We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“should be 1st on trip advisor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vimar Restaurant and Bar

Vimar Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #55 of 141 Restaurants in Carvoeiro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
carviero
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“should be 1st on trip advisor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Just had my third meal at the Vimar, the food is lovely, the restaurant is spotless, the service is charming , the food is traditional and reasonable. Credit where credit is due, two nights to go and we will spend them in Vimar, lovely.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    138
    49
    19
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

After reading some reviews, thought we'd give this a try. Went on a night when there was Fado and it was very busy. Had to sit at back - would've prefered front area. Both had fish which was good with vegetables and lovely potatoes (somewhere between roast and sauteed with soft onions) plus good value house wine. Will return.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Don't walk past like we did last year. The food's awesome!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

It's so unpretensious from the outside, you could walk past it almost without a second glance. And we did - in 2012 (about ten times to be precise, but as the Trip Advisor reviews were so good (seems to have slipped down the ladder this year though), we decided to try it when we revisited Carvoeiro this year -March 2013). We weren't disappointed!

The oh-so-sad exterior doesnt do justice to either the rest of the establishment or your expectations of the food to come, so, if they want some advice, sort out your street appearance! I somehow suspect however that they don't need to, as those who know, know, and those who don't, tough! The bare fact that they are rarely empty even out of season tells a story.

The menu is local fish and meat dishes with a smattering of Italian thrown in, much like the "A Redo" acoss the drive from them, only better value.

We had Monkfish & Prawn Risotto which is only available for two people plus. I cant remember precisely how much it was but seem to remember a cost of between 15 and 20 euros and that was for the whole course for us both, - but forget the cost - the taste was fantastic and so much came up in the casserole they served it in, it could have fed a third person had it not been for my piggishness!

A bottle of very acceptable house wine kept the overall price down to silly money and we were so full we couldn't manage anything else - a shame as the couple on the table across from us were trying to get us to try their favourite desserts which they said were the best in town - but you'll have to take their word for that as we were stuffed!

Brilliant! Just wished we had more time so we could have returned again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murcia Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We ate here twice during our recent short stay in Carvoeiro. On one of the evenings there was live music, which was an added bonus. The service was professional and unobtrusive and the food was very good, what more could one wish for ?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank innisfreeMurciaSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Portuguese taster”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Excellent food , set menu good value. Service very good . Good place to eat, local ex pats eat there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank walker247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vimar Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to Vimar Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing