We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel with a fab location”
Review of Tivoli Carvoeiro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel with a fab location”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 10 days in March this year. We had the most wonderful room with a perfect sea view (we had requested a sea view) very clean and exceedingly comfortable. Food at breakfast was good though I prefer to sit upstairs rather than in the dinning room downstairs with courtyard view, but understand why this changes. All staff excellent and professional and cheerful way they carry out their work is brilliant and means there is good management. Is would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a good holiday location with comfort but no frills it is dated but that is a minor thing compared to all the positive ness about this place. Will return as much as my finances will allow. Love it all do go you will not be disappointed . Thank to all staff

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MAGHAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,204
    1,440
    410
    77
    52
See reviews for
719
1,648
82
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

It is several years since my wife and I last stayed in a large european hotel and we were not sure whether there would be more advantages or disadvantages to staying in something smaller. We had hoped that the hotel would not be full and we might be allocated a sea view room. No such luck.We were given a room on the 5th floor, which is actually the ground floor as you look at the hotel from the roadside. The room itself was ok but the balcony was an odd shape and had a poor outlook. Not the sort of place to enjoy a nice glass of wine in the evening. Breakfast on the first morning was survival of the fitess. There was a shortage of seating and some trays of hot food were empty. Things were a little better later in the week.On the plus side the hotel had indoor and outdoor pools, plenty of sunbeds and outdoor seating, a decent fitness room, internet access, a nice bar and pleasant staff. We made use of our 2 for 1 drinks vouchers and thought the bar prices were fair.We did not have an evening meal in the restaurant.
To sum up there were advantages and disadvantages to staying in a hotel of this size. I do think that the hotel was value for money and would be tempted to stay there should we visit Carvoeiro again. I would however do as many have previously suggested and pay extra for a sea view.

Room Tip: Avoid room 562
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank menstonsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARDIFF UNITED KINGDOM
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Well where do I start....I took my wife to this hotel as a surprise for her 50th birthday but before we left I had secretly contacted them to upgrade our room to a sea view, arranged for a bunch of flowers to be in room on arrival and champers with our evening meal and they didnt let me down everything was just perfect when we arrived we were greeted by a man on reception with a very friendly smile and welcome this was 12.30pm before giving us the keys explained everything bout the hotel where everything was breakfast/evening meal times and if we needed any help do not hesitate to contact reception. our room was spotlessly clean and tidy well decorated could not find a fault not only the rooms but the whole hotel was very clean and tidy.staff on reception very pleasant as the waiters, room maids nothing too much trouble they spoke to you every time. this seemed to be a quiet hotel but with everything in it indoor pool, sauna and jucuzzi plenty of seating areas couple of bars one with a pool table in, outdoor pool freezing but did venture in once brrrrrr .I could go on but belive me do not let this one go its a must go and see for yourself. oh before I forget 10-15mins walk away from some lovely bars/restaurants. we are definately going back.

Room Tip: very important pay extra and request a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TONYJONESREF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Whilst I have to agree with comments about this hotel being somewhat dated in its interior of the rooms, it is clean, comfortable and has everything you need in a room.

What really makes this place are the staff, they are attentive and only too willing to please. Nothing is too much for them and I cannot sing their praises enough.

The breakfast is more than adequate, certainly not a lack of choice and while the price of the evening buffet is rather steep at €22.50 the lunch menu and room service are more than acceptable.

The free facilities of this place are great, indoor pool, sauna and steam room all free of charge! That's more than most bed and breakfasts offer.


Overall there is room for improvement as far as the decor is concerned, but our stay was pleasant and we would absolutely stay again.

Room Tip: We had a land view room which looked into the 'courtyard' of the hotel. What appear to be bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hotel is situated in a great spot right on the cliffs overlooking a bay. This is not a brand new modern hotel but a well kept, clean and pleasant hotel. It is a quiet hotel, we were shocked when we went for breakfast on the first day to find there were so many other guests. (I took ear plugs for sleeping but did not use them). The reception staff were very good and helped us with all our enquiries. We had an online deal at a very good price so we thought it very good value. The breakfast is a very good buffet with fresh fruits, a good selection of breads and cooked bacon and eggs etc.
The village the hotel sits above is about 5 minutes walk to the first restaurant. The food is generally very good in the village (go online sort out which restaurants you want to go to before you go as some of the very good ones get booked up) and the icecream is very good to.
Problems with the hotel were the pillows, they are the hardest, flattest i have ever had in any hotel, although the staff did give us more on request. The outdoor pool was too cold, but it was the last week in march, and at least it was open. When the hotel is busy (we went the easter week so we had busy and non busy days) the breakfast room moves from the most wonderful restaurant overlooking the sea to a basement room that has no appeal at all. Also it did rain and there are very few hooks to hang our wet clothes so the room did start to smell a little damp.
We like to walk and there are two long ones from this hotel. If you come out of the back of the hotel to the cliffs you can go left (which is the easiest of the walks) and just keep walking. We did 41/2 miles one way came to a fabulous beach and then turned back, stopping at Casa Lamy at Benagil for fish soup and sardines which were very good. The scenery is beautiful. The walk to the right has a difficult start, we could not find the path so we went along the road and through the houses and then found a cut to the sea path (which turned out to be the best way), on the way back we followed the path but it was really difficult to climb as the cliff walls had collapsed. Take some bread feed the seagulls (there are loads), fantastic.
All in all we had a very good holiday

Room Tip: We had a side sea view room on the 3rd floor at the far end of the corridor which was very quiet. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evercreech, somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hotel and staff excellent. Our fourth visit and will be back again. Clean room overlooking the sea and pool. Lovely shower and an easy bath to get in and out of. table and chairs on the balcony and in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and overlook the pol and sea from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
215 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Booking early and pre-paying for 17 nights in March, the Tivoli offered a terrific rate inclusive of breakfast. We visited this hotel for the first time in September 2005 for 3 nights. We decided to return to Portugal this year in the off season to see what it was like. We enjoyed the hotel in 2005 and with the rate offered this time, it was an obvious choice for our 17 nights.

I would agree with previous reviewers that the rooms could do with some upgrading but for the price (particularly in March) this is very good value. The staff at the front desk are friendly and helpful. The rooms are kept very clean and I have no complaints whatsoever. Our room was on the 5th floor and a seaview room and the view is quite remarkable. The bed is a little too firm and if they did make improvements I would hope the mattresses would be given some consideration. Even though the rooms look the same from 2005 except for new flat screen TVs, somehow the hotel keeps the rooms in very good condition.

Wi Fi is free if you join the hotel's reward program and it is well worth it. One issue I could see that needs improvement would be the lack of an in-room safe. Today most hotel's provide an in-room safe and the only option provided by the Tivoli Carvoeiro is a safe at the front desk with a corresponding fee that I thought was rather high.

The breakfast is very good however we did miss the omelet station and waffle maker from 2005. Either this was missing because the breakfasts were served in the dining room rather than the large breakfast room downstairs or ... it is missing due to cutbacks - either way not a deal breaker. The staff in the restaurant work very hard and are diligent about clearing plates and keeping the breakfast buffet tidy and supplied.

We would return to this hotel again if the room rate was agreeable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flymeaway2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carvoeiro hotels
2.5 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#1 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baia Cristal
Hotel Baia Cristal
#9 of 19 in Carvoeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
#6 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Carvoeiro Sol
Hotel Carvoeiro Sol
#12 of 19 in Carvoeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Carvoeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Carvoeiro

Property: Tivoli Carvoeiro
Address: Apartado 1299 - Vale do Covo | Praia do Carvoeiro, Carvoeiro 8400-553, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carvoeiro
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#6 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Carvoeiro 5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algarve is a recognized holiday destination, but also a privileged destination for special meetings and memorable events. In the picturesque village of Carvoeiro, on Vale Covo beach, where the blue sea draws cutouts on the imposing cliffs and the fine sands contrast with the green of the golf courses, Tivoli Carvoeiro is reborn. The high standards of quality and level of service of the Tivoli brand are portrayed in this unique space of architecture aired and open to the horizon, which proves to be the right choice for the best family holidays as well as meeting and differentiating events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Tivoli Carvoeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Carvoeiro Hotel Carvoeiro
Tivoli Hotel Carvoeiro
Carvoeiro Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Almansor
Tivoli Carvoeiro Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing