We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Carvoeiro Sol
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We went B+B here, the breakfast was lovely. Everything is really clean, our room was cleaned everyday with towel change and the bedding was changed every two days.

The staff are lovely and friendly, especially the younger ones.

You are bang in the middle of everything but we didn't find it noisy at bed time at all, things quiten down about 11ish. There are still places open until 3am - 4am but they are a 10 min walk away and we didn't hear any noise in our room. On the main square they have some entertainment at nights, live music or a DJ. The kids, mums and dads all seemed to love this and it reminded me of being at a wedding when the parents all dance with their children and totally embarass themselves.There are lots of little shops, cafes, bars,restaurants and a few supermarkets, a bank just five minutes walk away, everything you need.

Visited the Round Up Saloon, a few times and had a great time as usual, staff are excellent. Also visted Sulleys bar and managed a few cocktails in there, this is a place for locals and tourists, very friendly, had a great time in here too. The cafe/bars we ate at were all reasonably priced for food but alcohol and soft drinks seemed quite expensive.

The beach is only two or through minutes walk away and it is fantastic, it was lovely just to have that sea breeze to cool you a tiny bit.

I love this place and had never wanted to be in the centre of things, I have always preferred a quite out of the way hotel and if we want to go out for a meal/drink we would just get a taxi. Can recommend this hotel and the area. Great for couples, friends and familys.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool, which was nice and quiet but no balcony which would have been gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaz195723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Hotel Carvoeiro Sol, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Hotel Carvoeiro Sol.

We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay - we very much apprecate your comments.

We hope you will return here again in the near future.

With kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    120
    55
    27
    19
See reviews for
37
153
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a two night break at this lovely little hotel. Location wise it's secured the top spot in the resort.

We're a couple in our early 30s - and wouldn't necessarily recommend this hotel if you're a family with the little ones. The main square can get quite noisy at night - add to that the traffic noise and you'd have trouble getting the kids to sleep. However we loved being in amongst the hustle and bustle of the resort.

Seriously, you couldn't be closer to the action. Make sure you book a sea view room - totally worth the extra. The sunset and sunrise make even the shortest trip well worth it.

The pool at this hotel is cute as can be. Around 30 sunbeds around the pool - we only ever saw 6 in use at any one time. Perfect for chill out time.

Downsides: Don't let this out you off (and remember your spotlessly clean room is your place to sleep and shower - not to spend all day in!). So, you'll forgive the tiny bathroom and old fashioned telly - and see the positives of a larger than average bedroom area and free tea and coffee making kit.

Decor wise - think something out of an 80s holiday brochure - but dont let that put you off. It all looks and smells clean!

The staff we came into contact with were friendly. Reception's 24h if you need anything. And despite the downtown sometimes noisy location- you feel nice and safe.

This hotel isn't featured by any of the major British tour operators - which is actually a good thing. It looks to be a relatively underused hotel - but this is also a positive! Don't hesitate to book!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ste_Jay2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Hotel Carvoeiro Sol, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing our Hotel Carvoeiro Sol here on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted you enjoyed stay, we very much appreciate your comments and recommendation.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back here in the near future.

Kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed at the hotel earlier this month for a week having stayed here 4 years ago. The hotel is in a brilliant position on the main square overlooking the beach and the sea. We had a balcony at the front of the hotel which was ideal for the view and people watching.
The hotel was as i remember from our previous visit at the same time of year but on this occasion their seemed to be only a handfull of people staying there. We had the whole breakfast room to ourselves on 2 days and saw only 1 or 2 groups on others. Due to the lack of numbers the hotel bar closed around 10pm on an evening which meant we were unable to obtain our usual night cap. This was dispite notices on display saying that the bar closed at midnight.
Not withstanding this we still had an enjoyable holidays as there is no shortgae of watering houses in close vacinity. Our only complaint was with one of the older members of staff who took exception to us requesting extra cartons of milk for our room to use with the tea and coffee making facilities provided. We were originall only provided with 2 cartons each day to cover the 2 of us. This is not enough when you put 2 in one cup for a white coffee leaving your partner with no milk!

Room Tip: Its worth paying a bit extra to have a balcony on the hotel front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanandtracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Hotel Carvoeiro Sol, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your reveiw of the Hotel Carvoeiro Sol. We are delighted that you enjoyed your return visit.

We are sorry about the early closing of the bar, and the milk, we appreciate your feedback and will ensure that these situations do not re-occur in the future.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Hotel Carvoeiro Sol in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Having read other reviews I wasn't expecting this hotel to half as enjoyable as it was.

Nothing was too much for the staff. They were all extremely helpful, obliging and friendly.
The rooms are clean, efficient/ basic but absolutley perfect for us. We paid that bit extra for the sea view room. It was worth it. I'll do the same next time. Amazing view!

The hotel is so close to everything you need and want to do in Carvoeiro. The beach on the doorstep, restaurants are plentiful within 2 minutes walk. It's a perfect location from couples or families.

I stayed in Carvoeiro numerous times, and am finally delighted to have taken the plunge and stay at this 3* star hotel.. all the stars and luxuries in the world don't make up for the effort that goes into pushing buggies or prams up those hills to get back to your hotel.

I stayed in room 202 and had perfect WIFI connection for free.

Thank you Hotel Carvoeiro Sol, for being so patient with our 2 year old son who really thought he was running the place by the end of our stay!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view room..it's too good a view not to experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firstreview2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Hotel Carvoeiro Sol, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at the Hotel Carvoeiro Sol here. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much appreciate your comments.

We hope it is not too long before we have the opportunity to welcome you back here.

Kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have stayed at the Hotel Carvoeiro Sol most years, sometimes twice a year since I found this lovely hotel in 1999.
It is situated in the centre of the village of Carvoeiro within walking distance of shops, restaurants and entertainment. The beach is about 20 to 30 metres away which is wonderful.
The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly and nothing seems to much trouble.
I have stayed in both the sea view rooms and non sea view rooms, both are great, although I will always go for a sea view room when available as nothing beats sitting on your balcony looking towards the beach.
The rooms are clean, the bedding is clean and fresh, the ensuite has everything you need including a hairdryer and is spotlessly clean with complimentary toiletries. There is a tv, a telephone, a tea and coffee hospitality tray which is replemished daily, the room also has air conditioning which is also a heater if you visit off season.

The hotel has a swimming pool by the sun terrace which has sun loungers with parasols. There is also a pool bar serving drinks and snacks. There is also showering and toilets facilities close by.
Breakfast is always very enjoyable and there is so much to choose from their extensive breakfast buffet. You can enjoy your breakfast in the restaurant or in the courtyard.
There is a lounge area by reception and internet access for those who like to keep in touch with what's going on.
In the evening enjoy a happy hour drink before dinner in the bar or courtyard.

Carvoeiro and the Hotel Carvoeiro Sol have become a home from home. I always look forward to staying here.
I have happily recommended friends and family to stay here. I know hotels can't please everyone, well the Hotel Carvoeiro Sol certainly pleases me, that is why I keep returning. I'm also amazed when the hotel staff remember me, as they must see thousands of people.
Wonderful location lovely friendly hotel. Give it a try :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Hotel Carvoeiro Sol, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing the Hotel Carvoeiro Sol here on TripAdvisor in such detail.

It is always a pleasure to receive such complimentary feedback. We are delighted that you always enjoy your holidays here.

Thank you also for uploading such superb photos of the Hotel and the área.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back here very soon.

Kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have been going to Carvoeiro for twenty-three years and out of the last four, three were spent at the Carvoeiro Sol. I was made immediately welcome the first time I walked thru the door and the friendly staff were just that throughout my stay. I thoroughly recommend this hotel. It's position in the square, overlooking the beach, means you are central for all activities. And guess what - I'm back again this year!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyMure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Hotel Carvoeiro Sol, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing the Hotel Carvoeiro Sol here on TripAdvisor. We very much appreciate your kind words.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in June.

With kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We chose this hotel as it was convenient to travel around different places. We arrived late at night and hotel staff are very friendly and helpful - reception open 24/7. There is car parking behind the hotel only downfall you have to get key to unlock/lock chain for access. Breakfast pretty good and basic normal continental scrambled eggs, bacon, toast, etc. The swimming pool was not in use was just starting to get warm outside. There is a taxi rank in front of hotel, a pharmacy, post office, small shops and nice restaurant. We definitely recommend going to a small local restaurant just before getting to the hotel on the right side. You won't miss it had nearly every football scarf in the world and pictures/autographs of footballers. Enjoyed some local fish and nice meals there. If you are thinking of having a drink or two at the hotel there is happy hour at 8pm-9pm so drinks are cheaper. The beach was very clean and fell in love with the scenery especially the sunsets. The local people were very friendly. Hotel room was standard downfall it sort of squeezed, but all in all okay. Was easy getting back to from our visits to other places like Porto. Felt like home and planning on going back again soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quda_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Hotel Carvoeiro Sol, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you very much for writing about your holiday at the Hotel Carvoeiro Sol here on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for uploading the great photos.

We look foward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Carvoeiro Sol in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carvoeiro hotels
0.6 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#5 of 19 in Carvoeiro
3,301 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Baia Cristal
Hotel Baia Cristal
#8 of 19 in Carvoeiro
478 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 19 in Carvoeiro
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
#6 of 19 in Carvoeiro
581 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Carvoeiro Hotel
Carvoeiro Hotel
#18 of 19 in Carvoeiro
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carvoeiro Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carvoeiro Sol

Property: Hotel Carvoeiro Sol
Address: Praia do Carvoeiro, Carvoeiro 8401-951, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Carvoeiro
#9 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carvoeiro Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carvoeiro Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carvoeiro Sol Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing