We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We travelled as a family of 4 and had a lovely holiday at this resort. The 2 bed villas are lovely and well equipped should you wish to cook. We stayed on half board which was a very reasonable rate. The breakfast was fine, the hotel is small compared to a lot of other 5* hotels in Portugal so the selection was not as great but it was all fine. The evening meal was very good, the waiters were very busy, but always very pleasant and attentive. I would have to disagree with one of the reviews, the desserts were lovely! We heard no one complain about the food during our stay, quite the opposite.

Some of the guests 'booked' the sun beds which was irritating, but happens everywhere, hardly the hotels fault. The local taxi service is poor with long waits at times, again not the hotels fault.
We would stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 1-8 if you want to be near the pool and restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

329 - 335 of 793 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

As many other reviewers have pointed out, the accommodation is spotless & superb, the little villas are 5* in finish, the resort was so peaceful and reception staff were wonderful. But..
We'd decided to 'treat' ourselves to week of half-board - what a waste of money!
The breakfast fine, it was the same every day, the quality of the food was ok but some choice (i.e. eggs) were very limited (scrambled all that's on offer, no egg/omelette station, which we've had in a 3* hotel) and coffee watery and odd. But the evening dinner was AWFUL! Menu looked good, reality was same limited choices for the whole season (we pitied the poor couple next to us who'd booked 2 weeks all inclusive!) service was very slow (not enough staff, they did work very hard!) with a 2 course meal taking over 3 hours to serve. Avoid desserts - these are cheap bought in tarts or packet mix mousse-type things, had better in a hospital canteen famed for its poor food! I doubt very much if there is a chef in the kitchen, just some poor overworked numpty warming things up in microwave... Haute cuisine it ain't!! So we only ate 2 dinners there out of 7 and either went out or brought stuff in from large supermarket 5-10 mins drive away.
And...the pool towels were often threadbare, sunbeds were plentiful but were uncomfortable with no secondary mattress, pillows in bedroom were lumpy, similarly cheap toiletries in room and no dishwasher detergent or fairy liquid in kitchen (so bring your own, very pricy in resort shop!) in general way below the fluffy luxury of a five star resort, simple penny pinching, like in the restaurant.
And yet - on my husband's birthday, they brought a card, balloons, a chocolate birthday cake (home-made and far nicer than restaurant desserts) and a bottle of bubbly... it was a shame we'd gone out to eat ;o) so they left the goodies in our suite for us.
Overall;
The accommodation is superb, the peaceful settings of the villas and the poolside was relaxing, staff are friendly and doing their best as the potential to be wonderful BUT management are penny pinching - we got a good last minute bargain, if I'd paid full price I would have asked for a refund!
I WOULD go again - but only self catering!

Room Tip: Take your own washing up liquid, sponge & etc as none are provided, and don't forget your to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladylewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

2/5 for cleanliness. It's clean when you get there but during your stay they clean nothing.
We stayed at the villa. It was very nice with private swimming pool.
Breakfast choice was good enough (but not exhaustive). I avoided coffee during my stay because it didn't taste anything and they don't serve it. No hot milk neither.
Loud music in the evening (especially for rooms next to restaurant / pools with open windows).
No wifi, cabled internet access (LAN, RJ45 ethernet) with modem you have to install yourself in the kitchen. Terrible bandwidth, unusable, 3 minutes for a webpage.
Lots of things missing in the kitchen, we had to buy plastic cups, soap, sponge, kitchen towels and liquids for wash machines.

It was in general a pleasant stay and the resort is nice with tennis court, soccer. You can rent an e-bike and there is a small shop next to the reception. You can park right in front of the apartment / villa. The resort is big but walking to the restaurant doesn't tags long even from the most far away villa.

Beware snakes!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mathieu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We travelled to Vale da Lapa through a groupon deal in May after the horrid start to the years weather.
The resort appears to be built originally for the individual homes to be sold. As such each is like a show home. The kitchens are very nicely designed with high end appliances. The apartments are spacious, clean and comfortable. I think I stayed in number 3 or 4. It was a stones through from the pool and bar.
There is a nice pool and spa area. I had a free massage in with my deal which was professionally done.
Breakfast was good with a wide selection to suit all tastes. Dinner I thought was okay but there are better options in Carvoeiro.
On that note. Don't be too drawn in by the reviews about step hills and long walks to town. It really wasn't that bad. Neither my partner, or I are fitness fanatics and the walk was quite nice. The are loads of cabs in town to get back to the resort if you have had one too many ports for the return walk, and they are reasonably priced.
All in all a great stay, very relaxing. I wouldn't normally do so, but I would return. There is not tons to do, but it was very relaxing.

Room Tip: Low numbers are right next to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We've just returned & there are lots of reviews that cover everything - the self catering suites are lovely but if I had been expecting a 'hotel' then I might have been a little disappointed. The suites have almost everything you'd need, but were lacking a few things that puzzled us - like general cooking & kitchen utensils, nothing worth getting disgruntled about though - and there's a small shop onsite that sells the basics. We didn't hire a car & got the reception to phone taxis whenever we needed them, it was a few € to the supermarket (excellent lombo steaks!) & into Carvoeiro, and no hassle at all. We didn't fancy walking it due to the lack of pavements. One last thing (for the hotel to note), as a 5* I'd have expected some basics like dishwasher tabs & sponges etc., commonly found in other resorts of a similar standard, to have been provided. All in all, wouldn't hesitate in going back.

Room Tip: We were in 72 - at the opposite end to the pool & reception. It was a 5 min walk (taken leisurel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlm75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

As all other reviewers have pointed out, the accommodation is superb. Unfortunately almost everything else falls way short of five star standards. It didn't ruin our holiday but when you book five star you expect just that. so what was wrong;
The breakfast was exactly the same every day, the quality of the food was ok but the choice was very limited. If you like eggs for breakfast make sure its scrambled because thats all thats on offer, no egg station.
The towels were thread bear, way below the fluffy luxury of a five star resort, similarly cheap toiletries, simple penny pinching.
The pillows were lumpy.
The sunbeds were plentiful but were uncomfortable with no secondary mattress to place on top. The sunshades looked like they didn't belong in the holders and were wedged in with pieces of wood......one fell on me on a windy day.
By the way, I paid for Resort Hoppa to pick me up at the airport for the man to stand there with our name on a board and whisk us straight to the resort........30 minutes later he turned up. The trip back was much better arriving 20 minutes late.
Some good things;
The accommodation, the Bon Bon restaurant near the water tower, the italian restaurant in the village, the peaceful settings of the villas (the poolside was a bit noisy with kids but not too bad).

Room Tip: Room 58 caught the evening sun, ideal for a beer or two!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steviec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

we've been going to portugal for the last 10 years, but this is the 1st time going to vale da lapa carvoeiro,it is by far the best accomadation we,ve ever stayed in.We stayed in the deluxe suite & is very spacious.ders 3 Pools,spa childrens play area& games room, The staff r so helpful, the facilities r brilliant,& the food is gorgeous,very family orientated,We hired acar which was pretty good>the beach is bout 2/3 kilometers away aswell,waterparks r pretty close by aswell>So cant wait to go back:)Brian D northern ireland

Room Tip: der r no tips cause every room is spectular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
0.7 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#4 of 18 in Carvoeiro
3,544 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 18 in Carvoeiro
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
658 reviews
20.6 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#6 of 75 in Portimao
2,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA

Address: Estrada das Sesmarias, Carvoeiro 8400-535, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
#5 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#5 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range: $66 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid extensive landscaped gardens and manmade ponds, this 5-star resort offers luxurious villas with free wired internet. It boasts an on-site 9-hole putting green and, outdoor pools and a Spa. All apartments are situated in 2-storey duplex villas that feature modern and stylish decor. Each unit has a large living room and a bedroom with a high ceiling and balcony. There is also a full kitchen. At Vale Da Lapa, guests can enjoy the exclusive clubhouse featuring a design restaurant and bar with outdoor terrace. Guests can sample regional flavours and carefully selected local products. Agua Hotels Vale Da Lapa also boasts a jogging trail, 2 paddle tennis courts, and a multi-use astroturf pitch. Children can have fun at the play area and children's pool. Vale Da Lapa Hotel has a private entrance to the neighbouring tennis club and several golf courses can be found in its vicinity. Caneiros and Carvoeiro beaches are less than 5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale Da Lapa Resort & Spa Hotel Carvoeiro
Vale Da Lapa Resort And Spa
Vale Da Lapa Resort & SPA Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing