We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2012

This is a lovely hotel, deserving of its 5-star status.
The staff are friendly, and helpful.
The rooms are clean & spacious.
It is not walking distance from the beach or any towns
The nearest town is Carvoeiro which is pretty quiet. There is a hotel shuttle bus to this town, to Ferragudo & to the nearest beaches.
Portimao is further away - you need a car or taxi.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,085)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

716 - 722 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2012

Stayed here with my wife for a week in December. It was a pretty quiet time with hardly anyone around but we loved it just fine. Amazingly there always seemed to be a member of staff present in every section of the resort we went to.
Had to use the indoor pool area cos the outdoor pool was bait cold. The indoor pool was always heated and the sauna and jacuzzi were really top notch. Biggest regret is not getting to use the fantastic spa which had just been extensively renovated when we got there.
The restaurant is a tinny bit expensive but we really enjoyed the food, went there several times and the staff are quite friendly. I don't rate the breakfast though.
If you're going to stay here you definitely need a car cos the resort is a bit isolated. Carvoeiro, Portimao and Faragudo are all nice places to visit. We especially enjoyed the Museum in Portimao which we found by accident!
Highly recommend this place for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eni4real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We have just retruned from a 10 day stay at Vale D'Oliveiras with our 9 month old daughter. The apartment was fantastic. With a 9 month old things don't stay clean very long so we made good use of the washing machine. The kitchen was fine for cooking in although there were a lack of cooking utensils. As many restaurants didn't open for dinner until 6.30pm we usually ate in the apartment as our daughter goes to bed between 6 and 7pm.

The resort was nice. The staff were very friendly and loved speaking to our daughter who was entertained by everything they did. As the resort was quiet the staff were relaxed and were able to spend time playign with her.

The resort wasn't that big so I imagine that in the middle of summer it would get really busy and probably wouldn't be as enjoyable. We didn't use the outdoor pool as it was too cold but we did make use of the indoor pool. The indoor pool was supposed to be heated but it didn't feel like it was. The jacuzzi was only lukewarm as well, more like a bath with some bubbles than a jacuzzi. Also it was mandatory to wear a swimming cap which you had to buy. We were only in the pool for 10 minutes witho our daughter so I opted just to sit and watch. I felt the indoor pool is supposed to be more of a spa pool than just an indoor pool.

If going I would advise anyone to hire a car as the resort is a little bit out of the way, which was nice, but to get places a car is required!!

Food was good at breakfast but was a bit repetitive as they always had the same choices. We had dinner once which was enjoyable we would have liked to go back as there was plenty appatising things on the menu. We only managed once because of our daughter but we probably wouldn't have gone back as we felt it was a little bit overpriced for what it was. The food was lovely but nothing special.

Overall it was an enjoyable, we like the resort and the staff. We would go back and recommend to friends but would advise people to go in the off season.

Room Tip: Apartment gives adequate space and facilities especially with a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed this summer for a week. Upon arrival the hotel is well positioned, well designed and our room was well sized.

It is hard to review this hotel as there are many good points but also some very average experiences we had compared to other 5* hotels we have stayed at.

The restaurant is too large and feels very empty when you are sat there. A serious lack of atmosphere is couple by very average food. Breakfast is "ok" but hot food left to sit for over an hour is not ideal. We decided to eat in the much acclaimed restaurant one evening - We were both disappointed by the food and it was our most expensive meal by far on the holiday (The Peri Peri chicken the night before in Guia for £20 was incredible)! The food lacked decent flavour, the steak was chewy and when the waiter took my mostly untouched plate away was not interested as to why it was uneaten.

There are too many factors that keep this from being close to a 5* hotel, the staff are not as attentive as they need to be, the food is lacking and the general set up of the hotel is more akin to a 4* set up.

This said, it is clean and well priced for a decent holiday in Portugal.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michaelknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

5 star luxury. 10 days in early November was far too short. Accommodation is very comfortable and facilities are excellent. Nearby two well established golf courses provide a good challenge whilst for non-golfing ladies the new shopping centre in Portimao will entertain them for many hours. The Olive Tree restaraunt is top class for both breakfast and dinner with excellent service.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NevDaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

The resort has that ultimate characteristic called "WOW." Apartments are spacious with all the facilities you want in a self catering situation plus the option of dining out in a restaurant about 2 minutes away. They do have various offers to tempt you. It has all the facilities you would expect from a 5 Star resort.

Room Tip: If you want a pool view try to get an upstairs apartment because it is less obtrusive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ianh1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Everything you need for a wonderful relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: All areas are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swifty-senior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
2.5 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
3,608 reviews
1.2 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 18 in Carvoeiro
765 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#4 of 18 in Carvoeiro
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
21.1 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
17.1 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa

Address: Barranco Fundo | Lagoa, Algarve, Carvoeiro 8400-553, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#1 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range: $80 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are on a family break, golf trip or incentive travel, our goal is always to surpass your expectations! Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa is an elegant 5-star hotel and resort with 22 rooms, 2 suites and 80 townhouses. With an exceptional location, only 5 minutes from Carvoeiro and Ferragudo and close to some of the finest beaches and golf courses, Vale d'Oliveiras is a unique place to relax and discover the best of the Algarve! All rooms and townhouses are fully equipped with the highest quality fixtures and fittings and are designed to provide all the comfort you may need, whether you are on a leisure or business trip. The Monchique hills and Gramacho golf courses are the backdrop to this magnificent landscape. In addition, the resort has an abundance of stunning gardens carefully framed by the surrounding landscape. The traditional local architecture with Moorish influences provides a calm and tranquil environment. The hotel has a typical but striking interior courtyard complemented by Moorish arches and tiles designed by local artists. The low density construction integrates you fully into the landscape, making our townhouses the ideal choice for families with children or for long-term holidays. All have a typical Algarve chimney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale d`Oliveiras Quinta Hotel Carvoeiro
Vale d`Oliveiras Quinta Resort And Spa
Vale D'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing