We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel In a great location”
Review of Tivoli Carvoeiro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Second time I have stayed in hotel & again I was not diappointed! The staff are friendly,polite & always willing to oblige. The rooms are spacious & well serviced & having tea making facilities is great. The hotel is in a quiet part of the town yet only a 10 minute walk from the centre. The views from the hotel are breath taking & the breakfasts are excellent. It has both an outdoor& indoor pool & free internet access. The hotel itself is very spacious with plenty of places to sit & relax or just have time for yourself! It is an excellent location for those wishing to go & play golf which is the reason I was there.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JVP32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,390 - 2,396 of 3,586 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2011

This is the third time we have stayed at this Hotel and each time we have not been dissapointed, though I would Highly Recommend a seaview room, although the Hotel is a bit dated, the rooms are always clean, the staff are excellent and can never do enough to help, we only stayed on a B&B basis as we generally travel around during the day so never used the Restaurant of an evening, but the Buffet breakfast was good, there are several good and reasonably priced Restaurants within walking distance, On our last night we found the "Mona Lisa" Pizza Restaurant which was in the opposite direction from the town on leaving the Hotel and about a 10 walk away,though they do serve other dishes the Pizzas where probably some of the best we have tasted, and the staff were excellent, Chicos is another one to reccomend on the hill towards the town, and if you want a good night out with reasonably priced drinks you must go to the "Round up saloon" hall way down the hill, you will be greeted and entertained by Big Will the Manager a real nice guy with a BIG character (check out thier website)

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank delboy1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

My wife and I have stayed in Carvoeiro on a number of occasions over the last 30 years but always in villas. However on this occasion as our stay was less than a week we decided to stay in an hotel and we gave the Tivoli a try.
The hotel is situated overlooking the sea about a 10 minute walk west of the town centre.
We arrived early afternoon on Easter Saturday and were greeted by a very helpful and friendly member of the reception staff.
The layout of the hotel means that the reception area is on the 5th. floor (street level) and our room was on the 6th. floor (top level) overlooking the sea and pool.
The room was well appointed and a good size with a large balcony. There is a minibar in the room charging minibar prices but there is plenty room to put your own goodies. The air conditioning was a bit noisy and I think could be a distraction if left on all night.
The room was spotlessly clean if a bit dated and it was well maintained throughout our stay.
We were on a bed and breakfast basis and found that all tastes were catered for at breakfast with plenty of fruit, breads and hot dishes to choose from. The coffee was decent too.
As it was Easter weekend the hotel was busy with portugese holidaymakers and breakfast was served in a large downstairs dining area, however after the weekend it was much quieter and breakfast was served in the main dining room where you could sit out on the balcony overlooking the sea.
The area around the pool and terraces is beautifully maintained and there are plenty of sunbeds. There are also a lot of quiet terraces away from the noise of the swimming pool. The hotel has an indoor heated pool with jacuzzi and Turkish bath.
There is a small beach accessed by a set of stairs which have been washed away at the bottom. I would say it is only suitable to the brave hearted and definitely not for young children or the elderly. However Carvalho beach is only a 10 minute walk away. It has a nice bar and good public toilets.
In the evening over the weekend there was live entertainment but it was just the usual (not very good) singer with a backing CD.
We never tried dinner in the hotel because the village is a short walk away and it has an excellent selection of restaurants and bars to suit every taste and budget.
All of the staff were polite and friendly and we will certainly return for a short break.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank willieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

This was our 4th or 5th time visiting the Tivoli. As usual we had an extremely relaxing and enjoyable time.

A room with a sea view is an absolute essential. The views are stunning and the main reason we stay here.

The pool area is well kept and again very relaxing.

Everytime we go the staff entertain us with their grumpiness. They are exceptionally touchy and grumpy! All we do is laugh at this stage! We had one very entertaining moment when the poolside waiter grabbed the bill out of my hand because my wife ordered an iced tea after I had asked for the bill.....we just laughed.

If your looking for good service this is definitely big the place for you. If your looking for a very relaxing holiday in a magnificent location then the Tivoli is ideal!!!

In spite of all the bad service we will most likely visit the hotel again! With a good dose of management and a lick of paint this place could be paradise.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alandmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Visited for the first time with my wife.
We are used to pretty high standards when we choose accomodation, but tried to go on a middle of the road budget this time.
Reception was fine, a little like an american hotel though. Ricardo - nice lad, took bags to room, then hung around waiting for a tip....sorry bud.
Room 515, nice view (see picture), resonable size also.
Bed rammed in between two side tables - hard not to bang your head on the corners (see picture) and it was very hard - just getting back to normal now!
Location - good for us as it was in a quiet place away from the main area - but possibly too far for some people who cannot walk a good distance for some evening food.
Most places were brill for food, but our favourite was a Galé, right hand side as you walk up the main hill - real local food served by an excellent team - I would advise reserving!

Main problem with the hotel was the evening races.
We bedded down around 10 or 11 most nights. By then the children had gathered together at the end of the corridor and were using the whole hotel as a race track. Very noisy and basically out of control. Where were their parents? Probably chilling in the bar ignoring their ignorant children.

The weather was not so good but you get what you gamble at this time of year, so we did not experience the outside pool. Wife swam a few times in the indoor pool - not very good when busy so she went in the morning whilst others were breakfasting.

Breakfast was pretty standard. Eggs were poor though.
We only had it once a preferred to go into the village and people watch from Martins Bar (coffee and fresh orange quite good).

Not sure what all the elephants were for in the main square - but anything for a laugh.

Will come back, maybe even stay in the same place, but will request a room on a different floor.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baldyteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed at the Tivoli Carvoeiro with 2 children, 8 and 10. We payed extra for sea view based on Tripadvisor feedback and it is worthwhile, really. Good 4 start hotel, excellent middle of Algarve location very convenient for Zoomarine, Side and Splash and other visits, or walks. Something I could not find on any previous reviews : when you book for a family room, you get one room with double and one with 2 single bed, the 2 rooms are connecting. Each room as a bathroom and balcony. The staff is very helpful. Kids club activities very limited if the weather is not good. Outside swimming pool not heated. Inside swimming pool great, remember to take your swim caps with you. Adults can enjoy hammam and sauna very close to indoor pool. Towels are provide by the hotel. Warning that the beach is not accessible for small children. You will need to drive somewhere else. Buffet breakfast is great, we only took B&B but had dinner buffet twice, excellent food too. Fish always on the menu. Dinner at the hotel for 4 will cost you the same as a restaurant in Carvoeiro with one course and drinks, so value for Money. There is a shuttle bus to town 3 times a day, very convenient. Otherwise, car needed absolutely. From hotel we went to Cap San Vincente (~1h drive) and Silvies castle. Easy Go in Carvoeiro village do discounts on Side & Spalsh tickets and for Zoomarine we booked tickets online before our holiday (20% off). Walks from the hotel are spectacular. Strongly recommend walking to Algar Seco this place is amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teddymarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Tivoli hotel in Portugal from the 29th of March to the 3rd of April there were some good points... and there were some bad points.
First, the good!: the hotel was very nicely decorated and on arrival looked fairly plush and inviting, the reception staff were very friendly and helpful.Our sea view from the balcony was stunning and well worth the upgrade, (although I have an issue with this that I'll come to later). The pool area was very quiet with beautiful gardens and spectacular scenery all around. Breakfast was good and there was always plenty of it. The main town of Carvoeiro was also a good distance from the hotel as accurately described on their website. The hotel was very clean and the rooms were visited by a cleaner once a day, who always provided fresh towels and new loo roll...
and now the bad points... When we checked in we were given a room that was very far away from reception, it had the smallest balcony I have ever seen and the view outside was of a flat roof, not a sea view, which on there website clearly stated ALL rooms had. (I've recently noticed this has been changed to MOST rooms.) The hotel was about as busy as the hotel in Stephen Kings "The Shining" so I have no idea why were were given a small cupboard a weeks trek from reception that smelled strongly of disinfectant.
Not perturbed by the room we made the arduous journey with three sherpas and a camel back to the main lobby to see if we could change rooms... We did... At a cost of 60euros for our 5 day stay. We were then shown to a room a cock stride away on the first floor that was huge, and had a beautiful view.
Bad point number two...: The room was spectacularly hot... ninth concentric circle of hell hot. This i can only assume was due to the air conditioning being so weak it would have been better replaced by a bag of melting ice cubes or the breath of an asthmatic penguin. Then there was the bed. If there's something a hotel should get right it's the bed. Nothing should be more important than a good nights sleep. The beds in the hotel Tivoli however were so hard it were as if they'd been forged in iron from the densest part of a dying star. Particularly uncomfortable. for my wife who at the moment is 6 months pregnant and has trouble sleeping on her back. We did complain to the front desk about it and were given a couple of extra pillows as compensation and were told all the beds are made of the same hard dense neutron star material.
On arrival we were informed that if we filled a simple form in we would get free wifi in our room and a free english newspaper at our door everyday! This was only partly true, we got the free wifi no problem. I still haven't received my free daily paper, maybe they'll post it to me? All in all the Hotel wasn't bad, there were just little niggles, that as a four star hotel shouldn't really happen. I would certainly travel to Carvoeiro again as it's a beautiful picturesque little town with plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from, I wouldn't however stay here again unless the beds were replaced, I'm not sure my spine would take another night.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohnLimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
2.5 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#4 of 18 in Carvoeiro
661 reviews
4.5 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,704 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baia Cristal
Hotel Baia Cristal
#8 of 18 in Carvoeiro
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Carvoeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Carvoeiro

Address: Apartado 1299 - Vale do Covo | Praia do Carvoeiro, Carvoeiro 8400-553, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carvoeiro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
#5 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range: $70 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Carvoeiro 5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algarve is a recognized holiday destination, but also a privileged destination for special meetings and memorable events. In the picturesque village of Carvoeiro, on Vale Covo beach, where the blue sea draws cutouts on the imposing cliffs and the fine sands contrast with the green of the golf courses, Tivoli Carvoeiro is reborn. The high standards of quality and level of service of the Tivoli brand are portrayed in this unique space of architecture aired and open to the horizon, which proves to be the right choice for the best family holidays as well as meeting and differentiating events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tivoli Carvoeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Carvoeiro Hotel Carvoeiro
Tivoli Hotel Carvoeiro
Carvoeiro Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Almansor
Tivoli Carvoeiro Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing