We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual and very nice”

Boneca Bar Restaurante
Ranked #21 of 146 Restaurants in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Surrey
Level Contributor
116 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Unusual and very nice”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We enjoyed drinks here one evening, but felt it was too cold to eat there, so we came back for lunch the next day. Very nice piri piri chicken, lovely cold beers and a nice view of the blue sea.
Not expensive at all, and well worth a visit

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redmike123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    172
    59
    27
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Location, location, location....”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

In my opinion Boneca bar and restaurant has the best location in the Carvoeiro area. It is situated at tbe bottom of a long flight of steps (so not for the faint hearted!) with a wonderful view of the sea and cliffs. The business is family-owned and run and you could not meet friendlier staff who, in spite of being very relaxed and laid-back, provide excellent service. Every time we have visited Carvoeiro we make a point of visiting the bar/restaurant several times and on each occasion we have found ourselves sitting with a drink for 2 or 3 hours just enjoying the relaxed atmosphere and fantastic view. The dishes offered are mainly fish with some chicken and pork, all freshly grilled and the portions are generous. Prices for a main course meal are in the region of 12 - 15 euros, although the cover of olives, tomato salsa, carrots, sardine pate and cheese is an extremely substantial lunch on its own. A really memorable and romantic place that we will visit again and again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing!! A hidden gem!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

A bar/restaurant built into the rocks down a lot of steps but worth the walk. Hidden gem. The views and atmosphere are out of this world as is the food!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lynne461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quite an experience”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The food was good, served with lots of smiles. The march of tourists viewing the caves provided some people-watching. Disliked the extra-large steins of beer which rather spoilt the atmosphere, student rag week sprang to mind.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ANNE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“How much are sardines?”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Delightful setting and the meal and drinks we had were ver nice. The unpleasant part was the bill! 14 euros for sardines and salad, classed as fish of the day, I think not. Beware.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boneca Bar Restaurante also viewed

Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to Boneca Bar Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing