We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to repeat”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa do Bife

Casa do Bife
Ranked #35 of 144 Restaurants in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Murcia Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not to repeat”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Last week we visited Carvoeiro and on one of the evenings went to "Casa do Bife" restaurant
which is situated on , what is known locally as "The Restaurant Hill".
We were greeted outside by a man (I think the owner), having asked some questions re; the menu, we decided to eat there.
When we ordered , we again asked for a baked potato with our meal, as chips are the normal here, we thought this a nice change. Our meal arrived with CHIPS, as we were hungry , we decided to just have the meal and didn't complain. When we got our bill, we had been overcharged for one of our dishes, it was rectified when we questioned it, but with a somewhat
"tepid" apology ! When leaving the restaurant we heard the "owner" saying "Jesus Christ !!"
In these difficult times, which are very evident in this resort as, many restaurants /businesses have closed I would have thought a more courteous good-bye was in order !!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank innisfreeMurciaSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    71
    21
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
283 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
“Set menu really good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We did the set meal which included half a bottle of wine. It was very good value for money. The prawn cocktail was lovely and the steak very good too

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
338 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Two visits in three days sums it up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were a group of 12 blokes on a golf weekend and, despite the numerous choices available in the town, this was the place that everyone wanted to go back twice to.

The fixed-price menu of starter, steak and wine has been a little spolied by the removal of the Beef Wellington but the quality of the rump steak and the heat of the stones made up for it.

I thoroughly recommend a visit, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigCol63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stone Steak is a must !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We always go here for a stone steak when on holiday. Staff very friendly and attentive, food excellent and great value too.
Brilliant, central location.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank LyndsBooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praia do Carvoeiro, Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good value set menu offers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

The restaurant itself lacks a little atmosphere but they have good value set menu offers, the most expensive being €45 for a starter, main course, bottle of wine and coffees for 2. The food is good quality and the staff are nice.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa do Bife also viewed

Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to Casa do Bife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing