We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a quick visit for amazing rock formations”
Review of Algar Seco

Algar Seco
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.14*
and up
Algarve Coastline Tour from Portimao
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Worth a quick visit for amazing rock formations”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Near to Carvoeiro, you should stop by for a visit to Algar Seco, an amazing set of rock formations and views. Take care as some tricky walking, but worth it for the views. Great photo opportunities.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ukDesiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    186
    27
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing natural rock formations”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I found Algar Seco to be quite amazing. Coastal erosion over thousands of years has resulted in these wonderful rock formations.

Some of the rocks are sharp/jagged so care must be taken (for me at least as I was wearing shorts and sandals) there are lots of blow holes, coves/caves arches and other features.

Amazing to spend a couple of hours with a camera if you like that sort of thing or have an eye for natural landscape photography.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank herefordhywel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
298 reviews
175 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
“Beautiful stretch of coastline”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This area isn't huge but it is beautiful. As previous contributors have said there are a lot of steps and uneven ground that you need to use if you want to explore the area properly.

There was a restaurant but as we had just eaten we didn't use it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Eaglet64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Lovely to explore the rock formation out of this world spectacular views loved it all lovely bar at the bottom of stairs breathtaking views wish I was there now

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jaz40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmore
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were staying near carvoeiro and heard that this was a good place to visit. However, did not realise how breathtaking it really was. AMAZING. If you are in the area DO NOT MISS THIS OUT. Be prepared for steps and lots of them and some rough and precarious walking though. Not for those with mobility difficulties.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Algar Seco also viewed

Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
 

Been to Algar Seco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing