We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Baia Cristal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Baia Cristal
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

My stay at Baia Crystal was wonderful. It was my first time, it was recommended by friends and we just loved it!
Great staff, the room was big and cleaned, just a little bit outdated (drapery), but fine for a 2 of weeks.
The Restaurant had a great buffet, at breakfast! We also had dinner twice, and it was very good. Experimented the theme nights, Portuguese and also Italian!
The Bar was very good, live music almost everyday. The only thing I can say, to improve the service is to have better parasols.
The View was truly fantastic!

Room Tip: Choose seaview rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaCorreia, General Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Mr. John:

Thank you very much for your nice review!
Its good to see our work aprecciated. We will be glad to welcome you on a next vaction!

Best regards

Patrícia Correia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    171
    107
    37
    24
See reviews for
134
220
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
east midlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The best bit was the outside pool and the lovely setting,My room was nice I was given a ground floor room which was a suite and was huge ,it was clean and I had fresh towels everyday, I did request a plug as there wasn't one for the bath or washbasin but it never materialised, there was a notice asking you not to take baths so I guess this was one way to ensure you didn't !! The food was disappointing but I always found something for my dinner and the puddings were really nice, the coooked breakfast didn't look very tempting but I am happy with toast so again it didn't bother me,The biggest draw back was how far it was to walk to the town or beach up and down hills and all the paths are cobbles,so very tiring, the free shuttle bus only goes out three times a day at odd times and not at all at weekends so never managed to use it.All in all it was ok probably would'nt go back mainly because of the long walks

Room Tip: My room was 267 ground floor suite,facing drive but very quiet at the back it had patio doors with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollyeastmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaCorreia, General Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much ntaking the time to write us this review, and I apologise about the plug.

Best Regards

Patrícia Correia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights in September 2012 with my boyfriend. Hotel was reasonably priced for B&B and our apartment (333) had great sea views but that's where the positives end. This place is so shabby looking and clearly has not been painted or decorated recently. When we got to our room the bathroom was dirty and the floor had not been mopped. I mentioned this to the staff at reception and it was cleaned but it was not a good introduction to the hotel. The breakfast was beyond disgusting and the staff were so rude. On the first (and only) morning I had breakfast here there was no available seats and I went to sit in an area that was being prepared for lunch. I was quickly told I could not sit here by a rude female employee and I asked here where I should sit as all the other tables were in use, she told me to wait until one became free! I was not impressed with her attitude. The food was cheap, greasy and dried out by hot lamps, even the orange juice tasted cheap. How can a hotel get breakfast so wrong? The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the busy town of Cavoeiro where there is plently of bars, restaurants, shops etc and this hotel is very near some super beaches in the Algarve. There is a shuttle bus into the town but it is a limited service and doesn't operate in the evenings. Disappointing hotel but a beautiful location.

Room Tip: Apartment 333 has 2 balconies and beautiful sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sibh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaCorreia, General Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate our Hotel. Im sorry that you were not entirely satisfied.

Best Regards

Patrícia Correia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carvoeiro hotels

cleator
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

A very nice hotel with lovely pool and surroundings , friendly staff, food could have been better, it is a little far out from the town centre so the courtesy bus is useful but taxi's aren't that expensive. Vale de centinnes beach is just a short stroll away and is amazing.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abruce16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaCorreia, General Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you so very much for your review!

Best Regards

Patrícia Correia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Just returned from Carvoeiro staying at the Baia Cristal, first impressions we were quite shocked that there were so few British holiday makers.
This was our first visit to Portugal and Carvoeiro is a wonderful and picturesque resort. Good shops, restaurants/bars, beautiful beaches and great weather which helps.
As mentioned in previous reviews the hotel probably isn’t a 4 star. Don’t get me wrong there are certain elements to the hotel that are very good and worthy of its rating but on the flip side there are parts that let it down.
The negative points ;
We stayed half board and in our view the food wasn’t great. Breakfast was always the same consisting of cooked breakfast, tinned fruit , yogurts and cake. Sounds good but really it wasn’t. Also ants’ crawling on the bread was a bit off putting too.
The evening meals in my view were also very samey and probably catered to continental tastes.
My wife and I are vegetarian so before booking we emailed the hotel to make sure they could accommodate us. The response was there would always be something good for us to eat. Reassured we booked the hotel.
However, in the first 6 days we were there we had to eat out on 4 occasions due to there being nothing vegetarian to eat even the majority of the salad bar contained meat or fish . However, after complaining twice, the restaurant manager, George made sure we were catered for and prepared special meals for us. We really appreciated this. Drinks in the hotel were also very expensive. (€3 for a can of coke!!)
The indoor pool is quite small so never used it, but did use the gym. This should be condemned. The multi gym is ancient and really quite dangerous.
There is a lack of any entertainment and our two children aged 15 and 12 did become bored. (Thank goodness for ipods!!)
That’s the moaning over so on to the good points. We stayed in a suite room that was excellent. A modern, good size room that was well equipped and cleaned every day. We had a ground floor room with a garden which was lovely. Health spa was good, outdoor pool was nice and no problem getting sun beds. The location was fine for us, 5 minute walk to probably the best beach in the area. Hotel 20 mins walk to the town. Would recommend the cliff walk just outside of the hotel which leads you to the main town. Great Pizzas at Mona Lisa which is 2 minutes from the hotel. Car hire essential for seeing what the Algarve has to offer – best prices are from the hotel. Silves well worth a visit. Shopping – Pingo Doce in Lagoa is the cheapest supermarket by far.
If your after a relaxing break this hotel could be for you, however, if you prefer a package holiday with an entertainment programme to keep the family occupied then maybe not.
Hope you have found this honest account useful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rotterdam1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaCorreia, General Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your review.

We will use it to improve our service, and perhaps you will be surprised upon a future visit.

Best Regards

Patrícia Correia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

A very nice hotel with lovely pool and surroundings , friendly staff , good breakfasts , only downside was the location , it was too far out from the town center , although they had a courtesy bus to take you in and out if needed,
Overall a pleasent experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaCorreia, General Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Mr. David:

Thank you very much for your preference.

Im very pleased to know that you had enjoyed your holiday with us.

Until a next time!

Best Regards
Patrícia Correia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We had a wonderful holiday on a beautiful coastline. BUT the hotel left a lot to be desired. The breakfast was a disgrace we had to bring our own fruit each morning as all that was being served was from a tin and poor quality fresh fruit. Happy hour was a joke! the barman kept going awol, when i questioned him he said he had to go to another bar to make cocktails and get ice, the poolside barman needs to get his act together!. The bedroom was very dated and the bathroom needed replacing. Poolside area was nice, however the majority of sunloungers were broken and parasols not up to standard.

Though we were not impressed at all with the hotel we will definatly be back to the resort...just not to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaCorreia, General Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Sir:

Thank you very much for your comments.

Best Regards

Patrícia Correia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carvoeiro hotels
2.8 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#5 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Carvoeiro Sol
Hotel Carvoeiro Sol
#12 of 19 in Carvoeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
#6 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.5 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baia Cristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia Cristal

Property: Hotel Baia Cristal
Address: Vale de Centianes, Carvoeiro 8400-525, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Carvoeiro
#7 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baia Cristal 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most beautiful places in the Algarve, on a cliff top, the Hotel Baia Cristal offers a peaceful atmosphere with a fantastic sea view. Upon the beach of Vale Centeanes and 1700 m from Carvoeiro beach, this 4 star hotel has 120 rooms. With areas from 36m2 to 55m2, Hotel Baia Cristal has at your disposal 14 Suites sea view, 10 Suites garden view, 38 Rooms sea view and 58 Rooms land view, with Private bathroom, Satellite TV, Individual A/C, Minibar, Safe, Direct dial telephone, Balcony, Tea and Coffee facilities, Kitchenette (only in suites). Hotel Baia Cristal has at your disposal Restaurant Gaivota, a cosy restaurant with beautiful views to the sea. Open for breakfast and dinner with Portuguese and international cuisine; and Bar "Albatroz", a relaxing bar with live music, ideal for enjoying the sunset in the company of a delicious cocktail. The terrace serves meals and snacks throughout the day. During the Summer, there is also Barbeques, where guests can enjoy barbecues by the pool, filled with popular music and dance; and also a Pool Bar "BierGarten", where it is possible to enjoy refreshing drinks throughout the day. For Leisure, there are two outdoor Swimming pools, a kid's club, Tennis court, Giant chess board, Indoor Swimming pool, Sauna, Turkish bath, Fitness room, Massage and body treatment room, Games room (snooker, table football, ping pong and video games). For business purposes, there is Meeting room "Lagoa" with Capacity up to 80 people (8,5m x 10,85m x 2,29m). Other services: 24 Hour reception, Multilingual staff, Tour and information desk, Wireless internet, Live music, Car rental, Private parking, and a Shuttle bus to Carvoeiro. Vale de Centeanes Beach: 300m, Carvoeiro Beach: 1.7 km, Lagoa: 7.5 km, Portimao: 16 km, Faro Airport (FAO): 65 km, Lisbon Airport (LIS): 275 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Baia Cristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Cristal Hotel
Baia Cristal Vale Centianes
Hotel Baia Cristal Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing