We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and great service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tivoli Carvoeiro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location and great service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We only stayed in this hotel for one night before heading to a villa we had booked.

I agree that this hotel is a little dated, but can't say it was massively dated and there are so many positive points that you soon forget that.

Check in was painless and quick, an added bonus was that the room was ready early enabling us to dump our bags in the room and go and explore. The ladies on reception were very friendly and welcoming.

We had a sea view room and it was definitely worth paying a bit extra for. We had a wonderful view over the beach and cave and our balcony was a lovely sun trap. The bathroom was a bit dated but the room itself was fine. The tv is an old tv and the English channels are limited but then we don't go on holiday to watch tv so we weren't bothered.

The gardens and pool area were lovely and clean- didn't use the pool as it was a bit too chilly! There is an indoor pool which again looked clean, but we find 't use it.

We only went to the bar in happy hour and the cocktails were delicious! Again, service was great. The indoor bar area is ok, serves a purpose! There is a nice outdoor area to sit in overlooking the pool area, but in march it was a bit too cold to sit out.

We didn't use the restaurant for our evening meal, only for breakfast. We say in the outdoor area for breakfast which was very pleasant. Breakfast was very tasty and plentiful, and I can't see what there could be to complain about.

Location of the hotel us great. A 5-10 minute walk (depending on your mobility). It is up a slight hill, but there are lots of taxis if necessary. There is a shuttle bus from the hotel to the centre, but only a couple of times in the day. Due to the close location of his hotel, you are close to a variety of restaurants and bars.

Checkout was easy and there is somewhere to store bags. There was a very friendly and helpful guy on reception (who also helps with bags) who assisted us on checkout.

All in all, a great hotel. Yes it could do with a big of tlc, but to me, the staff, service and location far outweigh that one tiny negative.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bettybrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,193
    1,432
    407
    76
    51
See reviews for
715
1,633
82
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Although I love the hotel as a visitor of 18 years, and it holds many precious memories for me, the hotel is really in need of an update..

The rooms are dated and there aren't enough entertainment facilities available.

With an interior uplift, a return to the old activities and some evening entertainment this hotel would be PERFECT.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was our third visit to this hotel having enjoyed our previous stays. This time it just wasn't good enough. We'd booked a double room but were initially offered a twin, We complained so they then offered us another room which also turned out to be a twin - this might be alright for a golfing party but not much use to a married couple! They did eventually find us a double for the second and subsequent nights though the view wasn't as good. At least the room was quiet this time - have had noise issues on previous visits.

It is time they did something about the "hot" food available in the breakfast buffet. Fried eggs looked good but were cold whatever time we went for breakfast including 7:30AM. The bacon is diabolical (Paper thin and with bones in), we managed to find decent bacon at other places in the Algarve so there is no excuse. I don't see why we can't have proper sausages either instead of the cocktail sausages provided. At least there was decent toast and marmalade.

Not the hotel's fault but there is some kind of insane fetish about recycling in Portugal - the waste bin was separated into four and you are expected to sort your rubbish - this is a great inconvenience and source of annoyance.

I am sure the brochure mentioned flat sceen TVs - however what we got was a 14" CRT device from the last century - we were pleased that (Amongst others) we could get BBC 1, BBC 2 and the German channel RTL so we got to watch the Malaysian F1 Grand Prix live

Positives - the sea view is tremendous - the climate is benign (16 to 20 degrees C during the day and not too much rain) - the location is central to the Algarve - and Carvoeiro is not too busy, at least not when we were there in March.

A hire car is recommended - decent wifi and food requires a trip to Algarve Shopping in Guia or McDonalds in Portimao. The 3 PCs available to guests have last century internet connection speeds.

Room Tip: Sea view but it is a cost option usually. We have had noise from baggage trolleys on the 5th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank test400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murcia Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Had a short Spring break in the Tivoli Carvoeiro last week. We hadn't been for some years , but I was pleased to say we found most things as before. I agree with some previous comments, that the hotel could do with a fresh coat of paint on the outside. Inside the foyer had changed since our last visit, and had a nice contemporary feel, with rattan sofas /chairs and storm lamps dotted throughout with candles. Our room was also very pleasant, freshly painted ,comfortably heated
and the breakfasts were as usual ,lovely. We had a very nice young man check us in, but on further dealings with the reception staff, the majority of which were women, we did not encounter the same helpfulness. For example, one day we had misplaced our car keys, and thought we may have left them in the bar, on enquiring both in the bar and at reception my husband was just told "NO" we didn't find them. There was no offer of help to make call or any suggestions made. We found the keys thankfully, but were never subsequently asked , "did you find your keys ? or is everything OK now? most of the staff in the restaurant were very young and very inexperienced.
On our arrival night we asked to see the "A la carte " menu and were told they didn't have one.
We thought this must be because it was early in the season. However we were talking to another guest one evening and he told us , the A La Carte here is very good......and went on to tell us about the lovely meal he had had the previous evening !! These inconsistencies should be sorted out , as it leaves the client feeling disgruntled, and it's losing money for the hotel!!

Room Tip: If you don't mind having a land view, rooms 573/4 are on the same floor as reception and are nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank innisfreeMurciaSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We went to this hotel in 2012 and came back in March 2013 knowing all its "pro's and con's".

We got a very good rate for a weeks package in late March - Less than £650 inc' flight for the two of us through Expedia back in Jan '13 so we didn't expect much from the room - and we were correct, it was looking tired, as does a lot of the hotel (the odd cracked stone round the pool, a good external paint needed etc) BUT DONT LET THAT put you off as everything else is good or great, especially the staff and location. Carvoeiro is still my favorite Algarve town - so much more enjoyable than the soul-less Albufeira etc.

Accommodation tip - dont get put on the sixth floor if you can help it. This floor, being the upper-most, seems to suffer the weather worst than the others. They all have solid concrete balconies on this floor which not only restricts your view but look tattier than the railings on the lower floors. You also get more attention from the seagulls who loiter with intent on the roof! If you want to develop that tan in the privacy of your balcony however, the solid walls make for a sun-trap like no other...

Lets get the other cons out of the way - eating and drinking at the hotel can be very pricey. Drinking during Happy Hour (1800-2000 hrs) gets you 20% off but that only brings you down to the level of the most expensive venues in town. A buffet meal at their resaurant will set you back 22.50 Euros for a three course meal - not bad - but only if you WANT three courses (we don't). Breakfast was inclusive of our rate and it was pretty good - anything you want in resaon (smoked salmon included) and as much as you can eat. Only thing that lets it down is that in season it is taken on the fourth floor that has no external access - so no coffee on the veranda unless you pick it up and go to the poolside three floors below.

If web access is important to you, you can use the hotels own internet screens in a dedicated area - but if you have a mobile device you are better off joining the Global Hotel Alliance club for nothing at reception and getting free wi-fi - otherwise its E15.00 a day or be prepared to wait for the screens to become free! No chance if there are lots of kids around!

We enjoy walking so the ten minute stroll into town is fine, but less ambulant people might find evening access difficult (the hotel bus runs three times daily but not at nights - they want your money spent at the hotel!). Taxis are plentiful however.

The staff were always really helpful and do go the extra mile which makes all the difference for us. The views are to die for and its a great place to walk from, either way along the coast although you need to be sure footed in places. Facilites are as good as any at this level of hotel. Seems popular with families of all nationalities so if kids aren't your thing, stay away from school holidays!

Looking back on this review there is more whinge here than praise but its always easier to be critical. It should be enough for you to know that we returned this year in March and will no doubt come again - just be careful how much you pay and where they try and accommodate you. Judging by the number of concerned-looking management types walking around wth clip-boards, I think the cosmetic stuff should get fixed quite soon...!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-view room on the 5th floor (see review detail)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

First time at this hotel,been past loads of times. First impressions when you pull up outside is of building being tierd, in need of a coat of paint. Inside you'll be greeted by very friendly staff only to willing to help you . We stayed on B&B terms , the breakfast where very very good. Everything you could wish for to start the day off right.Our bedroom was one down from main entrance, bar, and resteraunt,which was very nice.Maid kept room spotless. Very good indoor pool, gym. Again the bar was ok but dull (piped music) No live enertainment . Needed somthing to keep guests in hotel!! We still had a lovely weeks stay. The walk into village took about 8mins.

Room Tip: Rooms on 500s Same level as bar, reception and resteraunt
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walker247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
283 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Having stayed at this hotel twice before, I emailed reception prior to our arrival to request a higher floor room, however we were given floor 2 which is just one up from ground floor. Also no double bed, just twins. A little disappointing to say the least. Also the room smelled a little strange but this wore off as the week went by. There was a notice saying that you cannot use the minibar fridge for your own produce which I thought was a bit mean. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room were welcome. The breakfast buffet was adequate with the usual fare on offer.
On the positive side, the position of the hotel is briliant, just a 10 minutes wander into the village and views to die for. The cleaning in the room was very good and of a high standard. Loved having a bidet in the bathroom. The hotel charges for wifi but offers free internet access from 3 computers in the foyer. There are lots of bars in the village that offer free wifi so not a problem. The bar prices are a joke - 4.20euros for a large beer (happy hour 20% off). We found at the Tivoli Lagos hotel's happy hour their beer is half price!! Unfortunately, there is extensive building work going on on the headland next door to the hotel, Im not sure what this is going to be. It wont spoil the views but might make the coastal path busier and not as private. All in all, I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carvoeiro hotels
2.5 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baia Cristal
Hotel Baia Cristal
#8 of 19 in Carvoeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
#6 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Carvoeiro Sol
Hotel Carvoeiro Sol
#12 of 19 in Carvoeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Carvoeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Carvoeiro

Property: Tivoli Carvoeiro
Address: Apartado 1299 - Vale do Covo | Praia do Carvoeiro, Carvoeiro 8400-553, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carvoeiro
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#6 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Carvoeiro 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algarve is a recognized holiday destination, but also a privileged destination for special meetings and memorable events. In the picturesque village of Carvoeiro, on Vale Covo beach, where the blue sea draws cutouts on the imposing cliffs and the fine sands contrast with the green of the golf courses, Tivoli Carvoeiro is reborn. The high standards of quality and level of service of the Tivoli brand are portrayed in this unique space of architecture aired and open to the horizon, which proves to be the right choice for the best family holidays as well as meeting and differentiating events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Tivoli Carvoeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Carvoeiro Hotel Carvoeiro
Tivoli Hotel Carvoeiro
Carvoeiro Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Almansor
Tivoli Carvoeiro Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing