We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice resort with good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice resort with good breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days in May 2013. The resort was very clean, certainly met our 5 star expections. We had the duplex villa with 2 en suite bedrooms upstairs. Everything you need was in the villa except food and water obviously you can buy from the nearby supermarcado InterMarche (about 5 min drive).

Breakfast had a lot of choices (no live cooking station though) and very fresh. Staff was very friendly. Pools looked very clean but was too cold to use. Indoor pools requires swim cap. Good steam room and sauna facilities. Also has a small kids pool next to the main pool. Games room, tennis and basketball courts are all there plus an outdoor kids playground.

Villa was super clean and maids came everyday to clean and change towels etc. All marble floors and kitchen equipment was BOSCH brand.

Resort location was quite good as it's kind of in the middle. 45 min drive from FARO airport but beaware if you use a SatNav as there are many new roads in the Algarve and not all roads are named so SatNav cannot find it. Best double check Google Map and SatNat device before setting off. When you see the water tower to your left take a left then stick to the right, you will find it in less a min. The sign wasn't very obvious though.

Very easy to drive to other towns such as Portimao, Lagos, Albeifeira etc all within 30min drive.

would have given it 5 star if the front desk were manned with more staff as we always saw people queuing for service as there was only one staff.

Room Tip: We had number 29 which is near the creek in the middle of resort. Walk to breakfast room took about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MysticM32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    254
    77
    15
    7
See reviews for
313
291
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brighton, east sussex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have stayed there twice now and love the peaceful and serene surroundings. For just the two of us we get a spacious house with every thing you could want. The staff are helpful and attentive and the facilities first class.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matthew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We have just stayed here for four nights, two adults and a 16 month old. The 'villas' are lovely, very well equipped with full kitchen utensils, tea towels, microwave, dish washer, washing machine. You do need to provide your own washing up liquid/dishwasher tablets/cloth which is fair enough. Bathrooms have bath towels, hand towels, and face cloths, and free mini toiletries are shampoo, shower gel, body lotion, and a mini soap in each bathroom. There is an ensuite to both bedrooms and a downstairs loo too. We asked for a travel cot and a high chair and both were provided in our room, (had to ask a couple times for the high chair but it was provided and a very good one too!).
The cleaners changed our towels each day and also our bed sheets-very clean and tidy! You can get beach/pool towels from the Spa also.
We ate the restaurant once as it was included in our package and it was good, although service was a bit slow. Breakfast each morning was self service, and various pastries, fresh and dried fruits, hams and cheeses, cereals, juices, yogurts, plus bacon, scrambled egg, sausage pieces, and beans were available.
The pool was a bit too cold for us so we headed to a beautiful, small, quiet beach called Canairos (I think?) which the lovely receptionist recommended. Perfect beach for children as have lifeguards, who also provide sun beds for 9euros each-all have sun canopys for shade if needed; and there is a little tent for massages too! The restaurant overlooking the bay (up about 10 wooden steps so don't be put off by the map that says steps) is superb! One of the best places I have ever been! All food is unbelievably fresh and they are fabulous with children! Service is superb.
We had a hire car from Europa-could not fault it! Ask reception for the local 'free' maps. We would certainly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sausageconnoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We have just returned to the UK after 10 days at Vale Da Lapa resort and we were not disappointed at all, recommend to us by a friend and we would return! A lovely resort but it is the staff that go out of the way to ensure you have a nice relaxing and trouble free holiday!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mawdsley69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

You wont be disappointed staying here. The 'Deluxe suites' really are 'Deluxe houses' plenty of room, fitted kitchen, tv's in lounge and each bedroom, dining area, 2 en-suite bedrooms with robes, towels ( changed daily) & toiletries provided. Balcony up & down makes this an ideal place to relax. However, the frogs from the stream & lake are really very noisy (have to hear them to believe them - the Frogs' Chorus sprang to mind) but all rooms have shutters which cut out the noise considerably. And you get used to it after a day or so anyway.

The large pool area is clean with beds & umbrellas. Pool towels are provided daily.

There is a running track right around the houses which measures 1 kilometer, for those feeling energetic and the resort is right next to the local tennis club.

The breakfast is excellent & sets you up for the day. If you are A/I, evening meals are a-la-carte, and everyone said how good they were. However, our offer included 3 evening meals which were off a different menu but still as good.

We also walked into Carvoeiro (about 6k round trip), but a car is advisable as this resort is not in the main town.

The staff are very efficient & nothing is too much trouble for them. All in all we had an excellent stay here and hopefully will be returning soon.

We also booked our car with Goldcar and have to agree with previous writer...might be worth paying a little extra with a more reputable company who do not give you the heavy sales job to take out their excess insurance and charge you for a full tank of fuel which ; -

a. You will have trouble using - we did 400k in 8 days and only used half a tank - no refund for unused fuel.
b. You get charged 90 euros for a 45 litre tank with diesel about 1.40 euros per litre so they make a 27 euro profit straightaway plus getting back whatever is left in the tank.

Room Tip: All suites look the same, however if you have walking difficulties then the lower the number the nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Novemberblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We arrived for a five day break with two small children, on an all-inclusive basis.

The hotel is a 40 minute drive from Faro airport. It was possible to park the car outside our villa.

The complex is made up of villas, most of which do not have their own pool, and share a larger pool and children's pool.

We stayed in a two bedroom villa very near to the pool and restaurant/reception. The villas are well-appointed with dishwasher, washer-dryer, granite worktops, firm but comfortable mattresses, electric shutters which are excellent at blocking the light, flat screen TVs in the open-plan living area and bedrooms, and air conditioning throughout. We felt it was very comfortable and good value.

Internet is available in the reception, restaurant and poolside, but it is very, very slow. A number of people found it difficult to connect initially, and once connected, it is glacially slow. Fortunately, it is free, but they would it very hard to justify charging for it. To be fair, the lack of speed is probably due more to the telecommunications infrastructure in rural Portugal

Breakfast is self-service, buffet style with a selection of four or five pastries, continental meats, a variety of breads, a hot breakfast selection, three fruit juices, coffee (albeit an automatic machine), selection of different teas, bottles of water and fruit selection with a choice of yoghurt a, plus some breakfast cereals. The only downside was that the toasters were domestic ones, both very slow, and by the end of our stay, one toasted only one side.

Lunch has a choice of four or five starters and mains, plus desserts. There is also a Children's Menu, which is the same as the one for the evening meal. After the weekend, staff levels are clearly lower, and it was sometimes difficult to find someone from whom to order lunch, and it took longer for the food to arrive. However, the food was of a good quality. It was unclear whether the menu changed every week, so we worried that had we stayed longer, we could have run out of options on an all inclusive basis.

Dinner was also of a high standard, with a similar number of choices on the evening menu. The local wines were good, and the desserts tasty. Staffing levels were consistently higher, and we never had any trouble getting served or being shown to a table at dinner. The only problem we had was that dinner didn't start until 1930, which was a little late for our young children, but the staff were very accommodating to our tired tikes.

The staff at this hotel are very friendly, especially to the children. They are a credit to the company. They made our stay very enjoyable, and despite the few odd foibles, we would go back again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank applemacster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed in a 3 bedroom villa. There were 3 adults and two small children. Lots of space outdoors in a safe environment for children to play while the adults could relax. The villa was claned every day and the staff were friendly. The facilities on site were adequate but not extensive and there was a real shortage of staff on-site.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccarty37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
0.7 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
10.8 mi away
Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort
14.9 mi away
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA

Property: Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA
Address: Estrada das Sesmarias, Carvoeiro 8400-535, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#5 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
#5 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid extensive landscaped gardens and manmade ponds, this 5-star resort offers luxurious villas with free wired internet. It boasts an on-site 9-hole putting green and, outdoor pools and a Spa. All apartments are situated in 2-storey duplex villas that feature modern and stylish decor. Each unit has a large living room and a bedroom with a high ceiling and balcony. There is also a full kitchen. At Vale Da Lapa, guests can enjoy the exclusive clubhouse featuring a design restaurant and bar with outdoor terrace. Guests can sample regional flavours and carefully selected local products. Agua Hotels Vale Da Lapa also boasts a jogging trail, 2 paddle tennis courts, and a multi-use astroturf pitch. Children can have fun at the play area and children's pool. Vale Da Lapa Hotel has a private entrance to the neighbouring tennis club and several golf courses can be found in its vicinity. Caneiros and Carvoeiro beaches are less than 5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale Da Lapa Resort & Spa Hotel Carvoeiro
Vale Da Lapa Resort And Spa
Vale Da Lapa Resort & SPA Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing