We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing all round.”

Vimar Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #61 of 148 Restaurants in Carvoeiro
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very disappointing all round.”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We decided to go to this restaurant after reading their menu, as we were en route from our hotel to the town. There was a party of four, and we all ordered 'the lamb in the oven with roasts and mint sauce'. We initially declined the offer of the bread basket and the water, and from thereon the service went down hill! When the meals eventually arrived, which seemed to take an eternity, they were luke warm, the lamb was very fatty (a quarter of my plate was covered in fat at the end of the meal) and the roasts were swimming in oil and were certainly not roasts! When the waiter came to collect the plates he asked if everything was ok, I said 'no it wasn't, the lamb was extremely fatty,' pointing to my plate, he replied 'thankyou' and that was it. We will never frequent this establishment again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    141
    52
    22
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Near Cardiff
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good restaurant.”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Good food, with a lot of choice and a nice seating area ouside where you can people watch. Very friendly and helpful staff will explain the menu as a great choice of local dishes.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jules315_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice lunch time meal”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Vimar do a three course set menu at 8.50 per head meal at lunch time.

I had tomato soup for starter which was fine and for main I had chicken piri-piri with chips which was cooked perfectly and had a really good portion. For desert I had strawbery mouse cake which was also good.

Overall it was an excellent meal and exceptional value for money. For the two of us it was under 20 euros which is unbeliveable value.

Looking forward to returning.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerrigan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baildon
Level Contributor
125 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice family restaurant”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Larger than appears at first sight, the minted roasted lamb is recommended as is the Lagoa Reserve red at 14 Euro

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank briangBaildon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
96 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This came highly recommended but have to say we were somewhat disapointed. Sea bass was over cooked, steak was just ok and the vegetables were either tinned or over cooked frozen. However, it was reasonably priced, good service & pleasant atmosphere.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheHappening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vimar Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to Vimar Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing