We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Algar Seco

Algar Seco
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.22*
and up
Algarve Coastline Tour from Portimao
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Lovely to explore the rock formation out of this world spectacular views loved it all lovely bar at the bottom of stairs breathtaking views wish I was there now

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jaz40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    184
    24
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bowmore
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were staying near carvoeiro and heard that this was a good place to visit. However, did not realise how breathtaking it really was. AMAZING. If you are in the area DO NOT MISS THIS OUT. Be prepared for steps and lots of them and some rough and precarious walking though. Not for those with mobility difficulties.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

You will have to do some searching to find this place but it really is worth the effort. I would say it is the nicest place in the village to have lunch. The views are beautiful, the food is high quality and the service is very good. Have a beautiful lunch then sit with a bottle of crisp white wine and enjoy the portugese sunshine at this gem of a place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Maylis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
Level Contributor
164 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“The best salad anywhere!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Lovely ambience - quiet setting, with magnificent views of the coastal beauty of the area. Have only eaten lunch here and cannot stop ordereing the wonderful, creative sala ds - a meal in themselves! Our daily treat whilst on holiday in Carvoeiro.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MarbellaKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Really Special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Whenever i visit Carvoeiro, I always take a trip to 'Algar Seco'.
It is an amazing place with great sea views. The natural erosion of the rocks are facinating.
It's usually easy to park and there is a toilet by the Bar/Restaurant. There is no charge, which is unusual these days.
As mentioned in a previous reviews, you need to be physically able, especially if you take the path to the left, which has pool's and interesting rock formations. There is a fairly narrow ledge to negotiate. Decent footwear is needed, although I've been daft enough to do it in flip-flops before!
The path to the right, which goes past the Bar/Restaurant is much easier and I would recommend it for families with younger children, (although it would be quite a challenge to take a buggy/pushchair), and the more mature among us. This will take you to the famous 'O Tunel da Boneca', which is spectacular.
Don't forget to take a camera.
I'm pleased to be returning next week and will of course visit again.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Algar Seco also viewed

Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
 

Been to Algar Seco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing