We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday in a wonderful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed for one week at Vale d'oliveiras resort and spa. With two young children (8 and 4) we felt the resort ticked every box. The whole resort was very beautiful from the minute you drove through the drive way, it was all extremely well kept and maintained. The reception area was warm and friendly and we were checked in by a lovely lady who explained every bit of the resort to us in a most welcoming way. The townhouse we stayed in had a pool view and was stunning. So clean and so much space. Two bathrooms, large living area and balcony, fully equipped kitchen. The resort had the flexibility of offering self catering (as we were) but the benefits of a 5 star hotel, so new towels were brought daily, beds were turned down etc. The pool area and bar were fantastic, pool towels provided so you don't need to take your own (unless you plan to visit the beaches). The Jasmine Bar offered lunches and evening entertainment (Potugese BBQ) which was well worth the visit. Our children were made to feel very welcome but as adults we felt equally looked after. Our children were not interested in visiting the kids club but there is one on sight that is near to the pool area so children are not far away, I think daily activities were provided. An on site play area was also lovely for children to meet new friends and swing or climb! The Olive Tree restaurant was very nice, delicious food and Portugese Rose is fantastic to try.
The whole experience was just fantastic and we are planning on returning already with friends.
If you wish to get out and about (which is well worth doing) then a hire car is essential as you can't walk anywhere. Villamoura is beautiful with a great crazy gold course for the whole family (and great ice cream).
The water park Slide and Splash is only 10 mins from the resort when driving and was a fun day out.
Would highly recommend this resort to anyone travelling with young children who are looking to relax, be pampered and ensure your children are safe and happy. Thank you for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Townhouse with pool view was stunning and worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale O, Front Office Manager at Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Naomi,

I was delighted to read your review and thank you especially for taking the time to post it on TripAdvisor after your recent stay.

Your feedback on the service and facilities is invaluable and much appreciated.

I hope to welcome you back to Vale d’Oliveiras soon again.

With kind regards,

Karen Steenken
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,087)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

576 - 582 of 1,087 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

Firstly if you are hiring a car with sat nav ensure it is an up to date one. I spent over an hour at Goldencar to get a sat nav to recognize the address.
On finally arriving the resort is beautifully landscaped and a warm welcome from the receptionist. The two bedroom town house was spotlessly clean, furnishings were fine but not to 5 star standard. Poorly equipped kitchen. The outside garden furniture is of a high standard and very comfortable. Peace was shattered each day by constant garden maintenance.
I had breakfast in the restaurant on the first day and the hot food was stone cold. I did not eat there again. I had room service in the evenings and the food ranged from poor to disgusting.
The pool bar was pleasant for coffee and lunch with charming staff. Not enough privacy for me in the outside areas of the townhouse with a very loud family next. This resort is a strange mixture of hotel, town houses for holidays and owned property. I did not feel it worked. I would definitely not go back. However the spa is lovely and the treatments were of a good standard.

Room Tip: Can only comment on the two bedroom townhouse,nice and spacious. I had a garden view which was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at your lovely Resort from 17th June for 10 day/nights.

Thank you to all the staff from front desk, breakfast, dinner, pool bar, maids, all very friendly.

We have only ever stayed in 4/5* Hotels and found Service excellent, but would only ever stay in Town House next time. Was nice to wake up and walk on to patio area and chill. !!!
Did find it to be a little out of town but we still enjoyed it.
And then to finish off our Holiday when checking in for are flight to Return home, was some of the LFC PLAYERS they hade been Playing Golf for Stevie G Charity. So came home with our Lovely Players, and Wished CARRA all the best with SKY !!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LIVERPOOLEDWARD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale O, Front Office Manager at Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Vale d’Oliveiras.
It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed the service and I would like to thank you for your kind words.

We look forward to hopefully welcome you back to Vale d’Oliveiras in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Karen Steenken
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Two hundred and fifty plus Tripadvisor reviews and four and a half green blobs? Book it! If it’s got the facilities and the area and price is right for you then go for it: - It’s fine. Fifty minutes from Faro Airport. In the country, overlooking lush golf course.

Last year, but two weeks correspondingly earlier than this year, we took one of their hotels rooms for about £400. [See review] This year we booked what was described by Travel Republic as a “Villa. One bed room town house garden view. Self catering” for £800. Tut tut Travel Republic. Villa? It was a one bedroomed end of terrace bungalow. But a very nice one. We made a snap decision not to complain. [Maybe we should have asked for some money back.] We were happy with what we saw and it was worth the money.

The good points in my last review I think still apply to the complex. Immaculate. Didn’t use the spa or the restaurant. Did use the pool though. Although by the pool two basic small drinks, one a lemonade with lime the other a fresh orange, carton I think, was 7.70 euros. On our first day at the pool, of about twenty to twenty five people sunbathing only three of us had drinks. Speaks for itself. No one drinking at the bar. The bar man wasn’t typical of the other hotel staff either. It was also hot, thirty-four degrees [every day actually].

The spacious design means the complex is a peaceful place even when more than half full. The clientele seemed on the whole quiet, professional people, some with small children.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PYAshington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

just overall amazing! Clean, friendly, spacious, perfect 5 star facilities, couldn't fault anything. The food in the restaurant is gorgeous and there is a great choice of restaurants near the resort in carvoeiro town. The pool bar is handy for lunch and they have a barbecue once a week which is great value. Will definitely be back, I love it and recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: apartment with pool view is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale O, Front Office Manager at Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Anna,

Thank you for taking the time to give such positive feedback on your recent stay at Vale d’Oliveiras. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to experience the Restaurant and Pool Bar.

I look forward to sharing your feedback with our team and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Vale d’Oliveiras.

Kindest regards,

Karen Steenken
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Suggestions especially for the apartment

a welcome pack with a couple of tea bags/sachets of coffee & sugar/sachets of milk would be really appreciated. If a travel lodge can...

wifi is available but a router is needed to provide that - make sure the router is in the apartment before the arrival of new guests.

3 guests staying in an apartment but robes laid out for only 2...

5* generally provide slippers

Shuttle bus 30 mins late to take guests into town

Asked more than twice for an extra pillow.

Although a few negatives - this is a beautiful resort. Just not quite the 5* advertised. Saying that, I checked on here before booking so knew what to expect. These are the examples which stop me rating this resort as a 5*

Room Tip: Terrace on the apartments are more open at the end of the apartment corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnushkaObi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale O, Gerente at Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to read that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us.

With regards to your observations, please note that we provide routers in all our apartments.
However, unfortunately some guests take them home (even if they are fixed on the wall).
Our team tries to identify each situation, however this is not always possible.

We completely agree with our comments about the slippers, extra pillow and bathrobes.
As a 5 star resort we aim for the attention to the detail. Therefore we will discuss this with all teams.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Eduardo Peregrino
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I recently had a 15 day holiday at Vale d’Oliveiras Hotel and enjoyed it so much that we are considering booking it again for our 2014 holiday. Our room was in the hotel block and we had a lovely large terrace with our own sunbeds. The room itself was very clean and the bed linen was of the highest quality as were the towels in the bathroom. Both were changed very regularly. Having one’s own safe, without any additional charge, in the bedroom afforded us peace of mind as we left all our valuables in it when we went on various trips outside of the resort. Unlike some safes, which we have in the past encountered, it was also very simple to operate.
The resort itself is really lovely set in its beautiful well maintained gardens with its attractive swimming pool and adjoining children’s pool. There were always ample numbers of sunbeds around the pool.
The health club was very well equipped and my wife made full use of the heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. She also very much enjoyed the facilities offered in the spa, which she maintains were of the highest standards.
We were on a half board basis and very much enjoyed our breakfasts where a tremendous variety of excellent food was offered. In the evenings the daily menu offered a reasonable selection and if you so wished, for a few extra euros, one could choose from the a la carte menu. We found the standard of food of a very high quality, especially some of the desserts; in particular we remember the “flaming volcano”!
The staff were extremely helpful, what some of them lacked in experience, they amply made up for in their pleasant attitude and willingness to go out of their way to please.
Altogether, a lovely holiday, just what the doctor ordered.

Room Tip: I am not going to advise the best rooms otherwise everybody will want them and I might not be able t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
2.5 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
3,621 reviews
1.2 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 18 in Carvoeiro
765 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#4 of 18 in Carvoeiro
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
21.1 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
17.1 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa

Address: Barranco Fundo | Lagoa, Algarve, Carvoeiro 8400-553, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
#1 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range: $81 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are on a family break, golf trip or incentive travel, our goal is always to surpass your expectations! Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa is an elegant 5-star hotel and resort with 22 rooms, 2 suites and 80 townhouses. With an exceptional location, only 5 minutes from Carvoeiro and Ferragudo and close to some of the finest beaches and golf courses, Vale d'Oliveiras is a unique place to relax and discover the best of the Algarve! All rooms and townhouses are fully equipped with the highest quality fixtures and fittings and are designed to provide all the comfort you may need, whether you are on a leisure or business trip. The Monchique hills and Gramacho golf courses are the backdrop to this magnificent landscape. In addition, the resort has an abundance of stunning gardens carefully framed by the surrounding landscape. The traditional local architecture with Moorish influences provides a calm and tranquil environment. The hotel has a typical but striking interior courtyard complemented by Moorish arches and tiles designed by local artists. The low density construction integrates you fully into the landscape, making our townhouses the ideal choice for families with children or for long-term holidays. All have a typical Algarve chimney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale d`Oliveiras Quinta Hotel Carvoeiro
Vale d`Oliveiras Quinta Resort And Spa
Vale D'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing