We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Vila Nova

Vila Nova
Ranked #27 of 148 Restaurants in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Langley Marish, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Food is so fresh and the service is so friendly. Great for families. The owners are such lovely people which makes the place one of the best restaurants in Carvoeiro

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    43
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ayrshire
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Gem of a restaurant”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We ate here twice during a 6 day holiday, staying at the Monte Santo resort which is a 3 minute walk away from its pedestrian gate.

The service was superb, from the lovely friendly waiter, and the chef presents the fresh fish at the start to see what is on offer. The cover of bread, toasts, cheese, sardine pâté, carrots and olives is the best we had.

I had black bass the first evening, a huge slice, then golden bream the second, which was filleted at the table. Simply but perfectly cooked with oil, garlic and capers. The second evening I succumbed to the house special dessert of profiteroles. Yum! Complimentary port, but special mention of the palate cleanser of lemon sorbet. It is divine, and some customers did not eat all of theirs - we were very tempted to steal them off the bar, it is so good!

Cannot wait to go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dexter05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent service/great food. Perfect.”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were lucky to have Vila Nova on our door step as we were staying in one of the apartments on this small, quiet complex. During the day, the menu consists of toasted sandwiches, salads and the like which is perfect for all the family. At night though is when Vila Nova really transforms. Beautifully laid tables with linen tablecloths, damask napkins and beautiful cutlery. The warm welcome and service standards from Anibal and all the waiting staff could give some 5 star hotels a run for their money. The menu caters for all tastes; the fresh avocado with prawns was my favourite to start with, followed by the seabass, beautifully served with an abundance of fresh vegetables. The ribs and homemade pizzas were a big hit with the kids. The only downside was that the kids liked what was on the adults menu so much that the bill was essentially for 5 adults (as opposed to 2 adults and 3 kids) which was quite expensive, but it wouldn't stop us going back, which we will be doing this summer. Overall, if you can, pay a visit - you won't be disappointed. Just remember it is closed on Sundays.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank curlywurly68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My 6th time staying at the Vila Nova apartments - and this is still the best restaurant in Carvoeiro! Lovely food with welcoming, friendly service from the staff...and cater well for children! I will definitely be coming back I'm sure plenty more times!! The minted lamb is delicious, the sea bass was cooked perfectly, and our toddler ate hers with no fuss! Perfect place for couples or families. Well done Anibal :-)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“A Must - Great food and always friendly service”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have been visiting Carvoeiro for many years now and have stayed in the Apartments here quite a few times, which are excellent.
The food in the restaurant is of a high standard and Anabul and his staff are friendly, polite and welcoming.
There is a great atmosphere at Vila Nova. We always return whenever we visit Carvoeiro.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vila Nova also viewed

Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to Vila Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing