We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Accommodation fantastic, facilities not amazing.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Accommodation fantastic, facilities not amazing.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed April 2013 for 5 night at Vale Da Lapa, family of four (kids aged 6 & 3). First impressions were good, receptionist spoke very good English and was very helpful and polite. When we arrived at the room again very happy as was basically a 2 bed townhouse/villa rather than an apartment/room. The accommodation had 2 good sized beds/2 bathrooms (+downstairs toilet), good sized kitchen and large living dining area with flat screen and DVD player. The resort itself is more like a holiday park, like an upmarket haven site with villas rather than caravans! There is an outdoor pool (not huge) and a small children's pool and an indoor pool (winter canopy) which forms part of the spa. The spa is a let down and frankly a little grotty for what is classed as a 5* resort. We stayed B&B, breakfast was ok but nothing more.
In summary very good large accommodation with limited facilities on the resort. Car hire is a must (used Luzcar - who were excellent!!) as although hotel states sea views (which there are - just) it would probably take a good 20-30 mins to walk and is up a very steep hill on way back! Paid £70 per night B&B for family of four so all in all very good value for money and would probably return if we came back to this area (which is nice).
Also if you do visit this area Ma-Ja's restaurant do great food and very good prices (kids eat free!) is English run, just one min up the hill to the west.

Room Tip: Low number rooms are close to ammenities, otherwise you could face 10-15min walk to pool and restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank MrAHartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    253
    77
    15
    7
See reviews for
311
291
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We have visited the Resort Vale da Lapa as a family with a 5 years old child and a baby for three nights. The resort staff was very friendly and professional. The suite was beautiful. Nothing was missing (baby chair and baby bed were also provide)! The facility was clean and well maintained. The restaurant had a excelente kitchen. The menu was varied and corresponded to a 5 star cuisine. The breakfast was excellent too. The waiter were very professionel and friendly. The spa area was fine. We would recommend the Resort to anyone.

Stefanie & Matthias

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nevelua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at Vale De Lapa for 4 nights.
Roughly a 45min direct transfer from faro airport.
Check in was very smooth and quick, we arrived earlier than the check in time but room was ready for us. Receptionist was very helpful, I think her name was Andrea, gave us lots of info about the resort and facilities available to us. We were assigned to room 50 which was a short walk to reception, even the rooms furthest from reception were a 10 min walk maximum.
The accommodation itself was beautiful, modern and spacious with a fully equipped kitchen. We stayed on a B&B basis so cannot comment on dining in the evenings, breakfast was very well organised, never had to wait for a table and staff were very helpful-the resort was not full though. Usual breakfast options of hot food, cereals, bread & fruits.
There is an outdoor pool as well as a heated indoor pool/spa however on the one occasion we had a look around, none of the steam room were switched on. There are spa treatments on offer but we did not use, pricing very much like what you would get back in UK
Wifi was available in the reception and was at times painfully slow, we were informed that wifi would be available in all rooms from summer.
We ventured into Carvoeiro centre most evenings by taxi, 5-6 euros each way, we did walk into Carvoeiro one evening and it took us about 50 mins at a leisurely pace, quite a steep hill so easier option to walk down than uphill back to resort. There is a very small mini mart on site but we took a taxi one evening to a large supermarket in Lagoa, there are ones closer by but were shut by the time we arrived. (majority shut at 9am)
Would definitely return for another long weekend break, not sure there would be enough to do for any longer without access to a car.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kittyf75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,075 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 476 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just returned from a week here. Beautiful, clean, spacious grounds with lots of ponds containing frogs- great fun to listen to and try and spot. The accommodation was great. In the style of a house with a winding staircase in marble; downstairs toilet, full kitchen with enough crockery and cutlery, washer/ dryer ( which takes over 4 hours, not great really). You will need a dishcloth and washing up liquid or dishwasher tablets plus clothes detergent. The cooker takes a bit of working out but works very well and the large fridge and freezer is excellent.There is large table with 6 chairs in the open plan area plus a small table with 2 chairs in kitchen area. 2 comfy sofas, wall mounted tv and drawers/ sideboard provided. Outside is a patio area with chairs. Upstairs is a large bedroom area with king size bed, which is very hard; wall mounted tv; dressing area with 2 large wardrobes plus en suite bathroom with bath and separate shower. Outside is a balcony with 2 chairs which had a glorious view of the pool area and lovely sunsets.
Negative points: a handle, which are very small anyway, had come off one wardrobe door which made it hard to use. This could easily be replaced.
The air con had to be reset by staff, so the first night was very cold upstairs as all floors are tiled with marble and only a rug.
The shower is useless as the water power is too strong for the shower head which swivels it round and is impossible to keep it in same place. Also the whole shower kept sliding down the fitting as it would not tighten up. The shower also leaked every time flooding the floor and thee is evidence of water damage on the door frames and inside the water heating cupboard. This will soon be a big problem if not tackled.

The tv can pick up bbc2, itv and itv2 which is quite good.
The cleaners came every day, replacing towels which did not need doing, so the sign talking about wasting water etc was a bit pointless!
The staff on reception are pleasant, friendly and helpful.
It was too cold to use the tempting looking swimming pool but we did the use the inside one which was warm. A handrail on the steps into the pool would be useful, especially for the disabled or elderly. The jacuzzi was also very pleasant.
Breakfast was basic but good enough for us with cereals, yogurts, croissants, fresh juice, hot drinks from a machine, bread to toast yourself, fruit etc. the cooked breakfast which was self serve was not too good with scrambled egg that looked like it was from powdered egg, undercooked bacon, beans and salami style sausage. The staff were on the ball and friendly.
Car parking is plentiful but the system is one way so it is a long way round if staying in the lower numbered units. It is necessary to have a car as the resort is a long way from town, which is very nice with its beach, shops and cafes. Please do not leave anything in your car at any time, not even in the boot ( see my review on Algar Seco).
There is an Italian restaurant open from 6.30 til 10 pm approx 2 mins walk from the resort- turn left out of the gate and follow the road -which is ok but not brilliant.
There are dogs walking about everywhere in the algarve on their own and we were followed back from the restaurant one night right up to our door. It is best not to encourage them as they may not be as friendly as they seem!
Overall a very good time was had, shame the weather was not better, and the resort is worth booking into, especially for the great deals that can be found.

Room Tip: Get a lower number unit; ours was number 4, as they are closer to reception and the breakfast area o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ELAINE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

My partner and i have stayed here twice, the second time didn't live up to the first, but still we enjoyed our stay and will be returning next year, having a year off this year.
The villas are spacious, excellent design and spotlessly clean. They contain everything you need for a self catering holiday. The aircon system is dodgy and we had to keep re-fusing the boxes to make it work - not ideal or safe!!
Carvoeiro is a small town with some lovely restaurants, very pleasant to wonder round, but you need a taxi back up the hill to vale da lapa.
It seems to us that the idea was to sell the villas privately but due to the down turn in property market they decided to turn it into a "hotel". The breakfast/evening meal room is small and breakfast service is poor. Breakfast is the same every day and choice is minimal. The first year we got waiter service and fresh coffee, the second year the waitress disappeared and coffee was from a machine. Evening meal is over priced - better to try the restaurants in the village. There was only two of us staying so the second bedroom door had been locked by the hotel to stop us using it, pretty tight if you ask me, especially since there is a lovely sunrise from the locked room!!
The pool area is nice but second time round it required some maintenance such as weeding and grouting. The steam room and sauna aren't permanently on. I waited half an hour for a member of staff to appear to switch it on for me. Unacceptable.
The location is really peaceful and pretty, no children, just what we required. The other issues are minor but still worth noting and made our second visit not as memorable as the first. That said we will return and give it another chance.
Grab yourself a hire car and visit some of the beautiful surrounding villages.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poopys-mam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldicot, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was our second trip to Carvoeiro, but our first stay at Vale da Lapa. The family suite we had was very spacious, contained all the items you need for a self catering holiday and was very clean . The complex itself is very good with nice pool areas, bar and restaurant. The staff were welcoming, very helpful and polite. All in all Vale de Lapa is very good and we will be returning.

Room Tip: Family suites are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

The suites are little duplex villas. They are very well equipped. My only gripes are that they were maybe too big for the maids to give a thorough clean, I found they only did what was in reach, and also there are so many switches for different things, and they are not even near what they are for! We did not eat in the hotel, partly because of previous reviews (and the cost!) and also because there is so much in Carvoeiro and it was nice to stay in! The receptionists were helpful. Be warned the robes are one size fits all! Hilarious! We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Lower numbers are closer to the main 'clubhouse' for breakfast, pool etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank reallyfussy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
0.7 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
10.8 mi away
Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort
14.9 mi away
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA

Property: Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA
Address: Estrada das Sesmarias, Carvoeiro 8400-535, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#5 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
#5 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid extensive landscaped gardens and manmade ponds, this 5-star resort offers luxurious villas with free wired internet. It boasts an on-site 9-hole putting green and, outdoor pools and a Spa. All apartments are situated in 2-storey duplex villas that feature modern and stylish decor. Each unit has a large living room and a bedroom with a high ceiling and balcony. There is also a full kitchen. At Vale Da Lapa, guests can enjoy the exclusive clubhouse featuring a design restaurant and bar with outdoor terrace. Guests can sample regional flavours and carefully selected local products. Agua Hotels Vale Da Lapa also boasts a jogging trail, 2 paddle tennis courts, and a multi-use astroturf pitch. Children can have fun at the play area and children's pool. Vale Da Lapa Hotel has a private entrance to the neighbouring tennis club and several golf courses can be found in its vicinity. Caneiros and Carvoeiro beaches are less than 5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale Da Lapa Resort & Spa Hotel Carvoeiro
Vale Da Lapa Resort And Spa
Vale Da Lapa Resort & SPA Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing