We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best chicken piri - piri ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Fonte

A Fonte
Ranked #72 of 141 Restaurants in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best chicken piri - piri ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

I visit this village around 7 to 10 times a year. There are over 100 restaurants in and around the village. This is the only one I go to twice.
Great food - Great value
Simon - Brenda - Wendy & Graham

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    66
    24
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Local family run restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

If you want to get a good feel for real Portugese food made by locals for a good price, this is the restaurant for you. We had a lovely starter, cataplana dish with bread and a bottle of wine for under £30 for two of us.

The service wasn't the best we had experienced in Carvoeiro, however I can't complain about it either. The staff were friendly, just a bit on the slow side, but hey we were on holiday so it didn't matter. Plus the food was nice so it made up for it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great quiet place, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Visited it 3 times during the week. Food is really really good, fish soup was very tasty. We had pork chops, Portuguese steak, dourada, chicken piri-piri and fish cataplana. Everything was great except cataplana. It's not their best dish, it was rather small, but tasty. But the meat and fish of the day were amazing! Huge portions. reasonable prices, and very tasty. Service is decent, location is very quite.
It's not a restaurant, so вщтже expect a posh service. But the food is great!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GregoryAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The worst experience in Portugal”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Everything - from service to food - was terrible. First, we were waiting about 10 minutes to find a waiter and then 20 min to order. They mixed up our starters. Our first course (tomato soup) was served completely cold and wasn't tasty at all. To our surprise, the main course was cold as well and additionally burnt. Wine wasn't bad. In general, about 50 euro bill, still hungry and disappointed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank xtiin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dean and Tracey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

This was our first restaurant in Carveiro. We had the Prawn piri piri and garlic mushrooms to start which were enjoyable but expected the prawns to be hotter. We then shared the seafood rice which was wonderful

Helpful?
Thank Dean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Fonte also viewed

Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to A Fonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing