We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (903)
Filter reviews
903 results
Traveler rating
441
308
105
26
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
441
308
105
26
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deluxe suite all inclusive package self catering pool area master bedroom stayed all inclusive steam room high standard half board sun loungers hiring a car washing machine fridge freezer buffet style restaurants within walking distance cleaned daily kids club
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 903 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2019 via mobile

Just returned from an 8 day stay in these luxurious apartments on an all inclusive basis.
The welcome was outstanding and check in efficient. We were made to not just feel welcome but special.
The apartments are spotless and well equipped, although if on a self catering holiday you might need to request a few items from reception. We had a blender but no scissors?!?!? Anything we requested was happily provided in time.
The resort itself never felt overcrowded ( except at breakfast time) the apartments are spacious and you don’t feel like you’re on top of each other.
There is an outdoor pool, small indoor pool and jacuzzi, small basketball/ football court, paddle courts and indoor games room. We didn’t really use any of these much but they all seemed adequate.
This is the first all inclusive holiday I have been on where we had a choice from a menu every night. Food included Lobster bisque and confit duck. We ate very well!!! Probably too well. My only complaint regarding food is that the hot section of the Buffett breakfast was never hot and the plates were cold so if it was warm it quickly cooled as soon as plated- but there was a brilliant selection of cold Buffett so we just didn’t eat the warm. The evening meals would have been better on warm plates but this is me being picky- they tasted great.
Vale da Lapa should be very very proud of their employees- helpful, friendly, going above and beyond at ALL opportunities. In our feedback form it asked us to name any particular members of staff that stood out... we started naming them and realised that each one was outstanding and a real asset to a great hotel.
Thank you for an amazing holiday. If we are back in Portugal we will definitely return to you.
Regards,
Ali Rodenburg

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 530alir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGUAHOTELSVDL, Manager at Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with your family.
I have addressed your complements especially to our staff.
We are glad to know that your experience at Aguahotels Vale da Lapa was excellent and we look forward to welcoming you back to Água Hotels & Resorts.
However, We are disappointed to hear you didn’t find our breakfast offerings excellent. We usually receive positive feedback on our comprehensive breakfast selection which features various Continental favorites but it is unfortunate that it was not up to your standards. On a similar note, it is disappointing that you did not find our dining options ideal. Unfortunately, we were unable to impress you in this aspect.
Thank you once again for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We aim to improve and we look forward to serving you better in the future.

Best Regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2019 via mobile

I am not an Algarve fan. It’s a bit drop your bags and sit by the pool or beach. But if you hire a car and stay in this hotel you have all the possibilities this rich area has to offer.
So, the hotel. It’s not rooms, it’s villas. And very good quality fit out with space to breathe. Complete with kitchen and washing machine it gives you the option of self catering or all inclusive. We went all inclusive (do this) and the food was excellent. In UK/EU terms I would say 4*. Breakfast was everything from muesli through cold cuts on to cooked breakfast. Lunch was a toastie or sandwich or spaghetti. Dinner was 3 courses and my favourite was lobster bisque followed by an excellent mushroom risotto and a dessert of Mediterranean fruits. Yum.
The staff are so very helpful and will do almost anything to make your visit a triumph.
All in all almost faultless.
By the by. The staff get little by the way of wages (compared to us) and tips are a big deal.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank alimilan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGUAHOTELSVDL, Manager at Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review, we shared it with our team and everybody is very happy with your comments and with the fact that you found your experience with us "excellent".
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we will be delighted if you return.

Kindest regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2018 via mobile

The 1st time we stayed at this resort was Christmas 2012, and may I say it was a joy, a Beautiful Place to be and meet like minded individuals, we were so impressed we returned in 2014 with our friends and yet again, Fabulous! We could not wait to return this Christmas, but what a shock, the place is Shady and unloved, full of the usual AI Individuals, a Real Shame, the villa's are run down with furniture shady and threadbare, matteress are so old and uncomfortable, the garden's are full of litter, and the breakfast is cold, even at 7.30. Kid's are being sent to the bar by their parents and being served drinks, it a Real Sad Place, we are still here for another week, but are looking to check our early. If you like a little Luxury, and the Nice things in Life. Don't bother with Aqua Vale da Lapa, it a long way from being a Luxurious Resort these days. What a Shameful Experience!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank PendlePictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2018 via mobile

Just got back from a 4 night stay at this hotel.
Booked room only for a very reasonable price and was massively impressed when we were given the keys to a 2 storey apartment. It was huge with a kitchen full of appliances including a washing machine.
It was my birthday while we were there and we returned that day to find a home made chocolate cake and a bottle of sparkling wine in the fridge!
The spa was a little dated, although we had it to ourselves due to going out of season which was nice.
We didn’t try the food do can’t comment on that.
I see other reviews about the condition of the villas - I can confirm that they were being being maintained whilst we were there, and doing a good job with them.
The pool area was lovely too.
Will definitely return.
Only downside is that it is quite a way out of town / beach. There is shuttle bus in season, but sadly had stopped running in November

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Vicky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2018

We had a 10 night stay at the Vale da Lapa resort in August and would definitely consider returning in the future. Make no mistake this is not a 5 star resort or accommodation, however do let that detract you as the 2 bedroom villa we stayed in was very spacious, well furnished and contained modern appliances. There were a few issues with the villa that when reported were dealt with very quickly. Maintenance, housekeeping and reception staff were very friendly and apologetic over one fault that could not be rectified at the time. The resort is family friendly, quiet and we had no problems with getting sun loungers when visiting the pool. They offer a free shuttle service to a local beach but it is not the main Carvoeiro beach. There are a few restaurants, bar and supermarket within 6 mins walk of the resort, Luisa's Place for a pizza is definitely worth a visit! Most evenings we went into Carvoeiro as there are a good variety of restaurants and bars to choose from. There is loads to do in the surrounding areas, we especially enjoyed a boat tour of the caves and other stunning beaches dotted along the coastline. Although not a necessity hiring a car is recommended if you really want to explore what this part of the Algarve has to offer. Although the Vale da Lapa resort is in need of some TLC we really did enjoy our stay, and would recommend to others.

Date of stay: August 2018
1  Thank Delroy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews