We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort but disappointed with the service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This resort is not 5* as it is it made out to be. I and 2 friends booked one of the town houses which is a 2 bed for 5 days. On arrival we were told that it needed to be cleaned but we could enter the place. The decor of the place is modern and had a comfortable feel. The cleaner arrived to clean the place but only did a quick wipe. There were food stains still on the carpet and rice, dead flies were on the window sill. I had to phone and go to reception all in all 3 times before our place was properly cleaned. I was willing to hoover the place myself. The cleaner made the excuse that the second bedroom is hardly occupied and that is why the dead flies went unmissed. However the resort knew that I an my friends were coming so why was the place not thoroughly cleaned beforehand? Once the place was cleaned, we felt at home. We went half board and cooked in the kitchen for lunch. If you plan on cooking you will have to buy essentials such as a sponge, washing up liquid, tea/ coffee. The resort have a little shop but it is pricey and there is not much to buy. We took a taxi to a nearby grocery store which has everything and cost us around 12 euros return with the same driver.

With regards to food breakfast was a standard buffet. You can order scrambled, boiled, or fried egg. Omelettes were not available, but it was previously said it was. Bacon, beans, sausages, bread, croissants, cake, fruits,cereale and yoghurt are available. The hot food is more like luke warm, but it was nice to have a some options. Dinner unfortunately was not up to scratch. There is was a lack of seasoning in the meats and the overall flavour in the meal was hardly there. However there is a bar menu which serves pizzas and burgers which had more of a taste.
The menu could have more of a variety also especially if you are there for more than 2 days.

With regards to the facilities I only used the spa. The treatment was nice but I did not use the facilities. The spa looks slightly run down with the decor which was a shame as I like to relax at the spa after a treatment. Instead I just had the treatment and left.

With regards to the location if you can hire a car that might be useful and less expensive. We didn't want to get lost so took a taxi. A taxi is useful for going into nearby places such as carvoeiro where there are shops and the beach. We couldn't relax at the beach as January is slightly cold, so we just went sightseeing and shopping, or relaxed in our house watching dvds, so that was good enough for us.

Overall we had a lovely holiday, and although the service could have been better, some members of staff made us feel very welcome. The young waiter at the bar was especially helpful and the receptionists. Little things such as a cleaner house, better quality of food, and wifi in the rooms instead of just at reception, would push the resort up to 4*-5* quality.

Room Tip: rooms 1-9 for town houses would put you at a short distance to walk to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

378 - 384 of 805 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

This place was pretty amazing, the Villas you stay in is diffidently 5 star, there were not many people there when we were due to out of season but was still very nice and peaceful. the villas were very large and modern, the bed was too hard for me but that would be the only fault in the Villas, also if you have a large group make sure not to take long showers at the same time or a bath as the water cylinder wont handle it, also make sure you get a low number as they are the ones close to the pool/restaurant. You would need a car if you wanted to get anywhere at your own leisure there is not much in walking distance, however they do offer some tours at reasonable prices to the markets etc. the staff were always friendly and helpful, at times service could be a bit slow when it got busier. The food was very nice but they needed to change the menu more, also i think we were getting the snack menu for lunch times maybe because it was so quiet. The beer ran out on tap at one point but they were very apologetic and bottled was offered, I think was just bad timing due to the time of year (Christmas) as took few days to get more in. Christmas eve dinner and lunch was very nice, I wish they had some entertainment because while we were there for 2 weeks there was none. The indoor swimming pool and gym were kept clean and was nice however be prepared to be kicked out occasionally if you dont have a swimcap, and the outdoor pool needed to be heated as it was freezing but if you dont mind that was very nice pool. Apart from the bad it was a very great place and i would diff visit again if i was in that part of Portugal was great value for money and a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: All Villas are amazing and the Suites aswell, try get a low room number on the Villas to be close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vampslayer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at vale da lapa for 10 nights between 22nd dec and 1st Jan. There was 8 of us in our party. As has been mentioned accommodation is of excellent standard and could not be faulted. We did enjoy food and the evening meal is waiter service which we liked. Yes at times we would of liked more choice but there was something for everybody on the menu and we didn't go hungry. Kids menu too. Wine of good quality and we even took bottles back to villa to enjoy there.
Staff were just brilliant and a big thank you to the waiters who looked after us during our stay. They treated us very well and remembered drinks we ordered ect..... It was the little touches that we thought were nice and this made us feel comfortable. Ana was very helpful and friendly, nothing a problem, anything you asked for she would go out of her way to help in fact all the staff were like this. A big thank you to them all!!!!! They worked very hard.
Unfortunately our youngest son was ill when we were away and needed medical assistance. The staff on reception guided and assisted us on ringing the doctors and making an appointment, again very helpful to us as they knew how worried we were. We needed to stay a few extra days as our son was not fit to fly home, we asked to stay and they were very helpful in assisting us. Every day asking how he was and was there anything they could do!!! During our extra stay we were very well looked after by the waiters ( the rest of our party went home as did our other son). Staff faultless.
Spa fine. I had a back massage and that was very nice.
As mentioned the meals are set times but we sometimes ordered our lunches at 2.30 and they were still happy to serve us.
Weather very nice. No shuttle bus so we walked to beach on day and got taxis other times. Would of been nice to have a shuttle on. Yes it is out of way of main town but we explored on our own and this is something that does not bother us. If your looking for a party atmosphere I wouldn't recommend you staying here. We like quiet so it suited us.
We were room 71 which is quite away from the main building but the walk was nice. So if you have mobility issues I would suggest asking for a suite near restaurant, reception ect...
Xmas and new year were great. Excellent NYE party and the food was very nice.
We would like to return again and are looking to book next Easter or Christmas. I would recommend vale da lapa

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank CHAMINOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Ideal hotel to refresh the body and soul. Very quiet place, perfect to an amazing holidays.
Very clean, has a heat bathroom´s floor and the a/c is perfect.
We have stay on a 2 floor apartment with kitchen, 2 bathrooms (suite), a giant room with two terrace.
We´ve stay for 2 nights for the new years eve and it was a magnificent time.
The staff was very kind and helpfull.
The location could be better because we need a car to go anywhere, but that´s why is so calm and quiet. Excellent relation quality/price.
The spa is very good and the staff let feel at home.
I will return, that´s for shore.

Room Tip: The incredible suites on the left when you enter in the hotel area, are very sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Filipe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have returned from holiday today and we have really enjoyed our stay however, there are a few problems at this place. I agree with other travellers comments you do need a car or you will be bored it is very rural and the "hotel" entertainment is non existent even on Christmas day. The food is limited and is not really all inclusive as we know it, there are set meal times and you cant get food outside of these times. It was sometimes difficult to get a drink as the bar is not always manned and my husband had to go to reception to ask them to get someone to serve which was annoying and the staff definitely are going to serve you when they want too and not when you want. The draft beer ran out on the 23rd December and there was no draft until 27th December management not too good. The villas are lovely and 5 star however the cleaners are not too fussy and I had to sweep all the pubic hairs up on the floor into a pile for them to realise this needed attending too and the beds are the hardest I have ever tried to sleep on. Do not expect a 5 star hotel service because you wont get it. There was no courtesy bus as stated in our brochure. Our camera was stolen from the bar however we believe this was and English guest that helped themselves to it. Anja was very helpful and friendly.
This all sounds negative but despite all of the above we had a really nice time and it is ideal for anyone who just wants a very quiet holiday.

Room Tip: All villas are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doneplumbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Spacious 5* town house, clean and modern with every facility for family life. Staff friendly and helpful. Service good. 2 bedrooms, and open plan lounge/kitchen dining area, 2 balconies. Excellent a/c and heaters in villa. Winter sunshine was wonderful. Breakfast excellent. Dinner good but menu could be improved. Wifi intermittent at times in villa. SPA looked tired, however we used it every day swimming in the heated pool and the gym was satisfactory. We were invited to the staff Christmas Party which was excellent, people so friendly. Location was isolated, so a hire car is a must. Fantastic cliffs and coast and beaches nearby and local towns were local fishing villages. Out of season, it was very peaceful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Spacious accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We went to Vale De Lapa all inclusive for our 6 year anniversary, we were treated like royalty! Sparkling wine, and chocolate dipped strawberry in our fridge for when we arrived. The villas were very clean, and spacious, it was like a home from home!

Staff VERY VERY friendly and helpful.

Only thing letting this place down is the food, it was awful! Breakfast was good, Lunch was terrible, bad selection and the food was like school canteen food! Dinner had a nice choice on the menu, but when the food came it was cold, tasteless, and poncy! It was a serious case of style over substance, if they concentrated a bit more on doing a few dishes well, it would be much better.

The spa was ok, a bit run down and not quite as luxurious as I was hoping for.

Not sure if I would visit this place again, it was kind of in the middle of nowhere and there wasn't much to do. Alright for a chilled holiday by the pool and boozing!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
0.7 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
3,586 reviews
2 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#4 of 18 in Carvoeiro
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 18 in Carvoeiro
760 reviews
20.6 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
17.3 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA

Address: Estrada das Sesmarias, Carvoeiro 8400-535, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
#4 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#5 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range: $73 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid extensive landscaped gardens and manmade ponds, this 5-star resort offers luxurious villas with free wired internet. It boasts an on-site 9-hole putting green and, outdoor pools and a Spa. All apartments are situated in 2-storey duplex villas that feature modern and stylish decor. Each unit has a large living room and a bedroom with a high ceiling and balcony. There is also a full kitchen. At Vale Da Lapa, guests can enjoy the exclusive clubhouse featuring a design restaurant and bar with outdoor terrace. Guests can sample regional flavours and carefully selected local products. Agua Hotels Vale Da Lapa also boasts a jogging trail, 2 paddle tennis courts, and a multi-use astroturf pitch. Children can have fun at the play area and children's pool. Vale Da Lapa Hotel has a private entrance to the neighbouring tennis club and several golf courses can be found in its vicinity. Caneiros and Carvoeiro beaches are less than 5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale Da Lapa Resort & Spa Hotel Carvoeiro
Vale Da Lapa Resort And Spa
Vale Da Lapa Resort & SPA Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing