We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for dinner”

Boneca Bar Restaurante
Ranked #71 of 173 Restaurants in Carvoeiro
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed March 19, 2019 via mobile

We have eaten here as a family many times. It’s a ‘must do’ every time we holiday on the Algarve. The location is truly unique and shouldn’t be missed. Great for a drink at sunset or a meal in the evening.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 916darrenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (856)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 856 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2018 via mobile

We have been visiting Boneca for many years now & have always had a warm welcome in this beautiful setting. However this year it was a completely different story. We had been looking forward to our return & decided to go for a morning walk, followed by coffee & late breakfast at Boneca. Unfortunately upon our arrival at 10.40 am there were no tables & chairs set up & the two male members of staff were milling around not doing very much at all. We were in no rush so decided to walk down into the cliffs, take phots etc. We wondered down at 11 am ( bearing in mind they say they open at 10) as they were putting out tables/chairs. I politely went up to one of the young men to ask if we could sit down. He very rudely snapped NO!!!!! We will not be open for at least 45 mins nothing is ready yet! I was slightly stunned by his aggressive & rude tone, & quietly apologised & we left. The other waiter who witnessed this looked so embarrassed & gave me a very apologetic smile as I walked off. Obviously we didn’t return later & we won’t be returning again. Such a shame because we used to love this place but reading through the recent reviews it seems that things have taken a dramatic turn for the worse. Sort it out Boneca, Carvoeiro has lots of competition & our money, in future will be spent elsewhere.

Date of visit: October 2018
4  Thank mooks11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

Been visiting Boneca since 1987.
A wonderful welcome, fabulous food and a brilliant atmosphere.
Boneca is family run and is a must if you are in Carvoeiro.
Don’t leave without visiting!

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2018

This bar/restuarant has everything going for it as far as location is concerned. Put off by some of the other reviews we decided to try it for a drink before committing to lunch or dinner and we were really glad we did. As others have said, the service is non-existent and the staff really don't seem to care; it took ages for us to be seated and we then had to wait over 10 minutes for a menu or anyone to come over depsite groups of staff having a good time chatting to one another. It wasn't busy so there was no excuse for this. The drinks eventually came and were find but the food served to other people around us looked unappetising and very overcooked so we decided to go elsewherer We had to ask 4 times for the bill and eventually stood up and waited by the "bar". All the staff then denied having served us(!!) so we could have just left without paying but since we are not that way inclined we had to explain to them what drinks we had ordered and were eventually able to pay and leave. There are so many fabulous bars and restauants in the area that this place would be out of business were it not able to trade on its location. Even this will not be enough to tempt us back. Would strongly recommend you choose somewhere else where the staff care.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank victstarhernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2018 via mobile

Medium food, over cooked and for sure overpriced, terrible service - ask for anything and it is just forgotten (3 times in one lunch - must be a record). Staff rather chills inside with the team then walk outside to serve. Location not as fancy as proposed. Not worth the trip. At all.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank MisterE-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boneca Bar Restaurante also viewed

Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to Boneca Bar Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing