tennis. The buffet breakfast was relaxed with a good selection of food and drink. We had dinner in a different restaurant in town each evening - about 15-20 mintes walk from the hotel.
All the hotel staff we came across spoke excellent English. I left behind our European Health Insurance Cards and Margarida on reception kindly posted these back to us. All in all great service.

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for a room with a sea view
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CumbriansCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NelsonPascoal, Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your very nice review.
Your comments about our staff and service are much appreciated, because it is our aim to provide the best service for a relaxing holiday.
We are very pleased to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Baia Cristal in Carvoeiro.
Hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Nelson Pascoal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here as a couple at thend end of September/beginning of October.
We had a very clean and spacious room with sea view
(we didn't book sea view so nice surprise).
The hotel is a short walk to the town of Carvoeiro (which is beautiful with too many good restaurants to choose from!) The walk may not be suitable for everyone as there are a few hills and cobbled path, but taxis are around 4 euros.
All the beaches around Carvoeiro are picturesque and the one next to the hotel is no exception. Gorgeous beach and calm water for the time of year!
We stayed bed and breakfast only (to exploit the restaurants in town in the evening!)
Breakfast was fine for us, it was as you would normally expect from a buffet breakfast, It was admittedly the same food out every day, but I am happy with boiled egg on toast so no problems!
Orange juice was pure - even had the bits in - so not sure where some other reviews are coming from :S
All in all great base to explore Carvoeiro and the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emweth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NelsonPascoal, Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for sharing your nice experience with all tripadvisor visitors.
Your very ilustrative review, reflects perfectly the environment that can be found at Carvoeiro.
We are delighted to know how much you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Baía Cristal.
Looking forward to welcome you back.
Nelson Pascoal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

It was the first time that we visited Carvoeiro, and we didnt knew anything. Our travel agent suggested Cristal Hotel, and it was perfect.
Of course, it has its ups and downs, but it did our holidays.
Near to the beach and close to Carvoeiro Center, the hotel was really good. The rooms were quite big, and everything very cleaned.
Curtains should be replaced, as well as some paintings in the rooms, but this is only a small detail.
The staff was polite and spoke perfect english.
From the first day, until the last, the only complain was the sauna door didnt close properly. But... it was for free, as well as the turkish bath and jacuzzi.
The bar had live music but the drinks were not very cheap.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NelsonPascoal, Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Mrs Samantha,
Thank you so much for your review and we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the Hotel Baía Cristal.
Your comments are much appreciated and it is always very rewarding to see that our guests want to return back
We all look forward to welcome you back and we promise to solve the problem with the sauna door before...
Nelson Pascoal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews