We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average food, terrible service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Tia Ilda

Tia Ilda
Ranked #52 of 142 Restaurants in Carvoeiro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Average food, terrible service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Clearly for a busy restaurant there simply wasn't enough staff. Our waiter was running around all night but couldn't keep up. Everything took an age to be done, and more than once he had to be reminded.
The starter was average at best. My mussels were large and already opened and overcooked in my view. When he brought my main of grilled sardines with 5 small new overcooked potatoes we then had to wait at least five minutes before Mel's pasta arrived, with the salad that was part of my dish. The salad was some tasteless leaves, three small tomatoes halved and a thin scattering of sliced red onion - poor. I then had to ask for a lemon wedge for my sardines which arrived finally when I'd eaten four of the six fish.
The view of the town from the upper floor was great, however the food was average and the service poor. Won't be going back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelandAndyY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    153
    81
    59
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mixed Emotions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We booked over the phone during the day and we offered two table times... 7.00pm or 9.00pm. Taking the later able we went for a few pre drinks and arrived promptly at the agreed 9 o'clock. However, we were told there was no booking at 9 and that we had in act stood them up for a 7.30pm booking even though this time had never been offered or agreed by ourselves. Waiter was quite blasé about it and it almost felt like he insisted we were in the wrong. After being assured a table within 5 mins we were shown to our canteen style table 25 mins later. Should have been provided name tags so we could have introduced ourselves to our fellow dinners... It was like being at school all piled on a table. Not ideal. The food was nice enough. Weren't huge portions which was quite refreshing as we didn't waddle out of the place. Wouldn't recommend, wouldn't no recommend... Fairly unbothered about the place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brownthomasale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good view of the sea”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We visited this restaurant as it was recommended by so many people in a visitors book we found in our rented villa. We were expecting great things but sadly it just didn't "do it" for us. We thought the prices were expensive compared to other places in the town, and the food was no better. Service was good however, and there was a wonderful view of the sea whilst eating.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeborahO504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely views, great service and kids welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Surprised by other reviews. Busy and packed, yes. But for me I like a busy place for atmosphere. It's not intrusive at all. The waiters are all highly organised and competent. Very welcoming too. Extras (bread and nibbles) are extra but they are chargeable everywhere else we've been on this holiday. Prices aren't cheap but comparable with other decent spots here - but this has the best terrace eating views of all. Like it. Recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roamingdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“The best thing is the view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This resturant seemed to always be busy. We went there early to get a table. The views were lovely as we sat on the upstairs terrace. The table are very close together and you're packed in up there. They put entrees on the table, which you think are complimentary until you get the bill so watch out for that one.

The service was ok. The food was ok. The wine list was limted. I would not return in a hurry to this resturant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tia Ilda also viewed

Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to Tia Ilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing