We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thieves”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Carvoeiro Sol
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Carvoeiro
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thieves”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

After staying twice a year for the past three years, we rated this hotel as our favourite but this last trip we felt that the hotel had changed, the usual staff were not there and it was being run by younger inexperienced staff. Hence, we went elsewhere for breakfast. Although cleanliness was not up to tip top standards we always took this into account as the hotel was in a prime situation and this was what we liked. However, on our last day my husbands telephone was stolen out of our room, we reported it to reception and then asked for the police as we needed an incident number for our insurance. Although the hotel agreed with us that it was a certain member of staff we were then made to feel that we were wrong and had misplaced the telephone. The police were totally useless and said the report would be ready at 10 pm 5 hrs after we reported it, my husband went to the station to be told that it wouldn't be ready for another 30mins when he then went for it 45mins later it still had not been done , he then waited another 30 mins for it to be completed. The police are totally useless and the hotel protected their staff even though they and the police were convinced who the culprit was.
After many happy times there we will never go there again as they have dumbed down on their staff and therefore they can never be trusted again
Go with extreme caution as they have now been allocated with 3stars as opposed to 4stars although the rooms and the service were not 4stars the staff were. CAUTION BEWARE of thieving .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahfjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Director of Sales at Hotel Carvoeiro Sol, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We are very sorry to read your review.

We apologise again for the fact that this incident occurred, and that you feel that the situation was not resolved in the correct manner.

We have recontacted the police, however, there is still no further information about your mobile phone. They advise us they will immediately contact us, and you, when some new information is available.

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    116
    55
    27
    19
See reviews for
36
150
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel pretends to be 4 star one as all inside is marked as 4 star and I've seen it on some adds too.
This hotel might be hardly rated as 3 star one.
Going there we've been aware that it has only 3 stars, but didn't expect what we've experienced.

On the positive side, on the first night when we've arrived, we've been warmly welcomed by youngest receptionist. Such great level of service hasn't been seen by me even at 5 star hotels.

Now, going to more details, if you count on breakfast at the hotel, forget it. It ought to be English breakfast, but it's tasteless and even orange juice doesn't have a taste. It's like orange water and far to the taste of nectar or whatsoever. Same is with rest of breakfast. Cheese only looks like cheese, scrambled eggs where with something inside and made of artificial eggs and so on so.
We've ended up going out for breakfast.

Parking lot has only 8-9 places and it serves on the rule first come, first in. You'll have to ask for key at reception each time.

There's no fridge at the room. Beds are not very comfortable but are acceptable. Being couple with requested doublebed room and got twin room.

Having said all of above, hotel is in perfect location just 50 meters off the Carvoeiro beach which happens to be full of people with kids during high season.

Would I recommend this hotel to someone? Hard to say, haven't been at the other in Portugal, but food is awful there.

And when more note, one day I've went down to reception asking for an ice, the old man at reception has sent me to swimming pool bar even if I've said that there's no ice and it has to be taken from the bar just behind reception. Either way I've been forced to go to swimming pool, ask for ice. The girl at the bar (same one which sometimes was at the reception too) was disappointed and said that obviously she hasn't any ice there and will go with me to the other bar. Then they've had short argument between each other.

I do not expect really a lot, but a bit of service attitude would be nice to see at this hotel. Also the staff at the "restaurant" during breakfast wasn't neither polite nor rude, just there's no notion of service attitude.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Director of Sales at Hotel Carvoeiro Sol, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Hotel Carvoeiro Sol.

We appreciate your feedback, as it enables us to investigate each issue and ensure that similar situations do not arise. These are not the standards that we aim for, nor those that we normally achieve.

We hope you will return in the future, and we will, hopefully, have the opportunity to redeem our reputation.

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carvoeiro hotels

Marlow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have had short stays here a few times over the years before we moved on to our villa. We stayed B+B as there are so many places to eat near by. The rooms are basic but clean. Great location and the staff are great very helpful, making you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 50susan1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Hotel Carvoeiro Sol, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Good morning Susan,

Thank you for reviewing the Hotel Carvoeiro Sol here on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stays at the Hotel and we very much appreciate your comments

Kind Regards
Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

From the moment we entered the Hotel to the moment we left every single one off the staff took
pride in what they do an looked after us impeccably as Riccardo in the restuarant /bar told us if you require something just ask if it can be done it will be. Patricia, Joanne Patricia & David at the front desk. Riccardo and Rebecca in the restuarant/bar/snack bar. Sonia, Nadia and all the other cleaners where spot on. So as far as my husband & I were concerned we had no problems whatesoever the little things we did have where sorted right away. Yes it could do with some updating but your staying in a very clean friendly Hotel. Remember what I said ask if possible you will get it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Hotel Carvoeiro Sol, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at the Hotel Carvoeiro Sol. Your kind comments about the staff and service have been passed on to the team.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday, and hope it is not too long before you return here.

Kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoeburyness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed here with my daughter Inlaw and grandson the staff were fantastic they could not do enough for us. The room was basic but clean but the air conditioning was of much use as a chocolate teapot.

Room Tip: Sea view are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Hotel Carvoeiro Sol, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the sfaff "fantastic"-

We are very sorry to learn about the air conditioning unit, we have now resolved this problem.

We hope to have pleasure to welcome you back to the Hotel Carvoeiro Sol in the near future.

Kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We went B+B here, the breakfast was lovely. Everything is really clean, our room was cleaned everyday with towel change and the bedding was changed every two days.

The staff are lovely and friendly, especially the younger ones.

You are bang in the middle of everything but we didn't find it noisy at bed time at all, things quiten down about 11ish. There are still places open until 3am - 4am but they are a 10 min walk away and we didn't hear any noise in our room. On the main square they have some entertainment at nights, live music or a DJ. The kids, mums and dads all seemed to love this and it reminded me of being at a wedding when the parents all dance with their children and totally embarass themselves.There are lots of little shops, cafes, bars,restaurants and a few supermarkets, a bank just five minutes walk away, everything you need.

Visited the Round Up Saloon, a few times and had a great time as usual, staff are excellent. Also visted Sulleys bar and managed a few cocktails in there, this is a place for locals and tourists, very friendly, had a great time in here too. The cafe/bars we ate at were all reasonably priced for food but alcohol and soft drinks seemed quite expensive.

The beach is only two or through minutes walk away and it is fantastic, it was lovely just to have that sea breeze to cool you a tiny bit.

I love this place and had never wanted to be in the centre of things, I have always preferred a quite out of the way hotel and if we want to go out for a meal/drink we would just get a taxi. Can recommend this hotel and the area. Great for couples, friends and familys.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool, which was nice and quiet but no balcony which would have been gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaz195723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Hotel Carvoeiro Sol, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Hotel Carvoeiro Sol.

We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay - we very much apprecate your comments.

We hope you will return here again in the near future.

With kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a two night break at this lovely little hotel. Location wise it's secured the top spot in the resort.

We're a couple in our early 30s - and wouldn't necessarily recommend this hotel if you're a family with the little ones. The main square can get quite noisy at night - add to that the traffic noise and you'd have trouble getting the kids to sleep. However we loved being in amongst the hustle and bustle of the resort.

Seriously, you couldn't be closer to the action. Make sure you book a sea view room - totally worth the extra. The sunset and sunrise make even the shortest trip well worth it.

The pool at this hotel is cute as can be. Around 30 sunbeds around the pool - we only ever saw 6 in use at any one time. Perfect for chill out time.

Downsides: Don't let this out you off (and remember your spotlessly clean room is your place to sleep and shower - not to spend all day in!). So, you'll forgive the tiny bathroom and old fashioned telly - and see the positives of a larger than average bedroom area and free tea and coffee making kit.

Decor wise - think something out of an 80s holiday brochure - but dont let that put you off. It all looks and smells clean!

The staff we came into contact with were friendly. Reception's 24h if you need anything. And despite the downtown sometimes noisy location- you feel nice and safe.

This hotel isn't featured by any of the major British tour operators - which is actually a good thing. It looks to be a relatively underused hotel - but this is also a positive! Don't hesitate to book!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ste_Jay2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Hotel Carvoeiro Sol, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing our Hotel Carvoeiro Sol here on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted you enjoyed stay, we very much appreciate your comments and recommendation.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back here in the near future.

Kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carvoeiro hotels
0.6 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#5 of 19 in Carvoeiro
3,232 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Baia Cristal
Hotel Baia Cristal
#8 of 19 in Carvoeiro
471 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 19 in Carvoeiro
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
#6 of 19 in Carvoeiro
564 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carvoeiro Hotel
Carvoeiro Hotel
#18 of 19 in Carvoeiro
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carvoeiro Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carvoeiro Sol

Property: Hotel Carvoeiro Sol
Address: Praia do Carvoeiro, Carvoeiro 8401-951, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carvoeiro
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Carvoeiro
#9 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carvoeiro Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Carvoeiro Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carvoeiro Sol Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing