We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“always great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tivoli Carvoeiro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
belgium
Level Contributor
150 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“always great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

Six times at the Tivoli Carvoeiro and always perfect.
Of course, the room are a bit dated, but the hotel is so well run that they're still above the average. And the view.....absolutely unique.
Clearly, when this hotel was built, the best spots were still available in the Algarve: this hotel boasts the best possibile location, overlooking a secluded cove , ideal for long walks on the cliffs and at the same time close to town. Dining or having a drink on the large terrace with seaview is always great.
Our children love this hotel too, for its large rooms and nice children animation next to the pool, close to the bar.
However, the most important reason why we always go back, is the level of service offered: outstanding. Problems with a flight, health problems, change of reservation, never did I meet staff so professional and willing to help you out.
The hotel will probably be renovated this year, let's only hope they keep the same staff....

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patrickbelgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,189
    1,431
    407
    76
    51
See reviews for
714
1,632
82
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

We are a couple in our late 20's and visited tivoli almansor Carvoeiro last year, if you want a lively resort this is not it, but if you just want to spend time together , on the beach ,round the pool , nice restaurants and lazy and quiet bars then its perfect .
The views from this hotel are to die for absolutley beautiful.. Rock formations and coves , its high up on a cliff side an wow...

The hotel is furnished in a moorish theme which i do like anyway ,
We eat all meals out but breakfast it very good, very varied and lovely view.

We didn't have transport so limited to stay in the resort which is very small, but we did get to other beaches locally on the bus they were stunning apparently that area is known for having the best beaches . BENAGIL was our favourite..

We used a internet site and im sorry can't remember which now for the hotel we think we got a good deal and we used yellowfish transfers.com for the transfer because we saw it on trip advisor . we were very satisfied with them also.
Our flight was ryanair from Leeds it was very cheap basic an did the job - no complaints.

I would return to Almansor for a relaxing holiday we had a great time helped by the gorgeous weather.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james_rowland20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

As a rule, we tend not to go back and revisit old haunts, but in the case of the Tivoli, Almansor, we felt that we had to give it a second look. We were once again delighted to be in a relaxed and friendly environment, with good rooms and facilities, and some of the loveliest views on the Algarve. Our trip was disrupted by our having to spend one night in another hotel, of our choice, whilst refurbishments were completed in Almansor.
We chose the Tivoli in Lagos, which gave us a chance to visit that town for the first time. It was nice to take in Lagos for a day and a bit, and, although the Tivoli there is handily placed, the views from the hotel are no better than looking at an industrial park in Stockport! (Nothing wrong with Stockport).
We were pleased to transfer over to Almansor at the first opportunity. The transfer was handled excellently by Almansor, and we were allocated exactly what we had requested in our booking - double room, sea view, large balcony, and not a trace of cigarette smoke! As on our previous visit, the food was plentiful, and only a disappointment if you are committed to your bacon, egg and sausages in the morning. Oh, and the rice crispies are appalling! Try the rustic bread, the fruit, and leave the fry-up alone!
Carvoeiro itself is the perfect place to chill out, and, around New Year, we were treated to some rain, but several days of excellent, warm sunshine. Once again, the Imprevisto Bar proved to be the ideal place to enjoy a drink and snack, read one's overpriced newspaper, or watch the 'footie'. The TV sets facing the pavement allow one to catch a bit of sun at the same time! Ingenious! The beachside cafe below Martins Bar also deserves a mention.
A couple of recommendations for super service during our stay this time. We could not fault the service from Yellowfish Transfers of Faro. Good value, on time, friendly drivers, and tidy vehicles. And our other special mention goes to the Chef Antonio Restaurant on the hill. Do not be put off by some guides that state that smoking is allowed. It is not, and we were treated to a well-cooked and substantial meal, together with excellent service from start to finish. Our anti-hero of the week award went to the Eva bus driver, (sure he did something similar last year), who had an argument with an elderly lady halfway down the bus, got out of his seat, and turfed her off at the next stop! Probably his ex-wife's mother. Good fun! Oh, and visit the Museum in Portimao. I defy anyone to say that their job is tiring after watching the sardine packers in action!
Will it be thrice to Terrific Tivoli? You bet your life! (What comes after thrice?)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longniddry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

Good food, beautiful location, friendly staff all the requirements for a perfect holiday were here in abundance. We shall be back...

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller1746845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

We enjoyed a week here and were concerned to read some reviews saying it was 'not 4 star', but we felt it was as the breakfast was excellent with lots of choice, the room clean, large and comforable, and the staff very friendly. The swimming pools, gym, sauna and steam rooms were free and open all day. They even produced a birthday cake for me unasked that was a lovely surprise. We would definately return.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nanaelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

We were lucky in that the hotel was only about a third full and,apart from a couple of rainy days, the weather was perfect. Some of the facilities like the pool bar and restaurant were closed but the main bar with fantastic terrace and view was very quiet anyway. Breakfast, again you could eat on the terrace, was excellent. We were glad we went for B&B however as the couple of evening meals we had were Ok but, apart from the fish soup, slightly over cooked. In any case the restaurants in Carvoeiro are many and varied. Redes, just about the first one you come to on the short walk into town, is superb - and the staff are both efficient and charming (and have well rehearsed jokey routines especially with children). We only had one meal at The Cattleman's but wish we'd had more - don't be put off by the German flag the owner spent 11 years in the states and is a lovely bloke. have the chicken starter it is divine. Tasco is very cheap but very good - house wine was 6 euros a bottle - yes 6 euros and it tasted good.
The best thing about the hotel, which was very clean and everything worked, was the staff: polite, helpful, good humoured and very very efficient. This is a lovely hotel with stunning views and very well trained staff

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunderland15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

The hotel is in a very scenic situation. It was not full and was very quiet which is what we wanted. There was live music in the restaurant and bar and noisier bars in the town. We paid for a seaview room and had an ideal view on the fourth floor under the restaurant but experienced no noise. Because we were unsure about the weather (we actually had rain on 3 days) we paid for half board. The food was generally good but there is no excuse for tinned/frozen vegetables, especially when there was grated raw carrot every day. The only slight problem was the greedy gulls who even stole someone's breakfast when they left the table for a moment - not very hygenic but it is worth the risk to eat out on the balcony and enjoy the view. The room was clean and just needed some updating. The staff were friendly and helpful; the waiting staff very good and the room cleaner was lovely. It is worth walking on the cliff - our favourite was to go right , inside the fence, then step over on to the steps outside the hotel grounds.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladypilotYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carvoeiro hotels
2.5 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baia Cristal
Hotel Baia Cristal
#8 of 19 in Carvoeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
#6 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Carvoeiro Sol
Hotel Carvoeiro Sol
#12 of 19 in Carvoeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Carvoeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Carvoeiro

Property: Tivoli Carvoeiro
Address: Apartado 1299 - Vale do Covo | Praia do Carvoeiro, Carvoeiro 8400-553, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carvoeiro
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#6 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Carvoeiro 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the picturesque town of Carvoeiro, where the sea has carved endless, intriguing little bays into the cliffs, stands a unique 4 star hotel in the Algarve, ideal for a beach holiday or business meetings. With a privileged location on the cliff top overlooking Vale Covo, the half-moon meeting rooms at this resort provide the ideal scenario for unforgettable congresses and banquets or great family holidays. The excellent cuisine in the great bars and restaurants at the Tivoli Carvoeiro promise to satisfy even the most demanding of palates. If blue is your favourite colour, go on an in-depth exploration of the Algarve sea with our Diving Centre. However, if green is your colour you might want to opt for one of many excellent golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tivoli Carvoeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Carvoeiro Hotel Carvoeiro
Tivoli Hotel Carvoeiro
Carvoeiro Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Almansor
Tivoli Carvoeiro Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing