We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”

Vimar Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #64 of 148 Restaurants in Carvoeiro
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good value”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We returned for our 3rd holiday visit to the Algarve region in November 2013 and enjoyed several lunchtime meals at this friendly, family-run restaurant. The set menu is excellent value, and includes starter, soup or salad, main course (with an unexpectedly wide choice of fish or meats), a selection of deserts, glass of house wine and coffee. All of the staff speak English and give you a warm welcome. Well worth a visit either at lunch or in the evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeH462013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    142
    54
    22
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cold Ash, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Always visit Vimar when we are in Portugal, in fact we went twice last week, great value, cover, starter, main, pudding, drink and coffee all for 9 euro at lunch and 13.50 for dinner. Service has always been good and very friendly. Highly recommended and open all year

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Probably the best fish meal ever..................”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We have been to the Vimar on a couple of occasions over the past three years, usually whenever we stay in Carvoeiro. Visited again last week, four adults and a child. We were quite early, probably around 6.30.pm and so we didn't bother booking. Shown to a table immediately, menus given and a drinks order taken whilst we perused the menu. two steak meals for two of the adults and a similar child's steak for the 9 years old. My wife and I went for the grilled swordfish, and my word, I was glad I did.

A superbly grilled very large swordfish steak with not too many vegetable accompaniments, both my wife and I agreed, probably the best fish meal we've ever experienced - hat's off to the chef at the Vimar. I was assured by the other adults that likewise their steaks were excellent - but nothing could have matched the swordfish.

All in all another pleasant experience at the Vimar, but one word of advice to the management, it would certainly enhance your reputation, if when selecting your waiting staff you chose them based on having a modicum of personality rather than the "I'm not really interested staff" that you currently have (try looking next door at the fantastic staff in the A'Rede restaurant.)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobboLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very impressed with the 13.50 evening menu”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We visited Vimar twice, it was very good each time, and the price was excellent, we had a couvert of olives and marinaded carrots with bread, then a starter of soup, fish (sea bass) main dish, almond cake desert and also a large beer, and a coffee....all for €13.50....on the second visit I had the couvert again, then Tomato Salad for starters, Salmon for the main course, which was superbly cooked and homemade mango mousse for desert, with a glass of wine and coffee, again for €13.50, everything tasted lovely, with nice friendly service

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and acceptable”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Situated right at the top of 'Restaurant Hill" the Vimar has a nice atmosphere and food to match. The usual grilled meat and fish populate the menu but with some interesting twists. The chicken in mango sauce was excellent as was the fish cataplana, which unusually for Carvoeiro, would be served to just a single diner rather than for two people. Beautifully presented on the plate and delicious to taste. Local wines are excellent. The only downside is the blaring music from the restaurant next door. Worth a try.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aptalsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vimar Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to Vimar Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing