We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely would recommend this hotel for young families”
Review of Monte Santo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monte Santo Resort
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bed apartment in early April. The apartment was great, plenty big enough. The resort must have been less than half occupied, it was fantastically peaceful. The kids park was very good, our 6 year old enjoyed it. The heated indoor pool was great, at most 4 other people in it at the same time as us. They did use the main outdoor pool on the hottest days too. Only minor point was no diving practice as the pools are about 1.2m at the deepest, but was no problem for us. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was a bit disappointing, we only tried it once for an evening meal. Definitely would recommend this hotel for young families.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarcusT101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay at Monte Santo Resort.
I was thrilled my team took care of your every need during your stay with us and delighted to read you also enjoyed our excellent apartments and resort facilities.

I look forward to welcoming back soon.

Kind Regards

Monica Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 332 of 771 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

Very nice welcome at check in, lovely townhouse, good facilities. Nice big pool, plus smaller pools with each group of townhouses, plus an indoor pool. BBQ buffet, nice selection of food, breakfast cooked, cereals, fruit or continental. I told them on arrival I was coeliac and by breakfast the next day they supplied me with bread, rolls, biscuits and cornflakes, the head of restaurant couldn't have been any more helpful. This place is 5 mins to Carveoiro, where there are restaurants and a lovely small beach. We have been to Zoomarine, 20 mins away and Splash and slide 10 mins away, supermarket within 5 mins. Great location to get out and explore and facilities good on site to. Booked through Design Holidays.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boni50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fabulous review on your stay at Monte Santo Resort.
We were thrilled to read that you enjoyed the comfort and elegance of our luxury apartaments
and our excellent restaurant service.

I have passed on your comments to our resort staff and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kindest regards,

Monica Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed in the Monte Santo June 2013 and have booked a return trip for June 2014. This is a fantastic hotel. Ideal for a family holiday. Great playground, kids pool with supplied toys, kids club for the over 4's. Parrot show and foam party (not the teenage type ;) while we stayed. The walk into town is beautiful. I have seen reviews about a steep decline (which is true) but there are two ways to walk into town. Turn right outside the front gate and right again, it brings you down by a picturesque coastal walk, recommend a cab home. Food option was not for us with two boys age 4 & 2 years old but the self catering apartments are fully kitted out with top of the range appliances. Some useful tips; bring dishwashing tables, washing powder and filters for the coffee percolator if you don't want the expense of buying full boxes. Shopping is a fair walk but cabs are reasonable. To close, I seriously would highly recommend a stay in the Monte Santo.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Damien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review and detiled information which are very helpfull for the readers of this platform.
Thank you for chosing to return to Monte Santo in June.

Our team of staff here at Monte Santo strives to excel in excellent guest service and top quality accommodation and facilities. It is our utmost important goal to achieve total satisfaction form our guests, therefore the time you have dedicated in leaving your review here on Tripadvisor is of extreme value to us and we truly appreciate it.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in June. Please rest assured that we will do our utmost to propose you, once again, with a very pleasant stay.

Kind regards,

Monica Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Found it via BA holidays and booked because of the good reviews and great price. Wow, super place, the accommodation was fantastic and the whole resort was very family and child friendly.
The rooms were amazing with the option to either have self catering or use the bar and restaurant.
The staff were great and very helpful, even when I left my sons hand luggage at the resort they arrange to have it shipped back (I did have to pay but they were brilliant in organizing it).
Will definitely stay there again, thank you for a great short break!

Room Tip: Any room is good, they are very well furnished and all have a/c etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stewart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your wonderful endorsement on TripAdvisor.
I can see that you were particularly impressed by our luxury apartments.

I also noticed your comments about the friendliness and professionalism of our team members who were delighted to receive such kind words of praise. They are truly dedicated.

We thank you for your preference and hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Kind regards

Monica Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Just stayed the one night. Nice place, good facilities and gym. The suites are nice but I wouldn't describe them as 5 star, more 3.5 - 4 star. The suites are starting to look slightly tired, furniture Sichuan as cupboards, wardrobes are like 1990s mdf rather than contemporary solid wood or steel etc. also outside public areas are unkempt and in need of weeding. Fairly pleasant, but don't be fooled into thinking its five star or luxury as it isn't. P

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TisGed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Monte Santo Resort.

I was very dissapointing to read about your bad experience and to know that we did not fulfill your expectations. I was surprised at your comments about our apartments since the Resort is only 5 years old and our accommodations are always considered luxurious units with a quality service.
However, we take all of your comments on board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location.

Please accept our sincere apologies for your dissatisfaction with your recent experience during your stay at Monte Santo.
I sincerely hope that this experience will not deter you from choosing Monte Santo for your stay on your next visit to Algarve

Kind Regards,

Monica Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

This must be one of the lowest five stars hotel classified.
Location was awful, and not easy to find with the GPS.
Rooms were ok, although we could hear the neighbors noice all night long.
The worst part was the service given from the receptionists.
They were so rude and unpolite, and we felt really uncomfotable asking for help and information.
We will never come back to this Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lenacharl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Monte Santo Resort. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at Monte Santo aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

We are glad that you experienced Monte Santo and that you took the time to leave your review. I am sorry to see that your experience was not as positive as the majority of the reviews, which shall be passed on to administration.

Please accept our sincere apologies for your dissatisfaction with your recent experience during your stay at Monte Santo.
We would be delighted to welcome you back again to allow us to really spoil you and
to proove that this was not the normal level of servcie we offer our guests.

Kindest regards,

Monica Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed here for a week in August in a three bed townhouse on a B&B basis.
Property itself very clean, modern and well appointed. Really very little little to make any negative kind of comment about. TV reception was poor, and there was little in the way of explanation of any of the features of the property on arrival, thats about it. The townhouses make an ideal base for a family to 'be themselves' away from the pressures and limitations of hotel room type environment, yet still have hotel type facilities on site.
The public areas of the complex were very well apponted and clean and tidy. However, the hotels breakfast was just 'reasonable' and their dinner offerings were patchy in choice and quality (ate there 3 times over the week). Some of the staffs English skills (and customer service skills for that matter) left a bit to be desired, yet others were brilliant. Onsite bar was reasonably priced not just for alcohol, but also coffees, childrens icecreams etc. You could eat quite cheaply there off a more limited lunch / daytime menu if all you wanted was snacks.
Limited entertainment was provided - I wouldn't book on this basis, but it amused our kids quite nicely on a couple of occasions, so was welcome.
Would return again for a simple quiet week away from it all.
Carvoeiro, like much of the Algarve is relatively bland and samey, but if you're just going for the weather and a change of scenery, it's fine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JudithChalmersWannaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
1.2 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
3,636 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#4 of 18 in Carvoeiro
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Monte Dourado Resort
Monte Dourado Resort
#7 of 18 in Carvoeiro
199 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Baia Cristal
Hotel Baia Cristal
#8 of 18 in Carvoeiro
525 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Santo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Santo Resort

Address: Rua Joao Paulo II | Lagoa, Carvoeiro 8400-556, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range: $107 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Monte Santo Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Santo Resort in Carvoeiro, offers a range of modern and luxurious Suites, apartments and townhouses. Just 45 minutes from Faro airport, Monte Santo is situated on the hilltops over Carvoeiro, a historic fishing town.Whether you are looking for a relaxing Algarve holiday, a fun-filled family holiday, or a spa or golf weekend, Monte Santo will cater to your every need with 5 star luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monte Santo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Santo Hotel Carvoeiro
Monte Santo Resort Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing