We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food, lovely setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Medici

Villa Medici
Ranked #7 of 144 Restaurants in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Food, lovely setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was a new restaurant we tried on our visit this year. It is a little further up 'restaurant hill' but worth the walk. On our first visit we had a table on the front terrace and our second visit we sat in the courtyard (which has a small play area for children). It can get a bit chilly/windy on the front terrace, and the staff did provide blankets to a couple of diners whilst we were there! The menu was varied, although the steaks were very highly priced at 29e, but my husband and dad both had one and said they were excellent. The pizzas and pasta dishes were good, although my son was disappointed they didn't serve chips! The Sgroppino dessert was lovely, very refreshing. The port we had on the house was good and was the largest measure we have ever had!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    733
    350
    79
    34
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for good Italian food, Villa Medici is a safe bet. We ordered a pizza and lasagnas, after a Carpaccio. None of them disappointed. Very good food, same for the tiramisu.

One small negative though is that it's never really good when the customers are the ones bringing a smile on the waitress face. It should really be the other one around... but well, we are on holidays, she wasn't. We were meant to be in a better mood than she was I guess :-) We were also not that impressed when they told us they don't serve tap water... mmm wondering how they wash their vegetables.

Yet, would we go back? most certainly. The food was really good, and the service was good overall.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite in Carvoeiro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Very nice ambiance, indoor as well as al fresco, in the stylish garden. Very good, fresh and tasty food. Original Italian receipts, though not sure the dessert are home-made (?!)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Max-Carol_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Have been here many times over the last 5 years and apart from the refurbishment of the beautiful courtyard at the rear of the reastaurant not much has changed. Still queue out of the door to get in unless you have booked or turn up early, still great classy service and still excellent tasty food. From pizza to classic Italian dishes its all there and despite the need for tables you never feel rushed or forgotten. The food is presented well and the wine decanted if you buy a good one. Nice night out with the family every time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarrad_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, Soth Wales
Level Contributor
226 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great food-great surroudings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We went to this restaurant on two occasions on a weeks stay in Carvoeiro both occasions food,wine and service were exceptional Italian Food at its very best.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwyneth006_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Medici also viewed

Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to Villa Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing