We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak on a stone - I'll have it medium rare please”
Review of Casa do Bife

Casa do Bife
Ranked #32 of 149 Restaurants in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
346 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Steak on a stone - I'll have it medium rare please”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

The title relates to the request from one member of our group of twelve men that requested his steak on a stone "medium rare please". Given that they deliver the steak to your table as a raw piece of meat sizzling on a hot stone for you to cook yourself with a selection of butters the request caused great amusement throughout the restaurant.

This place probably seats no more than thirty in total and is very popular, so booking is recommended. Expect your booking to be on "Portugal time" though, so thankfully there's a couple of bars next door in which you can wait while the people that are still sat at your table finish up.

The set menus, at various prices up to €45 a couple, are excellent value. We paired up for our three courses plus a bottle of wine between two and no-one left hungry. The atmosphere is excellent - unless twelve blokes pile in of course... - and the service quick and friendly.

We all agreed that this is a must-visit place in Carvoeiro and will definitely be back on our next trip to the town.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BigCol63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    73
    21
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very nice, great atmosphere”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Really nice little restuarant on Estrada do Farol. Staff always friendly-especially young blonde German girl. We loved the 'stone-steak', where you part cook your steak yourself-however not to some people's tastes. Large TV screens!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank I_REVIEW_FORR_U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Good food at good prices. We tried the chicken and steak - tomato soup great.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary365_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“If in Carvoeiro you simply MUST visit”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Specialising in "Cook on Stone" you order your meat and cook it yourself. They must have an excellent butcher - we went twice on our last holiday and visit every time we stay in Portugal.
Recconed the House Red Wine too.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hot-Sauce-50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundalk ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Terrific little restaurant”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Visited this restaurant in August with a group of friends. We opted for the fixed menu, of which there were 4 on offer - €27.50, €32.50, €37.50 and €45 for two. All were pretty comprehensive and offered starter, mains, desert and included a bottle of house wine. We all opted for the €37.50 menu (but I think we could have seperated into pairs if we had chosen to do so) and it was excellent. Plenty of choice on all courses and the food was superb. Staff were friendly and efficient and service as really good. Would highly recommend this restaurant with the usual word of advice, quite small so advance booking in busy season advised. will certainly visit this establishment on our next visit.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joeysoap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa do Bife also viewed

 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to Casa do Bife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing