We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Mirachoro Praia(Carvoeiro)(Great Value!)
$93
$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Pestana Golf Resort Gramacho(Carvoeiro)(Great Value!)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$158
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tivoli Carvoeiro(Carvoeiro)
$221
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pestana Palm Gardens(Carvoeiro)(Great Value!)
$100
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Quinta dos Oliveiras(Carvoeiro)(Great Value!)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Carvoeiro Hotel(Carvoeiro)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (823)
Filter reviews
823 results
Traveler rating
414
284
89
20
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
414
284
89
20
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeluxe suitedressing areaelectric shuttersdownstairs toiletall inclusive packagesecond bedroomself cateringpool areaa la carte menusteam roommain bedroomdishwasher tabletsfully equipped kitchentennis clubgames roomhalf boardreception staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
382 - 387 of 823 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I would certainly say this place is a 4/5*. We found the accomodation to very good in the villa we had, when we opened the door we realised it was better than our place at home :-( It seemed perfectly clean during our stay in the villa and was cleaned most days i think so we have no complaints there. staff were pretty good and helpful, the waiter did give a slight look of 'disgust' when we said we were all inclusive but maybe i read too much into that - he was not rude and neither were other staff, most were perfectly ameniable and friendly. Food was fine for us (note we are not exceptionally fussy people), sure after 7 days it gets a bit the same, but that's life - it was still good. Quiet area as others have noted, if this is a problem for you don't go there, it was not a negative for us, we had a hire car or walked into town. All in all would recommed and go back happily. hard beds though

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KoScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This resort is not 5* as it is it made out to be. I and 2 friends booked one of the town houses which is a 2 bed for 5 days. On arrival we were told that it needed to be cleaned but we could enter the place. The decor of the place is modern and had a comfortable feel. The cleaner arrived to clean the place but only did a quick wipe. There were food stains still on the carpet and rice, dead flies were on the window sill. I had to phone and go to reception all in all 3 times before our place was properly cleaned. I was willing to hoover the place myself. The cleaner made the excuse that the second bedroom is hardly occupied and that is why the dead flies went unmissed. However the resort knew that I an my friends were coming so why was the place not thoroughly cleaned beforehand? Once the place was cleaned, we felt at home. We went half board and cooked in the kitchen for lunch. If you plan on cooking you will have to buy essentials such as a sponge, washing up liquid, tea/ coffee. The resort have a little shop but it is pricey and there is not much to buy. We took a taxi to a nearby grocery store which has everything and cost us around 12 euros return with the same driver.

With regards to food breakfast was a standard buffet. You can order scrambled, boiled, or fried egg. Omelettes were not available, but it was previously said it was. Bacon, beans, sausages, bread, croissants, cake, fruits,cereale and yoghurt are available. The hot food is more like luke warm, but it was nice to have a some options. Dinner unfortunately was not up to scratch. There is was a lack of seasoning in the meats and the overall flavour in the meal was hardly there. However there is a bar menu which serves pizzas and burgers which had more of a taste.
The menu could have more of a variety also especially if you are there for more than 2 days.

With regards to the facilities I only used the spa. The treatment was nice but I did not use the facilities. The spa looks slightly run down with the decor which was a shame as I like to relax at the spa after a treatment. Instead I just had the treatment and left.

With regards to the location if you can hire a car that might be useful and less expensive. We didn't want to get lost so took a taxi. A taxi is useful for going into nearby places such as carvoeiro where there are shops and the beach. We couldn't relax at the beach as January is slightly cold, so we just went sightseeing and shopping, or relaxed in our house watching dvds, so that was good enough for us.

Overall we had a lovely holiday, and although the service could have been better, some members of staff made us feel very welcome. The young waiter at the bar was especially helpful and the receptionists. Little things such as a cleaner house, better quality of food, and wifi in the rooms instead of just at reception, would push the resort up to 4*-5* quality.

Room Tip: rooms 1-9 for town houses would put you at a short distance to walk to reception.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This place was pretty amazing, the Villas you stay in is diffidently 5 star, there were not many people there when we were due to out of season but was still very nice and peaceful. the villas were very large and modern, the bed was too hard for me but that would be the only fault in the Villas, also if you have a large group make sure not to take long showers at the same time or a bath as the water cylinder wont handle it, also make sure you get a low number as they are the ones close to the pool/restaurant. You would need a car if you wanted to get anywhere at your own leisure there is not much in walking distance, however they do offer some tours at reasonable prices to the markets etc. the staff were always friendly and helpful, at times service could be a bit slow when it got busier. The food was very nice but they needed to change the menu more, also i think we were getting the snack menu for lunch times maybe because it was so quiet. The beer ran out on tap at one point but they were very apologetic and bottled was offered, I think was just bad timing due to the time of year (Christmas) as took few days to get more in. Christmas eve dinner and lunch was very nice, I wish they had some entertainment because while we were there for 2 weeks there was none. The indoor swimming pool and gym were kept clean and was nice however be prepared to be kicked out occasionally if you dont have a swimcap, and the outdoor pool needed to be heated as it was freezing but if you dont mind that was very nice pool. Apart from the bad it was a very great place and i would diff visit again if i was in that part of Portugal was great value for money and a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: All Villas are amazing and the Suites aswell, try get a low room number on the Villas to be close to pool and restaurant
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vampslayer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at vale da lapa for 10 nights between 22nd dec and 1st Jan. There was 8 of us in our party. As has been mentioned accommodation is of excellent standard and could not be faulted. We did enjoy food and the evening meal is waiter service which we liked. Yes at times we would of liked more choice but there was something for everybody on the menu and we didn't go hungry. Kids menu too. Wine of good quality and we even took bottles back to villa to enjoy there.
Staff were just brilliant and a big thank you to the waiters who looked after us during our stay. They treated us very well and remembered drinks we ordered ect..... It was the little touches that we thought were nice and this made us feel comfortable. Ana was very helpful and friendly, nothing a problem, anything you asked for she would go out of her way to help in fact all the staff were like this. A big thank you to them all!!!!! They worked very hard.
Unfortunately our youngest son was ill when we were away and needed medical assistance. The staff on reception guided and assisted us on ringing the doctors and making an appointment, again very helpful to us as they knew how worried we were. We needed to stay a few extra days as our son was not fit to fly home, we asked to stay and they were very helpful in assisting us. Every day asking how he was and was there anything they could do!!! During our extra stay we were very well looked after by the waiters ( the rest of our party went home as did our other son). Staff faultless.
Spa fine. I had a back massage and that was very nice.
As mentioned the meals are set times but we sometimes ordered our lunches at 2.30 and they were still happy to serve us.
Weather very nice. No shuttle bus so we walked to beach on day and got taxis other times. Would of been nice to have a shuttle on. Yes it is out of way of main town but we explored on our own and this is something that does not bother us. If your looking for a party atmosphere I wouldn't recommend you staying here. We like quiet so it suited us.
We were room 71 which is quite away from the main building but the walk was nice. So if you have mobility issues I would suggest asking for a suite near restaurant, reception ect...
Xmas and new year were great. Excellent NYE party and the food was very nice.
We would like to return again and are looking to book next Easter or Christmas. I would recommend vale da lapa

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank CHAMINOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Ideal hotel to refresh the body and soul. Very quiet place, perfect to an amazing holidays.
Very clean, has a heat bathroom´s floor and the a/c is perfect.
We have stay on a 2 floor apartment with kitchen, 2 bathrooms (suite), a giant room with two terrace.
We´ve stay for 2 nights for the new years eve and it was a magnificent time.
The staff was very kind and helpfull.
The location could be better because we need a car to go anywhere, but that´s why is so calm and quiet. Excellent relation quality/price.
The spa is very good and the staff let feel at home.
I will return, that´s for shore.

Room Tip: The incredible suites on the left when you enter in the hotel area, are very sunny.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Filipe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews