We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food, shame about the service ...”

Primavera Ristorante Trattoria
Ranked #24 of 148 Restaurants in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Marbella
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Superb food, shame about the service ...”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Visited this restaurant on 3 occasions; once for lunch and twice for dinner. The food was excellent every time, however the service in the evening was painfully slow on each of the evenings. Both times, we waited for over an hour between the starter and the main course, with no apology or update. The lunch service was excellent, however we were the only two in the restaurant.

Unfortunately, this exceedingly poor service is sufficient for us not wishing to return - what a shame!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarbellaKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    195
    82
    37
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

So good, we ate here 3 times during our break!
As a family of 5 (2A & 3C) we spent 11 nights in Carvoeiro in October 2013,and ate out all nights. This restaurant in our opinion was the best. Fantastic setting, with us being out of the patio area, surrounded by music and the lovely warm Carvoeiro evenings. Service was very efficient and friendly , t(hough a few more smiles wouldn't go a miss!). All the dishes we had were fantastic, and good portions. The kids raved about the pizza, and I raved about the carbonara. Desserts are a must (profiteroles and the creme brulee especially)!
All in all a very relaxing, charming place.
Also be warned as we stood browsing the menu of this place, the obnoxious 'waiter' from A Rede was whistling at us shouting 'better pizza in here'...no chance mate, your place looks like Blackpool and your whsitling at me was not appreciated!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stairpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great food with attentive service.”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

A modern restaurant located on the edge of town. Offered a warm welcome followed by attentive service throughout our meal. Well balanced menu...nothing too fussy. Shared a dish of melon and parma ham which can often be bland but the quality of the produce here was really excellent. This was followed by plain grilled tiger prawn.It was absolutely delicious. Not cheap but well worth it. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tono_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely pasta - reasonable price.”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We visited late one evening but got a table no problem.

Service was quick and we got a seafood pasta dish and a pizza with prawns on it.

Yummy!

Definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tri3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best meal in Carvoeiro”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife wanted to go next door to Villa Medici which looked nice in the outdoor area. However we booked Primavera instead and were not disappointed. The food was excellent, we opted for the fish of the day Sea Bass and Sea Bream, the waiter asked if we wanted half and half and told us the price beforehand which was good as I have been caught out before when you are paying by the kilo. We had a nice white wine to accompany the fish, not the Green Wine which was reasonably priced and a lovely Panna cotta for desert. The service was very good and the place was packed with good atmosphere. All in all a good night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stuandmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Primavera Ristorante Trattoria also viewed

Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to Primavera Ristorante Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing