We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow Service”
Review of Casa Algarvia

Casa Algarvia
Ranked #29 of 175 Restaurants in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Open 7 days a week from 12 noon until 11pm. Family friendly.
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

Ventured to Casa Algarvia after reading some of the reviews, our first local restaurant in Portugal.
Upon entering around 18:30 we were sat down and the staff were quick to take our drink orders, the house sangria was really nice. After receiving our drinks it took ages to order food despite the restaurant not being that busy.
Whilst we waited for our mains we were offered bread and “pastes” - what we didn’t know was that we would be charged per person for the few small slices of bread and additional for the accompaniments which you could order from the menu (under Couvert) for €1!
The trio of fish wasn’t entirely what we were expecting but tasted good none the less. Sides are not listed on the menu, but you receive 3 new potatoes with some broccoli, cauliflower, green beans and carrot.
By around 19:30 the restaurant was full and it was near impossible to get a waiters attention, we nearly left without ordering dessert as the service was incredibly slow.
We then questioned the unforeseen charges (though minor) and only the accompaniments were removed from the bill.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank linziannm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (728)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 728 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2019

Invariably on our 'must' list for the past 25 years our visit this year was disappointing in several respects and it would appear that here has been a change of staff/management.
Traditionally a well patronised establishment with a wide choice of quality food, served by happy waiters, one usually singing, and with large portions it seems as though 'tradition' has been cast aside.
A good sized clientele seemed to overwhelm the staff who were disorganised with no idea of who was doing what. The drinks server, if that was his role, spent much of his time chatting at the small bar to persons who seemed to be friends rather than clients.
Service was slow and the food just about average. Although my wife's Chicken piri piri was certainly third rate.
Now deleted from our list. There are too many better establishments in the village ! Shame !

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank grahamrwestcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019

Stopped here on a walk into town. Nice menu and good wine list.

I had chicken piri piri which was very nice and not too hot. Good sized portions (seems the norm eveywhere!)

Good service and pleasant staff.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Midlandsmum63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2019 via mobile

Great restaurant on the road into the square. Plenty of seating inside and out. Good menu and wine list. Very accommodating staff. I had the rack of lamb which was delicious and much bigger portion than you would normally get in the uk. Recommended

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Grestyroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2019

Visited casa Algarvia time and time again over the past few years, never had a bad experience.. the lamb is the best I have ever tried! Christina and the team will do any they can to ensure that you have the best meal!

if you haven't tried Casa Algarvia, you don't know what you are missing!

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DannyM1377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Algarvia also viewed

Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to Casa Algarvia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing