We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely resort, helpful staff, happy to return.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely resort, helpful staff, happy to return.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We've just returned & there are lots of reviews that cover everything - the self catering suites are lovely but if I had been expecting a 'hotel' then I might have been a little disappointed. The suites have almost everything you'd need, but were lacking a few things that puzzled us - like general cooking & kitchen utensils, nothing worth getting disgruntled about though - and there's a small shop onsite that sells the basics. We didn't hire a car & got the reception to phone taxis whenever we needed them, it was a few € to the supermarket (excellent lombo steaks!) & into Carvoeiro, and no hassle at all. We didn't fancy walking it due to the lack of pavements. One last thing (for the hotel to note), as a 5* I'd have expected some basics like dishwasher tabs & sponges etc., commonly found in other resorts of a similar standard, to have been provided. All in all, wouldn't hesitate in going back.

Room Tip: We were in 72 - at the opposite end to the pool & reception. It was a 5 min walk (taken leisurel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vlm75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    254
    77
    15
    7
See reviews for
313
291
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

As all other reviewers have pointed out, the accommodation is superb. Unfortunately almost everything else falls way short of five star standards. It didn't ruin our holiday but when you book five star you expect just that. so what was wrong;
The breakfast was exactly the same every day, the quality of the food was ok but the choice was very limited. If you like eggs for breakfast make sure its scrambled because thats all thats on offer, no egg station.
The towels were thread bear, way below the fluffy luxury of a five star resort, similarly cheap toiletries, simple penny pinching.
The pillows were lumpy.
The sunbeds were plentiful but were uncomfortable with no secondary mattress to place on top. The sunshades looked like they didn't belong in the holders and were wedged in with pieces of wood......one fell on me on a windy day.
By the way, I paid for Resort Hoppa to pick me up at the airport for the man to stand there with our name on a board and whisk us straight to the resort........30 minutes later he turned up. The trip back was much better arriving 20 minutes late.
Some good things;
The accommodation, the Bon Bon restaurant near the water tower, the italian restaurant in the village, the peaceful settings of the villas (the poolside was a bit noisy with kids but not too bad).

Room Tip: Room 58 caught the evening sun, ideal for a beer or two!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steviec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

we've been going to portugal for the last 10 years, but this is the 1st time going to vale da lapa carvoeiro,it is by far the best accomadation we,ve ever stayed in.We stayed in the deluxe suite & is very spacious.ders 3 Pools,spa childrens play area& games room, The staff r so helpful, the facilities r brilliant,& the food is gorgeous,very family orientated,We hired acar which was pretty good>the beach is bout 2/3 kilometers away aswell,waterparks r pretty close by aswell>So cant wait to go back:)Brian D northern ireland

Room Tip: der r no tips cause every room is spectular
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leixlip, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have to say that our first impression is "Wow". The layout of the Hotel & Villas is quite impressive. Our villa also initially exceeded our expectations.

The amenities in the villa are pretty good too. However, there was 0% internet capability in our villa. Reception advised that they would look into it, but never did.

Food in the hotel was average at best. We tried both breakfast & dinner.

Pool was a little cold. Sun Loungers were not the most comfortable.

Additional amenities were not free, e.g. Tennis/Basketball (€5 p/h!)

Vale da Lapa is technically a 5 star, but is letting itself down. Reception were a little frosty when you asked a question, we often had to interupt conversations between staff to make enquiries.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PriceyKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Vale da Lapa is a modern villa complex that is run as a hotel. It looks as if this was originally planned to be holiday villa development when cash dried up .. the good news it makes an excellent high quality resort hotel about 2-3 kilometres from the beach area of local town.

It has a delightful pool area which benefits from the light breeze making it a comfortable spot to spend a few hours.

The food is good value and quality. We stayed three days, but only ate out of the hotel once!

Only slight gripe was that we didn't have our credit card swiped on check in, which made it tricky to charge to our room - easily solved but a detail that could have been covered when we arrived.

We'll probably be back again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelHLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just returned from a week in the Vale Da Lapa complex, we stayed in a deluxe suite and I couldn’t fault it. The complex offers all you could want from a 5* destination. Maids visited every day to clean the suite and changed our towels. The Suites are massive and very well equipped; kitchen was like a home from home with all white goods being integrated including a washing machine and dishwasher. The staffs were friendly, approachable and very knowledgeable of the local area. I would highly recommend Vale Da Lapa and I would love to return. Book now as you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allanay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Extremely recomended. Very beatifull and modern villas. Hotel staff very friendly. If there was something wrong, it would be the cleaning service (the private pool was not clean, and some rooms had dust).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVIDJURADO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
0.7 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
10.8 mi away
Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort
14.9 mi away
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA

Property: Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA
Address: Estrada das Sesmarias, Carvoeiro 8400-535, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#5 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
#5 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid extensive landscaped gardens and manmade ponds, this 5-star resort offers luxurious villas with free wired internet. It boasts an on-site 9-hole putting green and, outdoor pools and a Spa. All apartments are situated in 2-storey duplex villas that feature modern and stylish decor. Each unit has a large living room and a bedroom with a high ceiling and balcony. There is also a full kitchen. At Vale Da Lapa, guests can enjoy the exclusive clubhouse featuring a design restaurant and bar with outdoor terrace. Guests can sample regional flavours and carefully selected local products. Agua Hotels Vale Da Lapa also boasts a jogging trail, 2 paddle tennis courts, and a multi-use astroturf pitch. Children can have fun at the play area and children's pool. Vale Da Lapa Hotel has a private entrance to the neighbouring tennis club and several golf courses can be found in its vicinity. Caneiros and Carvoeiro beaches are less than 5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale Da Lapa Resort & Spa Hotel Carvoeiro
Vale Da Lapa Resort And Spa
Vale Da Lapa Resort & SPA Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing