We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Traditional Restaurant”
Review of Casa Algarvia

Casa Algarvia
Ranked #9 of 148 Restaurants in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Open 7 days a week from 12 noon until 11pm. Family friendly.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice Traditional Restaurant”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We received a very warm welcome, the menu was comprehensive and the food (fish for both starter and main course) fresh and flavorsome. We drank the house wine, which was inexpensive and we were given a complementary glass of port after the meal. The overall cost was very reasonable and I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tommag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    154
    41
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved it good food friendly genuine service”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The steak on a stone with dips! MMMMmm
Chicken korma style curry very tasty and a large quantity with rice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bohoscarlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic meal”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Fantastic meal lovely staff probably one of the best meals meals we had on our holidays a great idea they leave there book outside and you can leave your name and book your table

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmck087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very slow service”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Arrived at 8.35pm and hadn't made a reservation so we had to sit inside which was quite warm but not uncomfortably so. A large seating area and a double fronted establishment means it unlikely they couldn't accomodate non reserved groups.
Starters took a long time (45 mins) to arrive after ordering, although the piri piri prawns and the garlic prawns were of substantial proportions and succulent. My starter was the 'mushrooms Carvoiero style' which were quite bland and consisted of sliced mushrooms, a couple of bacon lardons, covered in a very basic cream sauce. Ok, but not very interesting. All starters were piping hot as were the mains to follow.
Mains consisted of piri piri chicken, complete with fries, Mediterranean style salad, and homemade piri piri sauce in a bottle which was undoubtedly the hotest I have tasted ever in Portugal. Just how i like it. Also we had an average chicken curry with a slightly runny sauce and a far greater proportion of rice to chicken than is normal (ie not enough chicken), the standard chicken kebab on an upright skewer with chips, steak Portuguese style (garlicky sauce and thin sliced potatoes) and finally, King prawn with rice and salad. The prawns are 7.50 Euro each and are very big but two are needed. They are price as so you choose how many you want on the plate.
All the mains arrived at 10.10pm, almost an hour and a half from ordering. Just a little too long i think.
For drinks we had 9 soft drinks, 2 beers and a 1.25lt jug of sangria. The bill totalled 135 Euros.Staff apologised for the length of time to get the food to the table.
Nice food but not outstanding by any stretch of the imagination.
Oh, and at one point we ordered another couple of drinks which took 15 mins to arrive. The waiter apologised and admitted forgetting about them - late in the evening when there were only one couple in the restaurant, so it wasn't like they were busy.
All in all, a perfectly ok meal and reasonably priced but nothing to write home about.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lotus s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best we had in Carvoeiro”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just back from from 9 nights in Carvoeiro, we were so lucky to choose this place on our second night there meaning we could go back again, 3 nights we came here to eat & 3 nights we were both very happy. The food is excellent, the staff spot on.
Do not come here & expect a quick 3 course meal when it gets busy mind, our last meal took 2.5 hours, but the place was buzzing & we just sipped our wine sat back & enjoyed the atmosphere. Chill out, relax & enjoy some of the best food you will eat in this little town !

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gapples_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Algarvia also viewed

Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to Casa Algarvia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing