We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Good Food”

Restaurante Jardim do Farol
Ranked #25 of 148 Restaurants in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Friendly and Good Food”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Very welcoming staff, liked the way they came round with the platter of the Fish of the Day which had a choice for about 5 types of fish.
It wasn't cheap but we left happy thinking we'd had a good meal .
The small glass of Port at the end of the meal was a nice touch. I would have no hesitation in returning to this establishment. Oh by the way as the evening progressed the fish on the platter diminished as clients made their choices so the earlier you are the better your choice - simple. Every one in our party had fish while I had a traditionally Portuguese dish of Lamb and Potatoes on Fried Bread - simple but yummy :-)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Fussyoldme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    79
    27
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
288 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
“Only had a drink”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Not cheap but lovely place to sit and relax for a while. We only had a drink. The bar is well kept and quaint.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Definitely going back”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is a very nice, small family restaurant just past the entrance to Rocha Brava. We went on a cool winter evening and had a nice table for 2 in front of the waming fire. The restaurant is nicely decorated, and the service and knowledge of their menu was excellent, as was the food we had.
Do not confuse this with O Faro within the gates of Rocha Brava.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank agt33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely meals...friendly atmosphere.”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

On holiday in the area, and we visited this restaurant twice. Both times the food was hot,plentiful and served in a friendly manner! We were a large party of 8 which included several children and the staff were attentive and obviously used to making the children feel 'at home'.
The food was nice and hot and really good value for money and the complementary port was a lovely touch. The chicken Piri piri breast was good, in fact l tasted many of the dishes served to my friends and they were all lovely and ones l would have re-ordered had we have eaten there every night!!
We all loved it's rustic charm and would recommend this to families staying in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brownie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fine but not exceptional”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is a busy restaurant with a comprehensive menu. Food is nicely cooked and service is prompt and practical. Staff are friendly and is ideal for an average evening meal out though they also open for lunch. I would not choose this for a special night out but perfectly good for a meal. We have used this restaurant many times and would do so again. It's cash only with no cards.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blandford49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Jardim do Farol also viewed

Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante Jardim do Farol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing